We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Many thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great service thanks to Ben and David! The food was excellent and there was a
good wine list!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarissaScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    261
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
193
327
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawling,NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Wonderful staff and an easy walk to the water. It could use some updating. 2 critisizms, 1) breakfast on the weekends could run later than 10:00. 2) two of the slowest elevators I've ever experienced. The Manhattan Restaurant located in the lobby is not part of the hotel. Great food, very pricey. Overall a decent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toplesstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We spent a 4 day weekend in La Jolla at the Empress Hotel. The location was fantastic. Since we were in town for a wedding, we were in and out of the valet a few times each day. The $15/day fee was completely worth the convenience. The hotel's location in the Village of La Jolla is great. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants, and about 15 minutes to the 5. The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions/directions.
The overall hotel was clean, but a bit worn. I would classify this hotel as more of a pension type hotel. The breakfast was adequate, and we did eat at the hotel 2 mornings. However, for an exceptional breakfast/brunch experience, try Cottage, less than a block from the hotel. The wait is long on weekends, but the food did not disappoint. Try the french toast, best we've ever had. We had dinner one night at WhisknLaddle, a short walk from the hotel. Also a completely fantastic meal. I am more of a foodie - while my husband is more of a meat and potatoes guy - we were both satisfied. The flat bread was a big hit with both of us.
The bed was comfortable, and had a duvet & cover, which always comforts me because I know it's been washed!
The bathroom had a shower only, nothing to write home about - again, completely adequate.
If your expectations are set correctly, this hotel is a good value for the area. Just don't plan to be pampered, it is not a posh establishment. More of a "serve yourself" kind of place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 500 which has a view of the sea on clear days. It was directly across from the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels1698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We Stayed one night based on the reviews on this site. Hotel was what we expected for the price in la Jolla. Staff was friendly and the free breakfast had fresh waffles.
Room was small as was bathroom but adequate for our needs. We spent time outside. Great relaxing dinner at Bar Fly right down the street.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screminjoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Empress is ideally and conveniently located in the Village of La Jolla. We had a blast and the staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpful. Due to the hurricane back East we had to stay and the Empress quickly accomodated us. LOVED IT! The breakfast is great too and hours are great. We will definitely be back and i would go right now if I could! The staff: Nick ,Allan,,Ben Trisha, David and Jason and anyone else I am forgetting!! Maid service incredible too!! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Empress Hotel Aug 20 -26. We paid a little extra for the Express Room, w/ fridge, micro & couch/hide-a-bed. Regular rooms looked nice. The hotel was within walking distance of everything! A great value, all employees were very nice, helpful, especially Jason, Ben & Nick. We would return & recommend it to friends. DJ

Room Tip: Empress Room worth the extra for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 182dja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights in room 412 at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet as it overlooks the terrace and not Fay Ave. which is quite busy.
We bit the bullet to pay the $15 for valet parking, and all in all it is the better option to searching for street parking and moving every three hours in the daytime.
Ben,Alan, and Nick the valet parker are great sources for local information

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor and overlooking the terrace are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing