We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful small hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stay here each Christmas for my office party. This is a small boutique hotel with some partial ocean views on the top floor. The staff is friendly and efficient. Jason did a great job of getting my car in and out of the valet and the front desk staff was also easy to deal with. While not a problem the parking for this hotel is limited. I suggest always letting them valet for you. The rooms are nice and had everything I needed,,, comfy bed, flat screen tv that was fairly large, top floor rooms on the left side of the hall have a nice view. Close to the shops and the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    265
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
203
340
47
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed a week and had a very nice stay. We had our dog and they had an excellent ground floor room for us. The service was friendly and always helpful, the free valet parking great and kudos to Ben at the desk. The location in La Jolla could not be better. The breakfast room and patio was ok but the breakfast was quite pathetic for this hotel. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcwhiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Decent hotel with everything one needs, yet missing some of the extras found in the big chains. The staff was well above average. Everyone was very pleasant, always with a smile, and always willing to spend time answering questions and to assist guest. One young man, Jason, was especially polite and helpful with the valet parking. All-in-all, a very nice experience and we would stay at the Empress again.

Room Tip: Open room windows on the south side allow first floor kitchen odors to enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stever127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno NV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A gem in the middle of town. Quiet and convenient. A real bargain!

Room Tip: Great restaurant and friendly bartender. Nice spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The best thing about the Empress is the location. It is a short walk to restaurants and shops and the beach where seals swim among the people. The room was nice and beds comfortable. I loved the large shower. The noise was the only complaint. We heard everyone walking (or running) down the hall and voices carried. Staff was great and room was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnlvr1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sourthen California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were happy to find a convenient, clean and friendly place to hang our hats while staying in La Jolla. The hotel is conveniently located near all the shops and restaurants (walking distance), and the staff was most friendly and helpful during our stay. We appreciated our welcome cookies. The parking for the hotel is not free, so we took a space in the neighborhood for our overnight stay. The rooms are pretty standard for a US hotel in a small town, i.e. not luxurious, but comfy and clean. The flat screen TV was a plus, though. We did not sample the breakfast, as there are a few cool places to eat near the water. And La Jolla is sort of a ghost town at night, so the sleeping was peaceful. The supermarket is right down the street for midnight snacks and our room had a fridge to keep our stuff cool. Nice going, Empress. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbertvonCarryOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

No self parking. I really dislike people driving my car. I would much rather pay the self parking fee even at the same cost as valet. I didn't get any help with my bags either. The towels and robes are old and rough. The room service was horrible, I ordered Veal, lobster bisque, and oysters Rockefeller and not only was it bad but the spoon was forgotten. The gym is small and there's no tv in it. Positives was that the staff was really nice and it's in a great location. Also there's a fridge, safe and a microwave. Would not stay here again for this price though. I'm shocked on the great reviews this hotel gets.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie4lifeiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
879 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4309 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing