We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but somewhat dated.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Caliente, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place but somewhat dated.........”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Beach & Tennis Club for her business trip. The building itself is somewhat dated but that really doesn't take away from the property. Most of the rooms are beach front. Our room was nice, one could even call it a one bedroom apartment. Bed was nice but we really didn't care for the pillows. Don't care for "down". Breakfast on the first day was a challenge as I don't think they were ready for our group. Service was a little slow. The next two mornings things seemed better. Food was good and priced right for a resort setting. Over all we both felt that the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club was a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Personally I prefer a ground floor room. All are beach front (first and second floors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    80
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
204
79
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I loved my beach front room! But keep on mind my visit was definitely off season (December) so I didn't have to worry about the foot traffic in front of my room.
If you want beach front, this is perfect! Literally 20 steps from my room to sand. And it is a private beach, but I gather from some of the staff that the beach can get crowded in the summer.
My room was huge! Bedroom with two double beds, plus a spacious living room and kitchen. Plenty of room to spread out and relax. I found it to be very clean and well stocked. The beds are comfy.
If you head to the onsite restaurant for breakfast, don't be in a hurry! The kitchen was painfully slow. Food was ok though. Most of the staff is very attentive and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We specifically chose this hotel for the Thanksgiving holiday because we wanted an oceanfront room where we could sit on our veranda and enjoy cocktails or step out on to the sand. That is what we THOUGHT we were getting as most of the rooms here are set up that way. However, we ended up in a room at the south end of the resort where the rooms are entered from shared interior hallways (our hallway was filled with dirty linens and trash that the cleaning people left laying there all day) and there is no veranda or other spot to sit outside your room and enjoy the ocean view and salt air (the bellhop said I can open my window--thanks). Yes, I can leave the room, go find a beach chair and find a spot somewhere on the beach but I can do that just about anywhere in So Cal for much less than $700 night. They also indicated they'd set up a beach fire upon request but guess what, they are all out of fire pits and told me we could cruise north to the "public beach" and build our own fire in one of the public fire pits. It's Thanksgiving so the hotel is sold out and we have no option but to just deal with it. Do your research before you decide to stay here---you can't beat the beaches of La Jolla but you can definitely do better as far as hotels go, especially for the price!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank socaltraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit and will make sure your feedback is shared with the rest of the team. While the hotel offers a private beach, not all the rooms have beach front balconies, and I am sorry we could not offer you this accommodation due to the hotel occupancy. Our evening fire pits are a popular amenity and I apologize that we were unable to fulfill your request over the Thanksgiving holiday. I hope that you were able to enjoy the beautiful beaches of La Jolla and may give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Alex W
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is an older hotel, so some rooms decor are a little "tired", but the rooms are clean enough (not squeaky clean tho) and comfortable. The staff is very accommodating and friendly, and the beach is fantastic. We had 4 different rooms during our 10 day stay. The first beachfront room was on a first floor, and people sit right outside so it can be noisy. Almost all of the beachfront rooms have an outdoor walkway in front, anyone can see in your room as they walk by, so unless you want to keep the drapes closed all day there is a lack of privacy. There is however one room that has spectacular views and is private-#202. It's a one bedroom suite, with large windows all facing the water, and no walkway access. It was the best of all the rooms we were in. Big windows all around, you feel like you are right in the ocean. There is a loud fan/generator from the restaurant below, that comes on during the day, but is turned off by 10:30pm but otherwise it was very quiet, with no cooking smells. We loved that suite, we were mesmerized by the views, felt like we were outside all the time. Saw surfers, kayakers and seals go by all day. No need to turn on the TV, just watched the ocean all the time.

Room Tip: Room 202 is THE best!!! Right on the ocean, big windows all facing the surf, very quiet except for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewkIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

we had a beach front room at great expense. It turned out to be so small that there was no room to move or relax unless we lay on the bed. the bathroom sink was tiny and the plug didn't drain properly. the decor is a bit jaded, and the cleaners missed emptying bins and on one day left our door open to the world while we were out for the day.

In order to get a sachet of dried milk for coffee or tea one has to open a whole packet of cellophane wrapped serviette, sugar and plastic spoon; so very wasteful and environmentally unsound. we were only given one sachet for tea and coffee provided in the room.

the view from the beach is wonderful, and I guess that is what one is paying for. the restaurants were almost empty so we walked to La Jolle village and had some great meals there.

the bar-b-q and fire pits that can be used at night on the beach are great, but very expensive.

Room Tip: go large with a sea view and kitchen if you want a sofa and somewhere to relax/cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thephotographer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club is an iconic Southern California attraction in itself. The approach to the Resort offers an eye catching landscape of a short 9 hole course played around a pond with a water feature in the center. Checking into our room we were greeted by a gracious attentive representative who was able to accommodate checking us in despite our early arrival. The hotel is an older property but well maintained and really fresh and clean. Steps away from our room was a beautiful private beach. The staff and service during our 5 day stay was always great. I will return to The La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club time and time again for getaways in the future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorVDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your recent 5 day stay. Thanks for the positive feedback. I will be sure to share it with our team. The Beach and Tennis Club strives to create the ideal setting for our long term guests with our unique beach front setting and numerous activities for all ages. We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Alex Willow
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have a good friend that has stage 4 cancer. One of the things on her bucket list was to stay in a beautiful hotel on the beach.

Many people at work chipped in money so we could pull this off for her. We reserved a nice ocean front room. When I arrived with her, we were told that her room was upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite.

The room was breath taking. it was smack dab on the water and every window has an ocean view!

Thank you La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club for making this happened!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbhomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review and wonderful pictures. I am so pleased that the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club was able to fulfill your friends request of staying on the beach and that she enjoyed her stay.

Alex Willow
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,149 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
877 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club

Property: La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Address: 2000 Spindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing