We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What the Weary Corporate Traveller Needed”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just What the Weary Corporate Traveller Needed”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Empress came to me by chance through a new trendy travel app on the iPad, and thankfully made my California work trip a little easier and more pleasant on the restricted travel budget that I currently find myself on (start-ups are, well, cheap).

But this gem was perfect and a great value. I would put it a notch above a nice Courtyard by Marriott. It has more charm and taste with all the same business amenities and a much better restaurant. The rooms are large and comfortable and the location is great. I was able to get quickly to the beach/ocean, to restaurants (awesome), and coffee (local & delish).

I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFRHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear CFRHallett,
Thank you for your kind comments and for being our guest at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla. We're so pleased to read that you appreciated the value we offer and that our amenities, comfortable and spacious rooms, onsite restaurant, and convenient location near local restaurants and the beach helped enhance your stay for your business trip. As you mentioned, our charming hotel is perfect for the business traveler as we offer all the comfort and amenities one might need during a business trip from free Wi-Fi to complimentary breakfast. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting your next visit to La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    265
    51
    13
    14
See reviews for
206
343
47
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a charming, 73 room boutique hotel with a fantastic restaurant. I stayed here several years ago and was pleased when the event I was attending chose to use this hotel again. Breakfast is included and could even be enjoyed out on the deck. The staff is accommodating and anxious to please. I understand they are to begin remodeling in May.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Dorothy T.,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your return visit to attend your recent event in La Jolla. We’re so thrilled to read that you enjoyed our charming, boutique hotel including our complimentary breakfast and our accommodating and friendly staff. We’re also happy you were pleased with your experience at our onsite restaurant, the Manhattan of La Jolla. As you noted, we are scheduled to begin an exciting renovation later this Fall and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano TX
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Empress is a great value and is an affordable hotel with great personal touch and location. The rooms are clean and up-to-date. The location is 5 minute walk to the La Jolla Cove and is central to all shops and restaurants. The staff is friendly, responsive and courteous. All in all it was a great choice for our long weekend holiday.

Nothing really lacks, except a few small miscues.

Hall noise, mechanical noise and some funny smells. We asked for a nice vacation room with a view; we got the third floor - no view. The hotel was far from full.

I would recommend the hotel and I would return again.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor with Silverado Street view. Also, stay away from elevators, which is also ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimlenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear jimlenox,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us for your long weekend holiday. Thank you for mentioning our great value, friendly and courteous staff, and our central location near La Jolla Cove for shopping and dining. Our goal at the Empress Hotel is to ensure our guests receive a personalized experience, and I am happy to hear this was the case during your stay. We’re sorry for the noise issues you encountered and that we were unable to accommodate your request for a room with a view. We do our best to accommodate any special requests when possible. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great Hotel in La Jolla when on a budget. My husband and I stayed here while celebrating our anniversary, The staff was helpful and they upgraded us to a King size bed on a higher floor for free. This hotel is clean and close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The only drawback is the parking. Most of the street parking is for 1-2 hours only. Other than that it was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Cecilla P -
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay as our guest. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were able to take advantage of our excellent location in the downtown village of La Jolla, walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. We offer valet parking to all guests for a nominal fee since it's so hard to park in the village area. Once again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to La Jolla!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I live in the area, and when I have guests in from out of town I put them up at this hotel. Most recently my cousin stayed here and loved it. The rooms are quite large with large bathrooms and a fridge in the room. My cousin told me the bed was very, very comfortable. The bathroom only has a shower (not an issue for me, but she prefers baths). She greatly enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

The service is impeccable. The hotel is located right in the heart of the village. The only downside is the parking - it is valet or nothing. So I would drop her off and then go back to my home, park and walk back - not a huge issue for me as I only live a couple of blocks away, but I do like to self-park my vehicle.

Reception always has cookies available - freshly baked!

Great hotel for location and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the Empress Hotel La Jolla. We are so happy you've made our boutique hotel your top choice for hosting your friends and loved ones in La Jolla, what a compliment! Thank you for your comments regarding our central location, comfortable and clean guestrooms, and the exceptional service provided by our staff. We are happy that you would share a recommendation for us and once again we thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you and your out-of-town guests back here soon.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Empress for 4 nights during our first-time visit to the San Diego area. Friends had suggested that we stay in La Jolla. We are so glad we did, as it is a truly lovely area. Service in the hotel was very good. We didn't have a chance to eat in the hotel restaurant. But it seemed to be popular and we heard live music there. The room was spacious, clean, had Wi-Fi, a coffee maker and fridge. In addition to being within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the beautiful La Jolla branch of the San Diego Museum of Modern Art. We enjoyed both the exhibit and cafe lunch there. A highlight was that the hotel is also within easy walking distance of the dramatic coastline for close-up views of seals and sea lions. It was birthing season, so there were a lot of seal pups also close to shore. We went kayaking into nearby sea caves and hiked at Torrey Pines, just up the coast. But it was also a relatively easy ride south into San Diego proper. The free hotel breakfast was adequate and could be easily supplemented with the fridge in the room. We did not have to pay the $18 per day for valet parking and have no idea why anyone would do this unless staying in the hotel all day for a meeting. La Jolla has very liberal free street parking, 1, 2, or 3-hour limits during the hours of 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. So for example, if you park near the hotel in a 2-hour space, you could stay there for free from 4:00 p.m. until 10:00 the next morning. If you then go off for the day, even to another area of La Jolla, there would be no need to pay for any parking, valet or otherwise. If we ever return to the San Diego area, we would definitely stay in La Jolla and definitely choose the Empress Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review. I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, amenities, nearby attractions and most importantly, our friendly and helpful staff. We believe our team is truly the best in La Jolla! We value your business, please come back again soon with your next visit to La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Location is amazing! About a block away from the beach, the Museum of Contemporary Art and is nestled in with shopping and restaurants. Amazing Italian restaurant on property and it was always hopping and full of locals, that's when you know its good! Great continental breakfast and lovely sundeck with lounge chairs and sun shades. Comfy beds and updated features at this charming boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RipCityRepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for the nice 5 star review! I am glad you were able to enjoy so many of our amenities while you were our guest, including our complimentary breakfast and onsite restaurant. I am also pleased to read that you found our rooms to be comfortable and our location to be ideal for walking to the beach and the many shops and restaurants in La Jolla.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,049 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4309 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel, a Greystone Hotel, is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing