We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Dated, Overpriced Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I don't know what type of hotels the people who rate this hotel as excellent normally stay in but judging by their reviews not very good ones.
We are a family of four with 2 boys and we booked to stay for 3 nights after looking on trip advisor.
The stay was nothing but disappointment from the start. We arrived earlier than the check in time expecting to have to wait for our room but were told it would be serviced and ready within an hour. So we headed to the restaurant for a quiet lunch while we waited. Four hours later our room was finally ready.
I would have expected within 4 hours that the room was spotless but on arrival the first thing that hit us ( besides its location next to a giant dirty laundry bin and the car park) was the overwhelming smell of damp.
Inside the dark, low ceilinged room were 2 queen beds, as expected which had not even been made properly. I had to ask housekeeping to re make them as the fitted sheets were only just pulled over the top edge of the mattress. As soon as you sat on the bed they pinged off.. Also was the bizarre way the duvet was wrapped in 2 sheets so when you slept you were exposed to the grey nasty duvet that everyone else has slept on. Apparently this is a 'California' thing.. Well it wasn't at any of the other hotels we stayed in.. Invest in some duvet covers for goodness sake!!

The hotel seems to pride itself on its service. It was ok.. No better or worse than any of the other places we visited and to be honest I'm not sure what they have to be proud of.

As we had waited 4 hours for our room and our boys were tired we decided to stay in the room $350 a night.. Surely it can't be that bad....

In the cold light of day did the nastiness of the room become apparent. On the surface the room seemed reasonably clean. The bathroom was ok, clean bath, toilet etc but in the corners of the bathroom you could tell the floors had not been cleaned properly for a long time. There was a nasty red mark on the wall that looked like blood and the walls were generally marked, scratched and dirty. There were approximately 10 face flannels, no cotton wool, q tips, tissues or anything remotely useful. A very poor hair dryer was provided but it was hardly worth being there at all.
The bedroom was equally dirty. Years of dirt on skirting boards, around the bed frames, on the bedside and ceiling lights. Dusty nasty metal slatted blinds that didn't work properly, very worn carpet that was shiny and sticky in places. The sofa felt cold and damp. Again , very marked walls with pen marks and scuffs everywhere. The air conditioning grilles were ingrained with dirt and dust and the whole system was very noisy.

The kitchenette... I didn't venture in there.. The bottom of the cooker was so dirty and rusty I couldn't bring myself to look properly. The 1950's fridge was very noisy and again dirty. Complementary popcorn???? No fruit/ water.....

Unfortunately we had very noisy people upstairs... Thin floors and walls accentuated the problem.
Our sons were on the verge of tears .

All in all the whole hotel was very shabby apart from the grounds as you drive up. Yes it's on the beach but not a very nice beach and who wants to sit on plastic loungers that have seen better days.
Apparently the hotel has been a club since the 1930's and to be honest it's like something out of 'DirtyDancing'. Holiday camp vibe, and a fairly elderly demographic.

Needless to say we checked out . The hotel refunded the night we didn't stay but weren't prepared to offer a discount. Their attitude seemed to be that the room we had wasn't up touch and yes it did need modernising. At $ 150 maybe you would at least expect that kind of level of accommodation although we have stayed in nicer places cheaper than that.

We checked in to the Grand Hyatt in San Diego for $270 a night.. Amazing.. Go there!!

Do not go to this hotel. It's over priced, outdated, past it's best. It may have history, loyal club members and a beachside location but seriously.. See the world , get some perspective and you will see what a dump this place is.

Stayed: July 2014
13  Thank HPsoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear HPsoaks
Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate your comments. I regret to learn that you experienced several issues during your stay and would like to offer our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. I have shared your comments with our guest services team and will ensure we address these concerns. Our employees take great pride in the facility and we strive to create memorable family experiences for all of our guests and hope that you may someday give us another opportunity to serve you.

Alex W
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at LJBTC for six days. Our room (108) was right off the beach. Just steps. It was wonderful...until early in the morning and later in the night. We were adjacent to the staff storage closet. Doors slamming every five minutes for about an hour early in the morning and then about ten till eleven. The rate for this room was $750 a night...We had one bathroom and one bedroom with a pull out couch. A small kitchenette with two burners that heated unevenly. The salt water pool was awesome. Except for the grumpy old guy who yelled at my son, he's six, to get out of the pool during lap swim. It was clearly stated that the pool was "partially closed during lap swim. I tried to explain this to grumpy old man...he was hearing it. We left the pool. The drinks at the pool were great and expensive. Service was spotty. Food was ok. Again, expensive. Staff could be indifferent at times. Desk staff especially. Probably won't return.

Room Tip: Do not book room 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank GingerLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is my idea of a vacation! Great everything- location, food, beach, pool, tennis. Jake at reception was particularly helpful. I wish I could stay longer because my son is so happy and I can relax. The prices are very reasonable considering you are at a club and you get so much more than a room

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heeweeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

LJTBC is a beautiful hotel with a classic, historic, spanish-style feel. The hotel is not of a modern, glamourous style, but fit us perfectly. We (younger couple on a short vacation at the end of June) enjoyed the look and feel of it. The court yards are beautiful. Many families seemed to stay there, as the rooms are definitely made to accommodate families-- large rooms, complete with small or full kitchens. Some of the children were a bit loud, but that's a family. We loved the private hotel beach with the beach service!
We made our reservations online through the hotel website. However, when we checked-in there seemed to have been an error, and our reservation had only been recorded for one night instead of two. They didn't have any more standard rooms (fully booked for that week), so to resolved the issue, we were given our standard room as we had reserved for one night, and then given a HUGE, beautiful 2-bedroom beachfront suite, with a complete kitchen. So, we can't complain about the error, given how lucky we were to experience such a nice treat. We wished we had brought the whole family and to stay in one of those suites! The only inconvenience was re-packing and moving rooms after our first night. The hotel, of course, helped move our bags, while were were out for the day.
This was our first time staying at LJTBC, and we will be back-- with our family or just the two of us! The hotel really has the best beach and location in the whole La Jolla Cove.

Room Tip: Corner, stairs suites are the best-- less passing traffic, and the best for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kinuko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I cannot overstate how terrific this hotel is. All of the hotel and beach staff I interacted with were exceptionally professional and helpful. The location cannot be beat. The atmosphere is just right - friendly and casual. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. If you can, reserve a table to hold a barbecue on the beach in the evening. The cost is quite reasonable and you can enjoy dinner with toes in the sand while you watch the sunset.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank GoldenGate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was the best family beach expereince. On the beach dinner bbq at sunset with our 3-year old twins was memorable. Very kid friendly! Kitchen is a very nice to have. Large rooms. Very clean. Beach staff is friendly. They even have beach toys for kids so no need to drag toys there. There is a playground and other great fun kids ameneties. A little pool for the little ones is a plus.

Room Tip: A oceanview rooms are amazing. You are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzaPutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
High class serves ,best food beautiful place they go out of there way to please you . Clean and pretty . Peaceful not to big , your kids we love come to the room when popcorn bags and Starbucks chocolate coffee waiting for them
They couldn't find my reservation I did have from American express because they boats from third party (orbit) But in mid time the place us in Great rood and invited us to lunch with best chef in town . Which he cook for the restaurant next door that open for the public
If I can give 7 star they got it

Room Tip: They have room that one step and you in the beach facing the ocean . So try get those because some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanit d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,047 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club

Address: 2000 Spindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £175 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the shores of the California coast stands one of the region’s most timeless beachfront resorts, a treasured destination for more than 80 years that still feels like a San Diego secret – La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. Explore this landmark hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing