We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No customer service?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No customer service?”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I had written a glowing review for this hotel over 2 years ago while working with some amazing staff at the hotel. I reached out to a general customer service email address last Monday (since my contact is no longer with the hotel), not even a response despite a 2nd attempt on my end. Where is the customer service??

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takenbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    276
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
216
353
49
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godfrey, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We chose this hotel from Trip Advisor and were delighted with it. The rooms were large, immaculate and comfortable. Easy walking distance to the lovely town of La Jolla. Breakfast helped us start our leisurely days. Will stay again for sure. The staff, front desk Ben and Jason, were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaddabout189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downtown PHX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This hotel is close to everything, clean and not worn out... continental breakfast that had waffles nice:)), room that had plush bedding and tastefully decorated...Whats not to like ? Desk staff was super friendly ..... So for my finicky wife this was a must stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandsPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was a very nice hotel in a great location with very friendly staff, a great restaurant you could order room service, and clean rooms.

The rooms are nothing special, so don't expect 5 star quality, but they are clean, and reminiscent of a Marriott room, just perfect for the price!

Complimentary Breakfast is nice, they have waffles, eggs, cereal, bagels, and pastries with coffee and juices. You can sit inside, or outside on the veranda which was nice!

Overall we'd recommend this place, and would stay again soon!

The food at "Manhattan" was very good, we ordered room service, and the food came to our room about 20 minutes later!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterBean21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed in the Empress for four days in October. The location was great, just a few blocks from the beach. The room was clean and had a great view. The rate was reasonable. We would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We make an annual pilgrimage to La Jolla every August to attend the La Jolla Music Society SummerFest chamber music concerts. The Empress Hotel has been our hangout for over fifteen years. So they must be doing something right! The location is great for access to the shops and restaurants in the village and the concert auditorium. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful in every way. The mid-afternoon cookies are baked fresh daily. However the continental breakfast offerings are invariant and tend to get boring after a week. Fortunately, there are enough choices that one can create some individual variety.

Several individuals were especially helpful this last year: Alan, Ben, David, Jesus, Trisha, and Sarah in particular.

Ted McKinney
5156 Colina Way
Riverside CA 92507
[--]

Room Tip: Two rooms available with wheel chair access bathrooms and roll in showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here for one night in March, the first day of our 9 day vacation in San Diego. It was dark when we got there so we didn't realize how close it was to everything. Our rate included internet and valet parking, breakfast, and a $50 gift certificate for the restaurant.

We checked in at around 6:30pm. There was a very elderly fellow at check in. He was courteous, not overly friendly, kind of comical, actually, he moved very slowly. There was no one to help us with our luggage. We were able to get someone to park the car in valet, but he had to be called - either it's a family run operation or they don't have much staff in the slow season. There were apples at the front desk.

The room was very nice, well appointed, updated bathroom, felt very boutique style. There was a fridge in the closet. It was cozy, comfy, and clean. We had two queen beds in our room. There is a large window, but no balcony, our view was overlooking a parking area on the street. There is a desk and a small table. The beds were comfortable and the linens felt nice. The towels were a little on the rough side. The rooms are very quiet, I didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms (it wasn't busy so not sure if the rooms were occupied or not).

We went downstairs to Manhattan for dinner (using our gift card). It was candlelight dining with the kids. It wasn't very busy, we were seated at a booth in an empty section of the restaurant, near a huge 360 degree fish tank. It's one of those restaurants where they leave you alone a lot, expecting you to enjoy your dinner and go through all courses of dishes. The overall experience was enjoyable, but at the beginning I was getting tired of waiting and kept trying to find the waiter, I was tired after a long day of travelling, and wasn't really up to entertaining the kids for that long. We ordered some appetizers and one entree for the kids to share (fettucini alfredo). Most of the food was delicious, the kids really loved the fettucini and we had to order another serving for them. We shared dessert - it was really good. The $50 gift certificate didn't go very far. The kids spent most of the time watching the fish in the big tank - particularly a funny eel looking fish that kept swimming in and out of a little cave, backing in like he was parking. It was an enjoyable family time. There isn't much around to do or see in the evening within walking distance of the hotel.

In the morning we went to the breakfast room for breakfast - it was mostly continental style, and it was good and sufficient for our needs. There is patio seating and indoor seating. It was cool and overcast and a little foggy but we decided to eat outdoor on the patio. It was nice.

We checked out and got the car back from valet easily, spent the day touring the beach area in La Jolla, then headed to Oceanside, where we were spending the week.

Overall I really enjoyed our stay. La Jolla is a beautiful location in San Diego, and I would definitely want to spend more time there. I would also consider returning to this hotel. It was a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California comfort at our charming boutique hotel in the scenic village of La Jolla, California. Situated just steps from the San Diego Area's famous sandy beaches and downtown La Jolla, while also being only minutes from popular attractions like SeaWorld and Torrey Pines golf course, our hotel is the perfect location to embark on an unforgettable vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing