We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel is convenient to 805 & 5, with nice bar & breakfast, could use a Jacuzzi by pool and its $20 to park. What made it special was the staff. We did not have a smooth trip, but that gave them a chance to shine. Everybody went way overboard to help, they were perhaps the most professional, naturally helpful & pleasant staff I've seen. Somehow our reservation was lost, and the hotel was sold out with a wait list, luckily I had email backups! Wes H figured out a way to work it out and checked the room himself for us, he did us right! Room service brought in the cots, fridge, etc. and made our family comfortable. Even simple things like asking directions were responded to with unusual enthusiasm and helpfulness (Will G). We were all woken up early by ignorant Teamster protesters, and the hotel right away comp'd us breakfast. Breakfast omelet bar was particularly tasty. All in all a very nice hotel experience for us and our group due to all the impressive people of team Marriott La Jolla.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

MikeB90266

We are thrilled that Wes, Will, and the rest of our Brilliant team went above and beyond in assisting you during your recent stay. We know that you have many options when traveling to La Jolla, CA and we hope that on your future trips it's our service that will bring you back to us! We thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct any opportunities we had faced and look forward to providing you with excellent service in the future!

Thank you for all your kind words and patience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

I am writting this review for Jorge Guillen and his staff, Matt, Jorge and Charles. Jorge was able to fix my chevy Equinox key issue while it was valleted for the night. I was so very thankful and Jorge took the extra time to call Chevy and get my car fixed over the phone so I didn't have to go to the shop and get it fixed. That is A class cutomer service :)

Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmsisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Kmission,

Thank you so very much for staying with us, but most of all thank you for your comments about our Brilliant valet team. Jorge, Matt, and Charles are amazing and we are very grateful to have them on our team!

We look forward to assisting you in the near future and we'll make sure your favorite team of valet attendants and manager are here to brighten up your day!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We went to San Diego for 1 week. Rented a car. This La Jolla is convenient for travelling to Downtown and to Carlsbad. As a traveller with 2 children, we booked with 2 other families. For 7 nights stay the parking rate is reduced to $10 per day. Many conferences are held in this hotel. Also, Salsa nights are popular too for the locals. On those night parking was very busy. The rooms were clean, quiet and modern. The gym had all the equipment one would need. Some days they even had apples and headsets. Towel service in the room for family of 4 was the only issue we had. Starbucks, L&L Hawaiin food, 2 delis and Einstein Bagels were walking distance. The renovations to this hotel should bring in more business. The valet parking and concierge were friendly as they greeted you daily. If they improved the attention to detail on the room housekeeping towels I could give 4.5. We stayed in another Marriott in Marina De Ray this was comparible except they only have Valet unless you park across the street. We managed to get this through Priceline's Express Deals for $120 end of May. Downtown La Jolla is a good 10min drive from here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kipperama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We loved our stay! Erica B at the check-in counter was especially helpful in finding us just the right room. Everything was very clean and all the staff we met were very friendly. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stay at this Marriott almost every week on my short business trips to San Diego area. After going through a major renovation, the hotel is very nice with beautiful, cozy and open lobby area. I am writing to acknowledge the friendly staff I see at the concierge lounge who takes the time so exchange chitchat with almost everyone that step into the lounge. I I specifically wanted to mention Bilal and Amelia who I usually see at the breakfast and never fails to stop by to say hello and spend few minutes on the weather, or the recent sporting events, or something else. They put extra effort in making it feel like a home (although if you are like me, you would hate to be away from home). Thanks guys for your efforts in making our stays little nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mashuque R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stay a lot a Marriott and have a status with them. This Marriott was the worst Marriott I have stayed at. Parking is 20 dollars, the location is away from everything (unless you are working in the area buildings), the room didn't have towels (it took them 30 min to bring them up), and worst of all, there was hair in my bathtub! I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amglucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Amglucy,

First and foremost please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. The issues that you encountered during your stay are not up to Marriott and or our own standards. Should you choose to give us another opportunity, I would love to ensure your future stays are nothing short of spectacular.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this invaluable feedback to better our team and our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

On Business Travel for extended periods, the San Diego Marriott in La Jolla is my first choice (when available).

The rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet.

Above all, the staff is very professional and friendly.
From the front desk, to housekeeping, to the parking attendants, the to restaurant servers.

In particular Theresa at the front desk is a standout.
She is very professional and remembers everyone and their preferences.
In addition, Jeff at the front desk and Ray the parking attendant is of the same caliber.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Mr. S
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this Brilliant review! We, at the Marriott La Jolla believe that it’s our amazing and talented team such as Theresa, Jeff, and Ray that keep our guests coming back and sets us apart from the neighboring hotels! Thank you for confirming this vision and we look forward to making your next trip inspiring!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £105 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing