We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the day! And a great place too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

On checkout this morning we were asked if there was anything empress staff could have done to make out stay better. We said "no everything was great" and we meant it. Great place. Perfect staff. Low key, unobtrusive service that fit the relaxed but classy environs of La Jolla. The room (we were in 517) was quiet, roomy, clean and quaint. Breakfast was decent - quality continental - and in a nice setting. To highlight how nice our stay was the only thing we can poke at is the slow lift and that was only a problem because one lift was in maintenance for our first two nights stay.
Now for the kicker. We left our passports and purse in the room safe and took off for the airport. About 5 mins out I realised and called the hotel. Amanda took the call and (while we were on the line) had arranged for the essentials to be retrieved and someone from the hotel to drive it out to us. Bless the staff for rescuing us from our forgetfulness. We couldn't be more grateful or impressed. And the wonderful woman who urgently drove out to airport flatly refused our offer to pay for the inconvenience that we caused her - and great inconvenience that would have been caused by a missed flight and all of that. Just wonderful.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Ek_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Ek_NZ,
Thank you for your kind comments. Our staff greatly appreciates this kind of customer feedback. At the Empress Hotel La Jolla, we go the extra mile to provide the highest customer service possible and we are so pleased to have been able to "save the day!" I am glad to read you enjoyed our exceptional service, our comfortable and spacious rooms as well as our complimentary breakfast. I am also happy to inform you that we have just completed modernization of both elevators and can now provide speedy service. Please come again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

I always stayed at Parisi , and since it closed ,I wanted to find a hotel that had the same qualities . This is a great place . All that is needed is to upgrade the continental breakfast included . Hotel Parisi included a gourmet breakfast , the Empress has a first floor restaurant , they need to utilize their restaurant and create a wonderful breakfast buffet . Right now , what they offer for breakfast is very poor and if they created a great breakfast it would increase their business and become a destination in La Jolla , since the location and ambience warrants more ... Hopefully , management will read this .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Linda S.,
Thank you for posting your review. Your comments are most important and we value this kind of feedback. We agree with your suggestions and will be taking steps to improve our complimentary continental breakfast. I am pleased to inform you that the Empress Hotel La Jolla is just beginning an extensive renovation of its guest rooms, public areas, and elevators. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in the heart of La Jolla. Park your car and leave it...you can walk anywhere in the Village from this convenient location. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff is friendly...and the rate is easy on your pocketbook!

They have a very nice Continental Breakfast. The gym is small and limited. But there are other facilities across the street if you need a larger range of equipment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The outstanding aspect of this hotel was the staff...from the front desk to the Head of Housekeeping. They were very friendly, helpful, and happy! Other positives included fresh, warm cookies in the afternoons and a small fitness room.

Overall, we liked the Empress, however, the room was dated and dark and some of the upholstery was stained. We stayed in a roomy Empress Room and enjoyed its spaciousness. However, it is located immediately adjacent to the elevators (as are all the Empress Rooms on each floor). For the first 2 days, the elevators were not working so we didn't realize that we could hear them traveling up and down. While this didn't interfere with our sleep (since they're not in use much late at night), during the afternoons, while reading, the sound was intrusive.

Room Tip: All the Empress Rooms are located immediately adjacent to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great location, friendly service, clean and comfortable - and a nice breakfast buffet including waffles! Our only complaint is that the two elevators were both out of service during our stay. Fortunately we were on the second floor, but taking the stairs to the fifth floor would have been an issue for me. The parking is also a problem. Pay $25/day to park it yourself in the lot across the street, or pay $18/day for valet to park your car.

The towels are small and worn, but the bedding was very nice. They are renovating the rooms, so hopefully they will be getting new bath linen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildthymeAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Empress is a nice small hotel in a great location at a good value price. The friendly and helpful staff is a strong point. We have stayed there multiple times and will again. It has always been a positive experience, easy going and happy.
The physical hotel is pleasant but not perfect, so adjust your expectations accordingly, be nice, and you will enjoy your stay. Its not the Four Seasons and you are not entitled royalty - or if you are, stay someplace else.

Room Tip: It depends on the season and the days of the week and your preferences. Stay there once, check it o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Jefraz,
Thank you for your comments, we value your feedback. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location within walking distance to nearby beaches, village restaurants and shops. We're pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of service possible. I'm pleased to inform you that the Empress Hotel La Jolla is under renovation with new designer rooms, public areas, elevators and more. Please come again soon.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was our 4th stay at La Jolla Empress. It suits us perfectly for location, cleanliness and cheerfulness of the rooms, helpfullness of the staff and good value. They are beginning to renovate the rooms though they hardly need it but it shows how important it is to management to keep them up to date and modern. It's obvious they are committed to preservation of resources (see photo) which is a challenge in running a hotel. Breakfast is good with the usual, but additionally they have very tasty small french pastries. And you can sit outside! Parking on the street is free and plentiful after 6 pm until 9 or 10 am. And there must be 6 fitness centers within one block with the La Jolla Yoga Center right across the street with may drop in classes. (Nice to stretch after a day of sightseeing.) They have so much going for them that we don't feel the need to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear EatApple,
Thank you for your valued feedback and comments, we appreciate your business! It's always a great pleasure to host returning guests such as yourself! We're so pleased that our central location suits you perfectly and that you enjoyed our clean rooms, helpful staff, and good value. Guest service is our top priority and our staff prides itself on providing the best possible service.

As you mentioned, the Empress Hotel is upgrading guest rooms, public corridors, elevators and more. We are taking steps to ensure the renovation is made without disruption to our guests. We offer Stash Rewards to our guests with each stay. Please come again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,119 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £149 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California comfort at our charming boutique hotel in the scenic village of La Jolla, California. Situated just steps from the San Diego Area's famous sandy beaches and downtown La Jolla, while also being only minutes from popular attractions like SeaWorld and Torrey Pines golf course, our hotel is the perfect location to embark on an unforgettable vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing