We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Hawthorne, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Staff”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just wanted to say thanks to Jackie/front desk clerk & Vince/hotel maintenance...
Jackie gave me and my girlfriend a wonderful room with a view (we were walk-ins) and Vince fixed the heat for us in a professional and courteous way... Both of them made our stay memorable! It was awesome!!!

Green Features: Clean and comfortable, inviting.... Staff was excellent, friendly & professional!
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weaser_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    301
    108
    38
    35
See reviews for
246
160
39
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Amelia and Bilal were outstanding in the lounge. Warm, friendly greetings every morning. They went the extra mile to ensure that I had everything I needed for breakfast, she even remembered me from one morning to the next. The lounge was kept clean and fully stocked. I felt cared about while there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amboy, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

At the end of a very long and trying trip, including stops in Las Vegas, my father's funeral and finally at the Marriott in La Jolla, I found true rest and care. The staff helped us find a good chiropractor for my husband, the accommodations were lovely and the environment relaxing. I particular, Neli stood out. Each morning she not only served our breakfast, but remembered our preferences and made the time there that much more relaxing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at your hotel from July 6 and couldn't have been happier. The staff was all so friendly and helpful. No matter what I needed, your staff took care of me and seemed glad to do it. It was like being taken care of by your family -- family that you actually get along with. In addition to having staff that treated me so well, the room and the amenities were lovely. I have already started telling people back home about your wonderful hotel, and can't wait to return. I will also let my travel agent know what superior service you provide your guests. A special 'Thank you' to Neli for your true professionalism and great conversation. Please share this note with your management.

Lewis Durham
Platinum Member

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend for Surf Cup soccer tournament. Hotel was quiet even with 100's of kids who were in the hotel. You could walk to UCSD campus and several places to eat are across the street. Other notes:

• Had buffet style Thanksgiving dinner with team(s) that was very good!
• Staff were friendly and helpful
• Bar is open to outside on one side. They have several space heaters that makes sitting outside in November enjoyable.
• Work-out room was spacious with a few free weights and several treadmills and exercise equipment.
• Self-parking was in parking garage under hotel.
• Rooms were spacious and surprisingly quiet with all the kids and families in the hotel. We stayed on the 7th floor.


Would stay here again and recommend to families visiting students at UCSD.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Theresa and Wes a lady at the front desk her name is Trenesa Vroom were incredibly helpful as well she were very nice also very friendly.......:) The staffs at the lounge and restaurant were also very friendly.but the breakfrest is not so good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CicelyHsieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The room was a bit small and the bathrooms even smaller. The lobby and other common areas were nice and appear to have been recently remodeled. The complimentary breakfast for Elite members was really good. The fresh made to order omelets were a great touch.

The rooms were quite and the room was comfortable to handout in.

As a San Diegan, this is not really La Jolla even though it has a La Jolla address. As a San Diegan, if you cannot see the water, you are not in La Jolla. This hotel is in a great location for guests with and without a car.

Room Tip: Request a room opposite of La Jolla Village Drive. This is a busy street and can produce a lot of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSquar3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,090 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,352 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.7 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing