We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Overbooked & got bumped from the Empress. Relocated to a much lesser hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our stay at the Empress started ok. Decent room, decent price. Great La Jolla location.
We added another night and received an email - the day of -(no phone call) that the hotel was oversold and we were diverted to a much lesser Best Western. Incredible.
Cannot recommend this hotel. Irresponsible management let alone no service recovery efforts made.
Signed,
Feeling Special

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize that we had to arrange accommodations for you at another hotel. A guest that was scheduled to check out stayed over without contacting the front desk, and caused the over sold condition to occur. We understand your frustration and although we were able to provide a complimentary room for you at the nearest possible location prior to your arrival, we are truly sorry and do hope that when your travels bring you back to La Jolla that you give us another try.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in two different rooms during out stay. The first two nights we stayed in a regular room and we splurged for a suite the last night. I booked through a third party (AAA) and was a little disappointed in the view in the regular room. You could barely see the water. The view was mostly of the building next door. Once I got over that, the room was very nice. The suite however, was FANTASTIC. Jacuzzi tub and a great view. If we had stayed in that room first, we would have never left. The hotel is close enough to all the restaurants, etc. We stayed there for July 4th and were able to see 2 fireworks shows just by walking out of the hotel. The only down sides for us were the price (it was a bit more than I wanted to spend, but it IS La Jolla), and the elevators took forever. We took the stairs a lot. On the plus side, the staff is amazing, especially the front desk and bell staff. We talked to them frequently and they were always pleasant and accommodating. Overall, highly recomment this hotel!

Room Tip: The 5th floor suite is superb. Views of the ocean, spacious, farthest from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Melissa B,
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at the Empress Hotel La Jolla. I appreciate your acknowledgement of our attentive staff, spacious Jacuzzi suites and central La Jolla location. Most of our upper floor rooms have a view of the ocean and we do our best to provide these rooms based on their availability. You will be happy to know that the hotel is being renovated and the elevators are under going a modernization program that includes more speedy control systems. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Empress Hotel was just what we needed. After a bad experience at another hotel, the Empress found us (a family of 5) a room for a totally amazing rate, on the same day - which just happened to be July 3rd! They accommodated us for the whole weekend. The lobby was beautiful, old wood and brass, very tasteful. The room and bathroom were decent in size and super clean. The beds were very comfortable. We even loved the location (which we dubbed "fitness row" due to all the yoga, pilates, exercise places), close to a Vons, Starbucks, BevMo, pizza that delivered!, and The Cottage! This hotel made our vacation turn out wonderful when it did not start out that way. Thank you Empress Hotel!! We will be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Janice8297,
Thank you for your comments! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our comfortable and clean accommodations, central downtown La Jolla location, and had a great 4th of July weekend. The Empress Hotel La Jolla staff is dedicated to provide the highest level of guest service possible and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager Empress
Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

We arrived Thursday the 13 of June thru mon 17th for a wedding in la Jolla The location was smack in the middle of everything ! Restaurants ,bars ,shopping and beaches what more could you ask for . Lets start with the hotel is well maintained in and out with beds turned down right before bed and chocolates on all four pillows as we traveled with our son 5 and daughter 9 we stayed in room 210 on second floor . Room had two queen beds a table w three chairs and flat screen tv. Bathroom was completely updated porcelain tile with granite counters .it was more then adequate for our family. We were located two rooms down from continental breakfast room which was a huge plus. The breakfast had lots of choices with waffles , hard boiled eggs, yogurt , cereals , fruits pastries delicious I might add. Drinks coffee, tea ,milk or oj. You could not go wrong indoor or out door dining . We got to see all the rooms because of everyone that came for the wedding.There was a room just like our with a queen and sofa bed for twenty$$ or so less a night . My sister in-law had the suite very nice it's two adjoining rooms in one queen bed with a jacuzzi tub and separate bathroom and closets the other was sofa bed a armchair flat screen tv four chair table a piano and small kitchenette w microwave very nice . My mother in law was in room 100 which was good for her as it had a handicap bathroom and a street view on the first floor . All rooms very clean the restaurant /bars was very nice although we did not have a chance to eat there . Also used the lower level conference room for the day after the wedding to get the family's together for a small breakfast the room was plain but very nice and clean . Loved that every morning There was complimentary cookies or fruit at front desk . Oh almost forgot parking is valet parking as is most places in and around la Jolla hotels a 8.00$ a day fee unlimited use a huge plus tipped the first two times in the first day then never really had change in my pocket there after and never received stink eye from valet / bell men for not tipping just ended tipping out the last day really good every employee really good especially in the breakfast room so sorry I didn't remember his name but he was there every morning .All and all great hotel would and will stay again.Reason I gave a four was due to there was good wrappers behind the head board of the bed that looked that was never cleaned may be housekepping overlooked maybe not will never know.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Scrol1,

We really appreciate your comments from your recent stay at the Empress Hotel La Jolla and hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we strive to offer the highest level of service possible for our hotel patrons. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed the variety of room types we offer as well as the updated bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, downtown La Jolla location, and valet parking. We will share your comments with our staff and housekeeping as we make every effort provide excellent customer service. Please come again soon!

Sincerely,

John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here several years ago, and were glad to be back. The staff seems much more attentive, and otherwise nothing has changed. The hotel is very well maintained and well situated. We had a large, comfortable room with very good amenities. Although we were right across from the elevator, we never heard a thing, and there were two weddings at the hotel that weekend! The breakfast room is small, but in good weather there is outdoor seating which is pleasant. Breakfast itself was fairly typical, but with a make your own waffle station that was very popular. A good value, and a thoroughly enjoyable four night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear DonTAZ,

Thank you for your positive comments and nice feedback regarding your stay at the Empress Hotel La Jolla. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location, surrounded by restaurants, deli's, gyms, and shopping, as well as our friendly staff. Please come again soon, we appreciate your business!

Kind Regards,

John S. Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I spent two nights there with friends. The building is older but it was clean and updated and was perfect for our trip. The room was spacious and quiet. I also liked that we had a large shower instead of a bathtub/shower combo. We overlooked the street and heard no noise at all even with the window open.

The little refrigerator came in handy. The complimentary breakfast was fresh and well stocked. We chose to eat out on the covered patio.

The location was great for short walks to restaurants and shops and to the ocean. Front desk staff was very friendly.

The elevators were slow (as someone else mentioned) but that posed no problem for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank OakForest_ILMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear ILMary ,

Thank you for your positive comments for your recent stay at the Empress Hotel La Jolla. We carefully review all guest responses and consider guest satisfaction the highest priority. The hotel is under new ownership and management with Greystone Hotels and we recently began an elevator modernization project for both elevators which will greatly improve their efficiency and speed and expected to be completed within the coming weeks. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

In San Diego for business projects over the past four years, my wife and I have stayed for months at a time at the Empress. It is our hotel of choice in San Diego for several reasons. A small hotel with a guest-oriented staff at all levels and departments; it is surrounded by wonderful restaurants, deli's, gyms, and shopping... with a fine dining restaurant in the lobby. Valet parking and laundry facilities are affordable and easy. The Empress is very tranquil, secure and quiet, but only a block away from Prospect Avenue and three short blocks to the waterfront.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonTAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,005 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £159 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California comfort at our charming boutique hotel in the scenic village of La Jolla, California. Situated just steps from the San Diego Area's famous sandy beaches and downtown La Jolla, while also being only minutes from popular attractions like SeaWorld and Torrey Pines golf course, our hotel is the perfect location to embark on an unforgettable vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing