We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, nice location, few amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice hotel, nice location, few amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

I think I could smell new carpet in the halls of the hotel. The lobby, halls, rooms, everything had an almost brand new appearance. After that, it gets a bit confusing. The lady who checked us in was almost curt and not terribly friendly. Other folks at the front desk were fine. We stayed over the xmas holidays and got a fairly cheap rate, along with an upgrade to a partial ocean view room on the 5th floor. We had 2 rooms since I am travelling with teens. The rooms would be very small for 4 people (as would most hotel rooms).

The fifth floor is called the 'penthouse'. Great, but I would expect a little more from a room in the 'penthouse'. Like glasses instead of cheap (2) 4 ounce plastic cups in each room. Or perhaps a refrigerator. Or microwave. Or TV bigger than 19". The buffet breakfast is ok, but nothing special, and the breakfast room is small and can get crowded. The free internet does not function at all on the 5th floor. Parking is another $12/ night (you won't find free or easy parking anywhere in La Jolla). The outdoor pool is ALWAYS in the shade - it was supposedly heated but we never tried it. They had (1) computer and printer in the lobby for free guest use.

I like this place and would stay again. We had previously stayed here a couple of times about 12 years ago back when I worked for the Best Western chain (I no longer do). Ignore the other reviews claiming the place is a urine smelling dump.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeywoodJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    301
    150
    38
    34
See reviews for
278
250
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

We are currently staying at the Inn by the Sea and honestly I was terrified to book here after the last two reviews. I decided to give it a try due to it's location near our family that live in La Jolla. We booked a ground floor room with a AAA discount which made the room very affordable. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a 5tth floor balcony room facing the ocean. Our room is clean, spacious and we watched the sun set over the ocean today. The front desk staff were professional and very helpful. We were so pleased we booked a second room for some family members. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for two reasons. The location is excellent and the price cannot be beat. We are very happy with our stay and hope to extend the stay if all goes well with our visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Walking distance from the ocean, newly remodelled reception, reasonably priced. We use it whenever we are in La Jolla.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uazzeghein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We recently stayed two nights because we had a problem with our first hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful in helping sort out the problem and offered me a reasonable room rate. Our room was facing the street but we didn't hear much noise from there though the walls are a bit thin. The rooms are quite big but have that dated blue-green design, the bathoom and sink area are a bit old too. Everything was clean enough though. Wi-fi is advertised but did not work well, it didn't work down in the pool/breakfast area at all. Breakfast was great, complimentary but oh so civilised compared to our first hotel. Everything is really simple but the room just runs nicely. No pushing or shoving, no fights to grab food before it's gone because it's replenished very quickly. The staff there were very friendly and helpful to, pointing out a refill/replacement of something I asked about. The hotel is so conveniently close to shops, restaurants and the beach area. What more could you ask for. Parking is easy and free on the streets around the hotel otherwise pay the$12 for a guaranteed spot. Oh, yes, they were doing a lot of noisy, dusty work to the rear of the lobby area. It didn't bother us except when we had to walk past to go to breakfast.
We ate at George's (perfect view and service) and Roppongi next to the hotel. My kids have allergies and both places were so accommodating to our requests. The gelateria was also a favourite pitstop!
We would stay there again. It's an easy drive to San Diego or Legoland. Beware traffic at times though, going in and out of the village area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Chose the hotel based on value and location which included advertized claim of wireless internet in all rooms and on the property. This proved to be untrue. The wireless signal was nonexistant in our room using both Macs and PCs. A call to the service provider for help resulted in a remote diagnostic indicating the wireless router outside m room was powered down. A call by the provider to the hotel was ignored. The wireless was also unavailable in the breakfast room. So if good wireless is a priority - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnj_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

My teenaged daughter and I spent one night here so we could tour UC San Diego the next morning. The location is ideal and the nearby (walking distance) restaurants were excellent. In the morning, we walked down to La Jolla Cove and enjoyed the sea birds, seals, and squirrels that populated the beach.

About the hotel: The lobby is undergoing renovations, so things are temporarily inconvenient. Other than that, the room was clean, everything was in working order, and the staff was pleasant. The breakfast included hard-boiled eggs, coffee, orange and apple juice, a toaster with bagels and breads, cream cheese, jam, yogurt, fruit, pastries and cereal w/milk.

For what we were trying to accomplish on a budget, it was the right place. We had dinner at the Crab Catcher, which is pricey but oh-so-good!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SangSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

The check-in clerk was very fast, helpful and courteous. Though I booked online and got a good rate ($99/night) it was supposed to be on first floor. They instead put me on third floor in the back, where I had a slight ocean view off to the right. The room was quiet enough, the bed comfortable, the wi-fi actually worked. The continental breakfast (pastries, cereal, juice, yogurt, coffee, fruit) is plenty, and you can sit at poolside and read the paper. There is a $12 daily charge for parking, but since I was going to be gone all day, I could park free on the street overnight. It was an easy walk to the beach, The Living Room (coffee shop/restaurant, opens at 6 a.m.), stores. In short, this place, while not heavy on the charm or decor, met my needs for this trip perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudeboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing