We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Inn by the Sea(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grande Colonial La Jolla(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Inn(La Jolla)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
621
300
53
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
300
53
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanhattan restaurantvalet parkingpiano barspa suitewithin walking distancecontinental breakfaststreet parkingboiled eggsjacuzzi tubshops and restaurantsyogurtheart of la jollasmall hotelperfect locationstarbucks coffeefront desk stafftwo queen beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We've been coming to LaJolla and staying at the Empress several times a year for the last four years that our son has been in college at UCSD. We've grown to simply love staying at the Empress. We've been consistantly well treated ("Welcome back, Mr. Fleming.") and have so enjoyed the little things: cookies in the lobby, fruit at the desk, jazz in the restaurant/bar. We find the location perfect as well, situated only a few steps from the ocean, dining, shopping. The breafast, while not lavish, is more than enough for us. I agree with another reviewer that the Cottage just down the street is outstanding should you wish to indulge. Kitima for Thai food, the Karl Strauss Brewpub for tasty Red Trolley Ale (check the specials!) Wow, writing this makes me want to be there now! I've never had the poor fortune to follow a smoker as far as I know. Our rooms have always smelled nice. I look foreward to our next stay at the Empress.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucsddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My husband & I stayed at the Empress for 3 nights in mid-June. The staff were pleasant but I was not told about cookies in the lobby(no big deal).The first room we entered smelled smoke so I called the desk & they changed our room.After reading another review about the same problem I think the staff should pay more attention to what's happening at their smoke-free hotel.We did enjoy the patio one afternoon by ourselves without any smoke blowing in our faces.
They were really quick about bringing the car over when we needed it.Our King room was a good size and it was clean.If you'd like something for breakfast besides what they offer here, I definitely reccomend The Cottage right at the corner.Food was delicious & wait staff friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Great location, friendly helpful staff, impeccable rooms, good continental breakfast on sundeck, free internet, delicious cookies in the lobby. This charming hotel in LaJolla Village lacks nothing. Ben is a great asset to the front desk!
Marsha & Dave from Boston

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Staged a destination wedding in La Jolla, The Empress Hotel provided the perfect setting for all of our guests. They were able to enjoy the city by foot due to its convenient location. The hotel staff couldn't have been kinder and answered all our questions concerning food, entertainment, and sightseeing.
Somer, the sales coordinator, made sure that we were up to date at all times throughout all the planning stages. The breakfast room and patio, was a wonderful gathering place for all our guests each morning and was more than adequately stocked.
Looking forward to our next stay in La Jolla at the Empress.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincydent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

The reviews do not lie: The Empress is a great little find and was the perfect place to start our Southern California vacation. We booked a standard queen room for three nights just after Easter. The room was small-ish but very cozy, comfortable and clean. The bathroom looked as if it had recently been renovated and we were provided nice bath linens, toiletries and robes. They even had complimentary bottles of water in our room when we checked in! The amenities were well above my expectations for the price we paid on the room.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. You do have to valet park (about $13 a day) but they are very quick to retrieve your car and the cost isn't prohibitive. The business center is small (just two computers) but never crowded. The hotel also offers a complimentary continental breakfast. It's a fairly standard spread (juice, coffee, cereal, pastries, etc) and was fine for us during our stay.

The hotel is situated very nicely at the edge of La Jolla Village. It is a very short walk to the shops and restaurants and only slightly farther to the cliffs and ocean where you can see seals and sea lions. The Cottage (highly recommended; awesome breakfasts!) is, literally, a block from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travels_with_PEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews