We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I came with a group for dinner at the beach. The location and views are spectacular. We had a catered meal that included amazing prime rib, raw oysters, cocktail shrimp, risotto and dessert station. I don't know about the rooms but my experience was exceptional.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    80
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
197
77
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Beautiful location and property.

Very disappointing resturant...
The Marine Room for dinner was a huge disappointment.
I choose this restaurant as I heard the chef’s praises on the Chef Jamie Gwen radio show. I booked dinner on line and saw there was a hotel nearby so I opted to stay at the hotel because I wanted to eat at the restaurant.
I have eaten in lovely restaurants all over the world. The food at the Marine Room was pretentious epensive and not tasty (we had Sunday night the lobster special) all the food was sweet over sauced with very small portions. The wine that accompanied the meal was mediocre at best and the one glass of wine with the meal was the smallest pour I have ever experienced.
The waiter never looked us in the eye and after he asked a question but left our presence without a response. In fact we made a joke about the non-response of our server.
It was an evening in a lovely location with awful food and subpar service. I wish I would have sent my meal back.

Room Tip: Ocean view or on the primary ground is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemaryswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We spent a long weekend at the best beach in San Diego. With 5 of our kids, a fully-functional kitchen, walking-distance to restaurants, markets, beach toys, surf/kayak/dive lessons, and a very comfortable hotel - it was perfect. We had a cloudy/cool weekend, but a great Thursday afternoon and all day Friday. Kids were happy as can be on a big, wide, safe beach. Low-stress for parents, you can see them from your hotel room. Heated pool, easy golf, tennis, croquet... hours of sandcastles and moats to build... thank you!

Room Tip: Location is everything for us, and access to the beach. For that, there are NO bad rooms. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I am so pleased that you and your family had a great vacation at the Club. Many guests tell us that our beach is the perfect family getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Alex Willow
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We arrived here yesterday after a long international flight from australia. Definitely recommend you booking a limo to bring you to la Jolla, we did this on the net. Arrived here but the room wasn't ready, we went downtown on a complimentary shuttle and had lunch at crab catcher. The beach club rang us around 1 pm to advice our room was ready so we came back and checked in. They upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite with fully equipped kitchen, 2 bedrooms, lots of closet space, 2 tvs and a large bathroom. The ocean views are magnificent, we are right there on the beach!! You can have a drink outside your room in a balcony overlooking the sunset. The staff is so helpful and friendly! There is plenty to do around, play tennis, swin in the heated pool, have a massage. There is a full laundry next to the gym, a fully equipped one. Apples are free at reception. There is percolated coffee in your room, a toaster a blender, a dishwasher, a large fridge and a safe. The TVs are excellent with 100 channels or so. The Internet is fast!! And FREE. I highly recommend this club, it's a bit old looking but very comfortable with all the mod cons. The restaurants are fabulous too especially the chowders and the lobsters. Stay here, you won't regret it.
The location is fabulous too and there is free shuttle anywhere you like, the drivers are so friendly. We walked a fair bit too and it's easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootscooter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Can't beat the location for a fun relaxing getaway. Kids have the beach for surfing, kayaking, swimming. Then there is tennis, golfing, pool and play ground. Long walks on the beach... Bbq's at night.
A very special place! Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for the nice review. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a great experience at the Club. Spring Break is a wonderful time to experience the Club and all the wonderful amenities.

We hope to see you back soon!

Alex Willow
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We saw this hotel from the cliffs w/the seals and couldn't wait to stay there. Lucky us - they had a couple nites available. Location is incredible - right on the beach. It was a little pricey but generally worth it. Within walking distance to some great sidewalk restaurants. View was incredible. Fire pits were a nice added touch. Would have been 5 stars - However - Was told to park on street if there was an available spot so we did. imagine our surprise next morning when we had an expensive ticket. Check-in person, who was incredibly nice, failed to tell us about the once a month street cleaning & fines. When I inquired about the ticket @ the front desk the next morning I was met with a blank stare and the individual volunteered to call the San Diego police dept. Why I have yet to figure out as all they should do is warn the guest of the parking issue. Yes, there are signs, however they are extremely poorly located. Other than that one issue - great stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms next to the restaurant - entrance was separate from the actual resort entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enjoyingthemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the property including the wonderful beach and surrounding neighborhood, but was disappointed that you encountered difficulties with your overnight parking. I have shared your comments with our front desk department and we are reviewing how we can avoid this in the future. I hope we can host you and your family again in the future.

Alex Willow
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The LBTC is the eiptome of a well run club. Expect to enjoy both a private beach and a professionally run Hotel. My accolades continue even having long stretches between visits, the place is a gem, and the amenities are included in the overall enjoyment. In LaJolla, [WE] would stay nowhere else. It truly is, as Jake the Day Desk Mgr says, "The LBTC, and LaJolla is the "Beverly Hills" of San Diego. How true...and it's great.

Room Tip: We prefer the north end2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
It was great to welcome you back to the Club after so many years. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for great review! We too think that our hotel is a hidden "gem" and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Alex Willow
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.0 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.8 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club

Property: La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Address: 2000 Spindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing