We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok, not worth the great reviews”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“It was ok, not worth the great reviews”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Upon reserving a room we had requested to have a two queen room with a roll out cot as we had five people in the room. This was added by the attendant at the time of the reservation. Upon check in we were informed that the cot was in the room, but in point of fact it was not. We were then told by the front staff that they were unable to locate one. We checked a short time later and were told that they had tried for blow up mattresses and cots at nearby hotels and were unable to find one. It seemed to us that they did not really care about accommodating us. Finally we told them that we absolutely needed something as we could not have three people in the same bed ( males and females). We were also told that we should not have been booked into that room since it was smaller and for fire codes it should not have a cot in it...!

Finally a person came to the room and said that they found a mattress in the far corner of the basement that we could use. They set it up, my children looked for rats could not find any so she used it.

For the problem the comped the parking which was nice.

Beds were saggy and bathroom had a weird sliding door set up.

I do not usually write any reviews but for the price you pay for this hotel the service was not there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wondermouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    265
    51
    13
    14
See reviews for
206
343
47
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamosa, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

It was quiet, the room was clean and the view from on the roof was amazing. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was in a nice area where you could eat inside or out on a patio. We would definitly go stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsme81101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great room on the 5th floor with nice views, friendly service and very nice continental breakfast. Hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKHargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I just completed a 9 day stay at the Empress Hotel. I love coming back here. It feels like home. I grew up here, so, I am frequeny in town to visit my family. The staff is always welcoming and accommodating. I needed to change my room after the first night and Alan was able to make it happen. I have recommended this hotel to several of my friends. Great job, everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surferleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have been staying here for the last three months every other week. Great location, really great staff!!!! However, last week without warning they switched cable providers. In todays world having CNN as your only choice for news seems a bit silly. Granted I am a out here on business and others come to La Jolla for pleasure, but not having CNBC, Fox or MSNBC. As much as I like the staff will be seeking a new place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpressGM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We would like to address your concerns over the new stations. You will take comfort in knowing that we provide numerous options for news stations including Fox News, CNBC, and MSNBC. We apologize for any confusion you may have had regarding our channel listings. The Empress Staff hopes to welcome you back on your next visit to La Jolla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The Empress is the perfect combination of casual and convenient. Comfortable yet classy. Staff (Nick and Alan) were always friendly and helpful. Rooms, lobby, and Continental breakfasts are well maintained. And La Jolla Cove (swimming and sight-seeing) and plenty of restaurants and shops are within a short and entertaining walk. We were attending our son's five days of wedding preparation and celebration, so lot's of family and friends were also visiting. The Empress staff helped made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaklichdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2011

It truly surpassed my expectations. The location was great for us; 20mins from sea world, 35mins from gaslamp, and about the same to Carlsbad for legoland and outlet shopping.

The area itself was great for an evening stroll and dinner.

The breakfast at the hotel was decent enough being that it was free.
The rooms were spacious for 4 and very comfortable.
The best part was the staff; very accommodating and helpful. Ben was particularly great.

If i have to nitpick, 2 things could be improved:
1) wifi service was very poor. but it was free unlike most hotels which insist on charging.
2) couple of kids tv channels would have been nice. i couldnt find cartoon network, disney, or nick to keep kids occupied long enough for me to use the ipad :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,047 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4309 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel, a Greystone Hotel, is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing