We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little in need of an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

we had a beach front room at great expense. It turned out to be so small that there was no room to move or relax unless we lay on the bed. the bathroom sink was tiny and the plug didn't drain properly. the decor is a bit jaded, and the cleaners missed emptying bins and on one day left our door open to the world while we were out for the day.

In order to get a sachet of dried milk for coffee or tea one has to open a whole packet of cellophane wrapped serviette, sugar and plastic spoon; so very wasteful and environmentally unsound. we were only given one sachet for tea and coffee provided in the room.

the view from the beach is wonderful, and I guess that is what one is paying for. the restaurants were almost empty so we walked to La Jolle village and had some great meals there.

the bar-b-q and fire pits that can be used at night on the beach are great, but very expensive.

Room Tip: go large with a sea view and kitchen if you want a sofa and somewhere to relax/cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thephotographer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club is an iconic Southern California attraction in itself. The approach to the Resort offers an eye catching landscape of a short 9 hole course played around a pond with a water feature in the center. Checking into our room we were greeted by a gracious attentive representative who was able to accommodate checking us in despite our early arrival. The hotel is an older property but well maintained and really fresh and clean. Steps away from our room was a beautiful private beach. The staff and service during our 5 day stay was always great. I will return to The La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club time and time again for getaways in the future.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VictorVDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent 5 day stay. Thanks for the positive feedback. I will be sure to share it with our team. The Beach and Tennis Club strives to create the ideal setting for our long term guests with our unique beach front setting and numerous activities for all ages. We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Alex Willow
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have a good friend that has stage 4 cancer. One of the things on her bucket list was to stay in a beautiful hotel on the beach.

Many people at work chipped in money so we could pull this off for her. We reserved a nice ocean front room. When I arrived with her, we were told that her room was upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite.

The room was breath taking. it was smack dab on the water and every window has an ocean view!

Thank you La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club for making this happened!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbhomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review and wonderful pictures. I am so pleased that the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club was able to fulfill your friends request of staying on the beach and that she enjoyed her stay.

Alex Willow
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were in a room that when my wife turned on the hair dryer the fuse's in the unit blew.
After several hours of maintenance trying to repair unsuccessfully we were moved to another room. There was no apology by management for the inconvenience.
Both rooms were somewhat dated, though clean and the beds were very good.
We had the impression room rentals were to supplement the overhead for members of the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club.
It was just Ok for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tj303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Excellent location and service but be aware that some rooms are next to a beach walkway and chairs where people converse - and they are very close to your room. I was moved to a quieter room and loved it

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank K12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and I can't say enough about it. Staff all friendly and caring. The beach is awesome make sure you spend a night having a fire pit lit for you. romantic. Marine Room is fine dining and worth it. Don't miss this hotel or resort

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ticson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week while visiting our daughter in the area. We had never heard of the LJBTC before. We are so happy that I discovered it through Trip Advisor. We were able to find the perfect balance of relaxation, play and a bit of work. Our complements to the entire staff, from housekeeping to the top. We will certainly stay again on our next visit to La Jolla.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
1,042 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,205 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club

Address: 2000 Spindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £176 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the shores of the California coast stands one of the region’s most timeless beachfront resorts, a treasured destination for more than 80 years that still feels like a San Diego secret – La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. Explore this landmark hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing