We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax in la jolla”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Walking distance from the ocean, newly remodelled reception, reasonably priced. We use it whenever we are in La Jolla.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uazzeghein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

We recently stayed two nights because we had a problem with our first hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful in helping sort out the problem and offered me a reasonable room rate. Our room was facing the street but we didn't hear much noise from there though the walls are a bit thin. The rooms are quite big but have that dated blue-green design, the bathoom and sink area are a bit old too. Everything was clean enough though. Wi-fi is advertised but did not work well, it didn't work down in the pool/breakfast area at all. Breakfast was great, complimentary but oh so civilised compared to our first hotel. Everything is really simple but the room just runs nicely. No pushing or shoving, no fights to grab food before it's gone because it's replenished very quickly. The staff there were very friendly and helpful to, pointing out a refill/replacement of something I asked about. The hotel is so conveniently close to shops, restaurants and the beach area. What more could you ask for. Parking is easy and free on the streets around the hotel otherwise pay the$12 for a guaranteed spot. Oh, yes, they were doing a lot of noisy, dusty work to the rear of the lobby area. It didn't bother us except when we had to walk past to go to breakfast.
We ate at George's (perfect view and service) and Roppongi next to the hotel. My kids have allergies and both places were so accommodating to our requests. The gelateria was also a favourite pitstop!
We would stay there again. It's an easy drive to San Diego or Legoland. Beware traffic at times though, going in and out of the village area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Chose the hotel based on value and location which included advertized claim of wireless internet in all rooms and on the property. This proved to be untrue. The wireless signal was nonexistant in our room using both Macs and PCs. A call to the service provider for help resulted in a remote diagnostic indicating the wireless router outside m room was powered down. A call by the provider to the hotel was ignored. The wireless was also unavailable in the breakfast room. So if good wireless is a priority - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnj_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My teenaged daughter and I spent one night here so we could tour UC San Diego the next morning. The location is ideal and the nearby (walking distance) restaurants were excellent. In the morning, we walked down to La Jolla Cove and enjoyed the sea birds, seals, and squirrels that populated the beach.

About the hotel: The lobby is undergoing renovations, so things are temporarily inconvenient. Other than that, the room was clean, everything was in working order, and the staff was pleasant. The breakfast included hard-boiled eggs, coffee, orange and apple juice, a toaster with bagels and breads, cream cheese, jam, yogurt, fruit, pastries and cereal w/milk.

For what we were trying to accomplish on a budget, it was the right place. We had dinner at the Crab Catcher, which is pricey but oh-so-good!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SangSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The check-in clerk was very fast, helpful and courteous. Though I booked online and got a good rate ($99/night) it was supposed to be on first floor. They instead put me on third floor in the back, where I had a slight ocean view off to the right. The room was quiet enough, the bed comfortable, the wi-fi actually worked. The continental breakfast (pastries, cereal, juice, yogurt, coffee, fruit) is plenty, and you can sit at poolside and read the paper. There is a $12 daily charge for parking, but since I was going to be gone all day, I could park free on the street overnight. It was an easy walk to the beach, The Living Room (coffee shop/restaurant, opens at 6 a.m.), stores. In short, this place, while not heavy on the charm or decor, met my needs for this trip perfectly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudeboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We had been travelling around the States and the place we were going to stay at in Oceanside was not very good so we moved onto La Jolla to find somewhere just for one night. The service here was very good the room was large and clean and for the money was very good value as well as being ideally placed to walk out for dinner. I hadnt stayed at a Best Western before but would definitely stay for a short time again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We had stayed at the BW INN By the Sea a few years ago. At the time, I had been impressed by the size of the room and the cleanliness. It was great for us as we were traveling with our 2 children and the beds were big and comfortable. This time I went back with just my husband and the place seemed kind of run down. They were doing some maintenance work while we were there, so it was noisy and we had to step over wires to get to our room. Granted we were there off season, and they have to do that kind of work some time. I also was disturbed by reading a warning notice that asbestos has been used in the construction of the hotel and that it is known to cause cancer. I guess if people are warned they have a right to operate the facility. In any case, reading that made me not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,127 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £118 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing