We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, nice touches, a short walk to great restaurants and waterfront” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Carleton Place
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent value, nice touches, a short walk to great restaurants and waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We drove up and down La Jolla to find our top picks full and so picked this hotel without much expectation...well we were extremely pleasantly surprised...friendly helpful front desk...they knew the town well and gave great dining suggestions...nice touches like fresh apples daily and iced coffees..internet free but variable signal..bed great and comfy...pool area very nice and a great place to eat the breakfast...good selection for a Best Western..lots of fruit...parking easy and reasonable....we would go back in a heartbeat...priced right...very clean and tidy, was only planning on staying 2 nights but stayed 3 as was so central to everything...we could have stayed longer..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    300
    149
    38
    34
See reviews for
278
250
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at this property; the first stay was for one night in May 2010, which I did not feel was enough time to properly review the hotel. I did have some problems with that stay, however, which is prompting me to write this review as I experienced problems on this visit as well. I travel frequently, especially to southern California, so I decided to try staying there again because of its location (near Torrey Pines and the beaches). I also am a B.W. Rewards member, so gaining points in the stay was a determining factor.
This hotel is an odd mix of old and new, though I was told that only part of the renovations (the lobby) have been done. It is a little hard to get to as it is tucked away in the Village of La Jolla, which itself is several minutes (depending on traffic) from the "5" freeway. The less expensive rooms (at the front) face the street (Fay Avenue), while the "ocean view" rooms are in back, which, oddly, face a sometimes busy alleyway (Bishop's Lane) used by garbage trucks, local traffic, as well as the sound of hotel guests coming and going as this is the primary location of parking spaces for the hotel (which they charge $12 a day for). Unless your (ocean side) room is on the 4th or 5th floor, you cannot see the water because surrounding buildings block the views. Even if you are on an upper floor, you must contend with looking at utility lines that are strung along the poles, right in your line of sight. The balconies are a nice touch, but they tend to collect dirt and ocean mist which require a towel to be present when sitting on the plastic webbed chairs.
The lobby of the hotel is modern and pleasant. However, the rooms, furnishings and hallways are very dated...they look like they are straight out of the set of the Golden Girls. Even the wicker basket of soaps and tolietries look and smell like they are from the 70s or 80s. You can hear the gurgling of water running through the pipes as well as when guests in adjacent rooms flush the toliet or use the shower. During my stay, the weather was unusually cold, overcast, rainy and damp but there was no heat available as the hotel's system was still on summer mode (cool only). A small fan/heater was brought to my room upon my request which helped warm the room and, luckily, drown out the noise. The wireless internet is only barely adequate (I had to change rooms because the first room I was put in had no signal at all) for checking e-mail. It is slow and the signal dropped frequently. Fortunately I did not have a lot of work to do on this trip, so I managed and used my iPhone to access the internet when necessary. The housekeeping staff is very friendly, but the front desk staff is somewhat ambivalent.
Even though the room rates are reasonable for the area, I would not recommend this property until it is upgraded and the staff is made to be more outgoing and less passive. To be fair, this could be the attitude of the people working there since this is La Jolla, after all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejcf333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Finding reasonable prices in La Jolla was a challenge since I expect quality and comfort and cleanliness to go along with a reasonable price. I would have to say cleanliness is the most important factor and the restroom shower/bath grout could have been cleaner but I am very fussy about this (this is why I gave it 4 out 5 stars for cleanliness) and it was cleaner than many 2 star hotels. Other than the tile/grout it was a very clean room and the grounds were nicely kept. There is no spa which we missed but the pool was clean and fun to swim in. The little amenities of food and drink extras were appreciated and unexpected (fruit in a basket, iced coffee, etc.) and made available on a serving area throughout the day. Continental breakfast was great (lots of variety, hot and fresh). Service was good. Downside to a lot of lodging is you have to pay parking fee ($12.00 for overnight parking).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekate1010
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed here one night after a wedding. The location was fantastic, close to everything in downtown La Jolla. The rooms were just OK, nothing special and the bathroom was rather small. I left my earrings there and realized it soon after I left - I called and they said they couldn't find them, even though I told them exactly where they had been left (in the shower).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekate1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

I just got back from the Best Western and had a great time! The beds are very comfortable and I always felt refreshed in the morning. The breakfast offered was satisfying and included more than the typical continental. The beach and village are within walking distance which was very convenient. The only thing is that the website states they offer a shuttle but that's not the case. If you're a fan of Japanese food check out Sushi on the Rocks (on Prospect Avenue) for their fresh and delicious sushi as well as their excellent service. I was pretty disappointed with Roppongi Japanese Restaurant, which is right by the hotel. The decor is beautiful but the staff was very rude and the menu is overpriced. I would defintely return to the Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explore195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Went to La Jolla for quick get away and visit family. A bit of history first, we looked at this hotel in 2006 for an event and decided not on this hotel because of old look, cleanliness was not up to par, and had a musty smell; I would not have picked this hotel but was the only one available in my price range in La Jolla. Upon arriving, hotel was clean and had a new look...a big improvement from 2006. Clerk at check-in probably needed to brush up on customer service; inside had a fresh, updated, and clean look. Room was had plenty of room and a patio. Bad part was parking, you paid for parking but you had to search; over heard a couple wanting their money back for parking because they had park down the street and not in the hotel parking. Hotel was close to all the hot spots, restaurants, stores, and walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

The Hotel is nicely located, a short walk to the beach and shops yet out of the way of all of the foot traffic. The Hotel features are a little dated but functional, our only real concern was parking. We were charged $12/day to self park! The options are very limited to say the least, they have a very small underground parking area which we found was occupied by the Hotel workers cars, the alley/parking lot was always full and we found ourselves driving in circles several times looking for a spot. We even parked on a side street due to no open spaces

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doug5702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing