We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel! Great service, pefect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Great service, pefect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend to explore San Diego. The hotel could not be any more conveniently located. You could walk to beaches and shops. Everyone at the front desk was really nice, professional and warm at the same time. Breakfast is complimentary on the 2nd floor patio. They put a nice little spread of cereals, coffees, pastries, bagels. Its a really nice touch and we greatly appreciated it. Rooms are nice, bathrooms are big and look like they have been renovated. We were always outdoors and going out sightseeing so we were only there in the early morning and late at night. There is nothing to complain about here, its a great deal and you are in La Jolla!! Life is good!! This hotel is great and I would def come back here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay at the Empress Hotel La Jolla. Thank you for your review. Our staff prides itself on providing the highest service possible.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel, located just steps from the beach and downtown La Jolla and only minutes from SeaWorld and Torrey Pines golf course. We are also pleased you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast! We are glad you found your accommodations to be comfortable and spacious. Please come visit the Empress Hotel La Jolla again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    259
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
191
321
44
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Empress hotel in La Jolla. The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. The maid came twice a day, once to clean the room and again at night for the turn down service. The best part of the stay was the complimentary breakfast each morning. The waffles are delicious, and we enjoyed hard boiled eggs and delicious fresh pastires each morning. A very nice touch. You are in the center of downtown with many shops and restaurants nearby. It's also within walking distance of La Jolla Cove which is perfect! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang3076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I had been to this hotel a number of times before it changed ownership - I'm happy to report that much has changed since the new owners took over. Rooms are clean (but could be, in my opinion, cleaner...), the hotel is nicely appointed and the front desk staff are friendly and really on the ball. Breakfast is adequate - it's like a deluxe continental breakfast (not a hot, cooked breakfast - but for the price, it's fine).

For the price and location, it's a fine choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our family of 4 loved our stay at the Empress hotel!

We got two rooms - one with two Queen beds and one with one Queen bed. The 2-Queen room was large enough for a small family, but since our kids are teenagers we opted for two rooms. Both were very clean and the furniture was sturdy solid wood - you hardly ever see that anymore. There was a slight stain on the carpet in one room, not a big deal. Beds were comfy but somewhat firmer in the 2-Queen room. Bathrooms were beautiful with roman showers (no tub). A/C was noisy, but not needed with the mild weather.

The included breakfast was great: a tasty varied spead including waffles, boiled eggs, deli, cereal, pastries, everything. It kept us going to lunch and beyond.

Service was superb. At the front counter I was always served immediately and efficiently by personable, knowledgeable staff. The bellhop took care of our bags with a friendly smile, and the valets always got our car in/out very quickly.

Location is great - a few blocks from La Jolla Cove, one block from quaint shops and restaurants on Prospect St. There is a Supermaket (Vons) two blocks away.

The price represented an overall great value.

Green Features: They give you the option whether to change sheets/towels.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments and providing your valuable feedback. We really appreciate your business. The Empress Hotel La Jolla prides itself on providing its guests with the highest level of customer service possible. Please come stay with us again soon, as we are going through renovation this fall, and if you liked us now, you will love us even more then!

Thank you,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Here for a family wedding -- large room, excellent bath, comfortable bed, very good service, okay breakfast. The location worked nicely for our needs during a five-day stay: the coast, shopping, and a considerable variety of eateries were all within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Was once a seniors home and is now a wonderful spot to get away from it all. Nicely appointed rooms. Great breakfast items and a huge patio to sit and enjoy the start of the day. It's an easy walk to some fabulous restaurants and shopping. There's a piano bar and what looks like to be a wonderful dinning room. Didn't have time to give it a try. Very quaint and not expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We enjoyed this hotel on a girls trip to California. Very nice hotel, and the area is amazing! We felt very comfortable during our stay. The staff was very accommodating and helped us with great places to eat and visit during our time in La Jolla.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelliero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Kelliero,
Thanks so much for posting your kind comments regarding your experience at the Empress Hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback and value your business. We are so pleased you found our staff to be attentive and helpful with great recommendations for dining and sight-seeing and that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations.Thank you for choosing the Empress Hotel for your trip to California and please come back again soon!

Thank you,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing