We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$427
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveller rating
638
304
54
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
304
54
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanhattan restaurantvalet parkingpiano barspa suitewithin walking distancecontinental breakfaststreet parkingboiled eggsjacuzzi tubshops and restaurantsyogurtheart of la jollasmall hotelperfect locationstarbucks coffeefront desk stafftwo queen beds
Filter
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for one night in a very large room #207. Amenities included 4 sets of towels, tissues, shampoo, soaps, conditioner, lotion, and robes (no slippers). There was a safe and fridge. The AC was feeble, Wifi and breakfast were included. The bedroom area included a sofa with coffee table as well as a smaller round table and two chairs. There was no view as the hotel is not on the ocean. Parking is a stiff $18, which reception claimed was cheaper than parking across the street, but we did not find out if that was the case or not. The room would probably be hot in the summer as the AC was quite weak.

Room Tip: make sure the AC works well if you are there when it is warm
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight at The Empress Hotel because it was closely located to a friend's condo. We were very pleased with the price, the hotel staff, the amenities of the hotel, and it's proximity to a variety of excellent restaurants and unique shops as well as Jonathan's Friday night wine tasting event. Our room was quite large and well appointed with a large shower and very comfortable bed and many pillows. We did not have a chance to eat at The Manhattan Restaurant in the hotel but will definitely add that to our list as it appeared very classy and had blues music while people were dining.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lindamilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear lindamilks,
Thank you for posting your comments, your feedback is extremely important to us. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed the Empress Hotel La Jolla's convenient location in the center of the village and walking distance from everything! I am also pleased that you enjoyed our spacious, well-appointed rooms and the exceptional service you received from the staff. Guest service is our highest priority and we appreciate your acknowledgement. The Manhattan Restaurant is one of the most popular restaurants in La Jolla and we hope you have the chance to dine here during your next stay at the Empress Hotel. Please come back again soon, we look forward to seeing you!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

On checkout this morning we were asked if there was anything empress staff could have done to make out stay better. We said "no everything was great" and we meant it. Great place. Perfect staff. Low key, unobtrusive service that fit the relaxed but classy environs of La Jolla. The room (we were in 517) was quiet, roomy, clean and quaint. Breakfast was decent - quality continental - and in a nice setting. To highlight how nice our stay was the only thing we can poke at is the slow lift and that was only a problem because one lift was in maintenance for our first two nights stay.
Now for the kicker. We left our passports and purse in the room safe and took off for the airport. About 5 mins out I realised and called the hotel. Amanda took the call and (while we were on the line) had arranged for the essentials to be retrieved and someone from the hotel to drive it out to us. Bless the staff for rescuing us from our forgetfulness. We couldn't be more grateful or impressed. And the wonderful woman who urgently drove out to airport flatly refused our offer to pay for the inconvenience that we caused her - and great inconvenience that would have been caused by a missed flight and all of that. Just wonderful.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Ek_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Ek_NZ,
Thank you for your kind comments. Our staff greatly appreciates this kind of customer feedback. At the Empress Hotel La Jolla, we go the extra mile to provide the highest customer service possible and we are so pleased to have been able to "save the day!" I am glad to read you enjoyed our exceptional service, our comfortable and spacious rooms as well as our complimentary breakfast. I am also happy to inform you that we have just completed modernization of both elevators and can now provide speedy service. Please come again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I always stayed at Parisi , and since it closed ,I wanted to find a hotel that had the same qualities . This is a great place . All that is needed is to upgrade the continental breakfast included . Hotel Parisi included a gourmet breakfast , the Empress has a first floor restaurant , they need to utilize their restaurant and create a wonderful breakfast buffet . Right now , what they offer for breakfast is very poor and if they created a great breakfast it would increase their business and become a destination in La Jolla , since the location and ambience warrants more ... Hopefully , management will read this .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Linda S.,
Thank you for posting your review. Your comments are most important and we value this kind of feedback. We agree with your suggestions and will be taking steps to improve our complimentary continental breakfast. I am pleased to inform you that the Empress Hotel La Jolla is just beginning an extensive renovation of its guest rooms, public areas, and elevators. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in the heart of La Jolla. Park your car and leave it...you can walk anywhere in the Village from this convenient location. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff is friendly...and the rate is easy on your pocketbook!

They have a very nice Continental Breakfast. The gym is small and limited. But there are other facilities across the street if you need a larger range of equipment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews