We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel and a Superb Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at The Empress Hotel in La Jolla, CA on two occasions. Both times, the experience has been superb. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels, crisp clean sheets and chocolates at turn down. The welcoming staff is always friendly, helpful and polite. The Mahattan Restaurant serves some of the finest Italian dishes anywhere. Coming from New York, that is a lot!!! Parking is convenient or for a nomial fee you can use their valet service. Laundry facilities are on site and convenient as well. What I liked the most however, is the friendly and helpful staff. They always greet you coming or going. The Empress Hotel gives you an at home feel while you are away from home.

Larry.jones

Room Tip: The staff is always willing to work with you to find a room, but it is best to book early. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Got the manager's special ($167, $188 after tax/fees) at the last minute on the hotel's website.

Pros: Friendly doorman, very polite and accommodating front desk, very clean, good toiletries, comfy King-sized bed, comfortable room temp (which is adjustable and the A/C is much quieter than other hotels), fridge, very roomy. Great location within walking distance to the cove, shops, food. Some rooms have ocean views (which ours was a little obstructed by the across the street, but still nice nonetheless), and loved the shower. Better than a tub/shower combo.

They were even able to accommodate my early check-in request at 2:00pm, which is usually dependent on readiness of the room. Deluxe continental breakfast is ok. Not what you'd expect for the "Deluxe" descriptor, but typical with yogurt, store bought muffins, assorted juice boxes, etc. Good enough to get the day started if you aren't a big breakfast person. Considering this hotel is a little cheaper than others in the area, you can always go have breakfast at The Cottage or do a Yelp search. The Cottage was highly recommended but we didn't get to try it. Also, there's lots of outdoor activities in the area: kayaking by cliff caves, hiking in Torrey Pines (which I believe has trails that lead to the beach), golfing on the famous/well known Torrey Pines Golf Course etc. Also a restaurant downstairs that I had read good things about had a pretty lively crowd and band on Saturday night. Not sure if that is typical or if there was something special going on. Also, for such a lively area, it's was pretty quiet for a Saturday night by the time I got ready to go to bed (around 10:00 pm). Our room was even by the elevator, and it didn't bother me at all.

Cons: Slow sink drain (probably would have reported it if I had stayed more than one night), mildly low water pressure in the shower, valet parking is very necessary unless you don't mind driving around looking for parking spots as this area is very popular. Generally if you find a parking spot it's 1 or 2 hr. parking only on the street Mon-Sat during the day. We got lucky and got a spot in front of the hotel at Saturday check-in which we only needed for an hour to get dressed for a wedding. Then, got lucky again when we returned around 9:15pm or so as there was another spot right out front. Otherwise, valet parking or finding a nearby paid lot is reasonable (usually around $5/day or so) esp. if you are from a place where parking can be $20+/day like San Francisco. Honestly, you are likely to encounter this type of parking situation at most hotels in La Jolla.

All-in-all I would definitely stay here again for the price, location, and willingness of the front desk to be so accommodating. Thanks for such a great stay at a reasonable price.

Note to those who have read others' reviews:
The shower in our room was very clean, but I did notice the "mold" that others reviewers have mentioned. It's actually small traces under the clear caulking seal by the rim of the shower door and soap dish in the shower. The mold isn't actually exposed. I'm guessing they didn't clean it well before they sealed the edges of the shower door and soap dish. It didn't bother me as I felt it to be pretty clean.

Room Tip: Ocean views available, odd# room directly across from the elevator was a good size with a reasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_riddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Location is great - short walk to Prospect St shops, restaurants and beach. Accomodations were great (nice linens, good towels and toiletries, comfy robes, clean, big room) and the staff and restaurant folks were all very friendly. Parking wasn't as big an issue as I thought as 2-hour parking on side street was always available and thus from 4 pm to 10 am I didn't have to worry about moving the car. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBeckyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Great hotel superbly located in La Jolla. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Beautiful room. Breakfast on patio in California sunshine. Excellent facilities including free use of PC with internet. It is one of the Pacifica Hotels group and we had stayed in another of their hotels in Pismo Beach. Based on both experiences we would gladly stay in any of their other hotels. Wonderful Hawai Sushi restaurant just across the road. Parking tip - La Jolla has restricted on street parking between 8.00 a.m. and 6.00 p.m. and is limited to one hour on Fay Avenue where the hotel is located. However, there is a two hour limit just around the corner. So we parked there overnight and then went out for the day before 10.00 a.m. which is what we planned to do anyway.

Room Tip: Cannot think of reason why any room should not be a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here in January 2012 for two nights. The hotel is in a nice, quiet, charming location (although all of La Jolla is charming). The hotel room is beautiful and large, the hotel makes the effort to add special touches, such as the towel swans in the bathroom. There is a breakfast table, a living room, and open concept bedroom. The lighting is amazing ( I don't typically notice lighting in a hotel room, but there are dimmer pot lights in this room, which is a lovely romantic touch). There is crown moldings in the ceiling - really nice attention to luxury and elegant detail. Anyway, nothing much special to say about the service at the hotel, but nothing bad to say. There seemed to be a dated lounge bar in the hotel lobby, which we didn't check out. Not sure if they offered breakfast (if they did we didn't realize - we went for breakfast to a restaurant instead). But the check-out desk has fresh apples and I grabbed a couple for the road. The bed was very comfortable. We didn't notice if there was a pool or gym. We didn't check it this trip. All in all, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We are enjoying our stay here. It is very quiet, not sure if we are the only one here? Will find out shortly at the breakfast. The only issue is that our room stinks bad. It is like we are directly over the exhaust fan for the kitchen. Going to ask for a new room tonight. The front desk staff are very nice even trying to run front desk and valet park the cars. Yes, same person does both. Just put out a sign that they will be right back. I would gladly stay here again, just not room 207.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bosco1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is not your generic Embassy Suites or Hilton Garden; it's a pleasantly decorated, older property with character and I am in favor of more of these kinds of establishments surviving. We stayed here two nights at the end of a California vacation and were extremely grateful when we were allowed to check in VERY early - i think it wasn't even noon yet. We used the valet parking, which was quite pricey, but parking is kind of tense in La Jolla. Whenever we needed the car it was brought very quickly. The clerks did advise us where our son could park his car for free on the weekend. We walked to everything from the hotel - the beaches, the many stores, the restaurants, even CVS for an emergency prescription (and the people in that CVS pharmacy are the nicest people on Earth). The free breakfast is a small buffet, not a full hot meal, but you can eat outside on the charming sun deck and enjoy the California weather. No pool, but we didn't care as we walked to the beach and enjoyed a concert in the adjacent park. Loved the bathroom in the room; it was not old fashioned at all but very clean and updated and smart. The one downside, I guess, is the slow and small elevator, but again this is an older property. I'd certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £146 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California comfort at our charming boutique hotel in the scenic village of La Jolla, California. Situated just steps from the San Diego Area's famous sandy beaches and downtown La Jolla, while also being only minutes from popular attractions like SeaWorld and Torrey Pines golf course, our hotel is the perfect location to embark on an unforgettable vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing