We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a wedding block”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sdaints
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a wedding block”
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We got a very large block of rooms here for our wedding recently and we had a great experience. Somer was great to work with and very willing to accommodate our requests. All of our guests loved the location as it was walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the water. We looked around at a lot of hotels before deciding on the Empress and I think we definitely made the right choice.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    263
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
199
331
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I am a Sales Representative who travels extensively and I had the most fabulous stay at The Empress Hotel In La Jolla! This is a beautiful, spotless, comfortable hotel that went above and beyond what I have experienced at hotel stays elsewhere- it was second only to being home. I truly appreciated the warmth and hospitality of the entire friendly staff (Mario, Alan, Somer, Nick, John, Jean, Ben, Joe and the wonderful Director of Sales "Sandy Gallo"), who responded to my every need efficiently and graciously. In fact, every staff member I encountered, from the cleaning staff to the valets to the reception desk, always greeted me cheerfully and went out of their way to help me feel welcome. I really enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast every morning. I Cannot wait to return!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz2009California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long eaton, nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2009

On arrival the hotel looked very pleasant. The check in staff were really helpful and friendly. No problem at all. I thought we would have a great time. The location is excellent!! I didn't even find the parking a problem. As soon as I got out of the lift I could smell cigarettes. This was classed as a non smoking hotel, our room was directly opposite the breakfast patio were you could smoke if you wished. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked so could not change our room. The cleanliness of the room is definately not up to scratch. I had a small bed in the room for my daughter as she didn't want to share with me, For some reason the maid just didn't want to make that bed!! Not once was it made!! Every day when we got back to our room the sheets etc were piled neatly on top but we had to make it ourselves. From there the cleanliness of the place went down. Dirty towels in the bathroom. I used to check them before I showered. The coffee machine was either not cleaned or the cup would be left dirty. No refills of coffee etc were left. The carpet didn't look like it had seen a hoover in weeks. The last straw was a lovely big stain on the sheet of my bed on the last night. Never again. Not really what I would call an expensive hotel bearing in mind the location. When compared to other hotels in the area.YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugar land
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Our family joined our close friends for a week-end Wedding Event in La Jolla. The Excellent Staff and the great location made for a most pleasant experience at The Empress. The rooms were spacious, clean. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends. The breakfast which was included was quite adequate. Would enjoy staying there again if the occasion occurs.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshallSugarLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

My wife and I stayed recently at the Empress Hotel of La Jolla. We travel quite a bit and I must say that the Empress was perfect. Perfect location, professional service, extremely friendly staff and a level of personal care that ranks with the best four and five star hotels we have stayed at in the States, Asia and Europe. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Sleeping in such comfortable beds with a hotel situated on a quiet street that was also close to walk to restaurants and shops makes recommendations to family and friends easy.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrDadFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We booked the Empress for our out-of-town guests for my daughter's wedding weekend. We had a large group (approx. 40 rooms) and everyone was so impressed with the hotel, the location and the staff. Somer, Alan, Nick and John (to name a few) couldn't have been nicer or more attentive to the needs of a crazy mother-of-the-bride. I truly cannot think of anything that we needed or requested that was not done for us. We had chosen an alternate hotel for those who did not want to stay in the Village, but it was under construction and did not re-open in time for the wedding; the Empress gladly absorbed those few reservations as well into our block at the last minute. I cannot recommend this hotel and staff highly enough. Vicky Bergman, Alexandria, LA

Stayed April 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank VeeBee412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

TA has been invaluable to me as I have traveled and I wanted to pay back with my finds on our last trip. My husband and I traveled to LaJolla from Ohio for a burial at sea celebration. The somber tone was lifted by the finding of this lovely hotel for a reasonable rate. We were met by great service and fast check-in. Our room was roomy and very sufficient for our needs. The linens were soft and of good quality and the bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was fresh and modern and I loved the sliding door!! Special kudos to Nick Yeager and John Bagnasco at the front desk who helped with so much with suggestions concerning dining, valet parking, and anything else we needed. We even got an addtional discounted rate for our second night stay once we decided to stay over. Go ahead and pay the extra for the valet parking as it is definitely worth it not to have to watch the meter or search for street parking. We used the business center to print out mapquest for some sight seeing. We ate the continental breakfast which was free nourishment. As other reviews have said, it is nothing special, but it is fresh and free. The outdoor courtyard is lovely if it is warm enough and if you want something fancy there are plenty of places where you can pay for a breakfast. If we are ever in LaJolla again, the Empress is where we will stay! Thank you for a great start to our 5 day tour of California.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank atallxmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4309 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing