We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but not convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but not convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here for a conference I attended at the on-site facility. The room was very comfortable and had all of the amenities expected for professional business travel. The lobby bar was excellent and included a very nice patio area. There was not a lot nearby other than an open air mall with upper-mid to high-end shops which was nice. There happened to be a nice farmer's market one afternoon in a parking lot across from the hotel, but I really just stumbled onto that more than looking out for it. The trip to La Jolla proper was too far, resulting in an expensive cab ride. The gym was great - and not busy at all. The pool looked nice (outdoor only).

Room Tip: It's in an office park, so there aren't any especially good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neslryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear neslryan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted that you were comfortable during your stay with us and enjoyed some of the hotel amenities. Our immediate area has seen some great upgrades in the recent years such as the Westfield Shopping Mall and the renovations and additions of multiple restaurants. We hope that the area continues to provide exciting new leisure events and options for our guests in the near future to make for a more inviting location. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    292
    99
    35
    29
See reviews for
231
150
38
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at this property for a three nights while visiting the San Diego area over the holidays. We arrived in the mid evening and the people at check in were very accommodating and were very helpful in getting us settled in and even suggesting locations for dinner that evening. The property and the rooms were very pleasant, clean and newly renovated. We stayed in the executive sweet with an adjoining room. This is highly recommended as it provided us with ample space for my future wife, myself, and her family. I will again point out the very pleasant atmosphere provided by the staff. They also were tremendous help sorting out meal options in the area for christmas dinner. Overall the holiday in San Diego was amazing and our stay here made it all the better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polarbear1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Polarbear1113,

We are so delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday vacation with us while you were here visiting San Diego. I'm so glad that you were able to stay in one of our suites and found it very convenient for you and your family. I know that there are several fine dining restaurants here in our area to enjoy and we hope you enjoyed your particular selection. We thank you so much again for spending your holiday with us and we hope to see and hear from you again in the near future!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We used a groupon so our value was great, 5 for value. Our room was very clean, as well as, the rest of the building. Front desk was great. Location is great if you need to get off and on the freeways, however it is not close to the beach. The beach is a drive away. We would def. stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear airblue1,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward hosting you again soon!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Let me begin by saying our rooms were not ready. (We had 4). The last two were due to check in at 12:00midnight and 3 am. I gave specific instructions where each family was to go. Wrong rooms were given. Then they had to move them because the chiefs were staying in the hotel. No shampoo or soap was left in the rooms. When I asked for the breakfast we were supposed to have I was told I could not pick them up because my name was different that my husbands. Seriously. But the worst was that we were in the lobby when the chiefs came in. We did not know they were staying at the hotel but were excited to wait and see them. We had the kids with us. An Armed, yes armed, guard, hired by the hotel approached the kids and parents and told them to move away. Jim went ballistic. The whole experience was negative. Right up to the end, when we called because we had left a retainer in the bathroom. Asked them to check. They never did. Never called back. Finally I called the manager, Scott. He found the retainer. The hotel apologized and credited us points for two nights(which we will probably not use because I am kind of sick of Marriott lately, All in all. Very poor experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megaverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Director of operations at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Megaverett,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. You and I did talk during your stay and as I mentioned to you then, your experience is not the normal one. I apologize that you did have to move rooms. We did not catch that you had multiple one night reservations. If we did then we would have certainly assigned you one room throughout your stay. Due to the lateness of the arrival and being sold out we did not have another room for you to enjoy. I have discussed with our housekeeping manager the missing amenities from one of your rooms. Our goal is to have the refreshing Marriott amenities in all of our rooms for our guests enjoy.

As you can see from our rating your experience is not one that happens very often. I appreciate you taking the time to talk to me during your stay. The feedback you provide us not only gives the opportunity to see how we are doing, but to conduct some re-training. I hope to that you will use some of your points to visit us again. I am confident that you will have a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Beautiful and impressive lobby and restaurant area with outdoor patio, heated lamps and fire piece. Rooms are spacious and clean. ;0) Building is well-maintained. Food is ok. Service at the restaurant and bar is poor, which is surprising for such a renowned hotel. We ate 3 times at the restaurant of the hotel for a happy hour/evening course. Each time, it took a very long time to get our drinks and plates, while manager and employees were chatting at the bar.. We wanted to take advantage of the 'happy hour', and all three times, there were errors on our bill (drinks and appetizers). It became the running gag, but we were not impressed at all, as we had to justify the time we arrived for the happy hour. At least, the bill was ajusted.
Nonetheless, I would still stay there, but not eat at the restaurant.

Green Features: There is no recycling bin in room :0( O the good side, there is a 5$ credit in the hotel when you ask not to change your bedsheets.;0)
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear CynthiaR,

Thank you for your honest and constructive review! I’m glad that your enjoyed your stay with us but I regret to hear about your experience at our restaurant. It is our goal to provide prompt and accurate service so I apologize that this was not met. I appreciate that you have shared this experience with us so that we may use it as a training opportunity to strengthen our team and ensure that this does not happen in the future. I would love the opportunity to invite you back to dine in our restaurant again! I can assure you that you’ll have a much more positive experience next time.

Warm Regards,

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our stays with La Jolla Marriott over the holidays have been great. The hotel has a wonderful buffet every morning. Several employees are excellent. They made the stay like being with a family that has a culture of hospitality at it's core. Nelli, a waitress at breakfast every morning brought the joy of serving us with a smile and warm heart. Two thumbs up. Carlos, a valet was thoughtful and quick, always welcoming us as we came and left the hotel. Jaclyn, the new manager, graced the front desk management with efficiency and an ability to anticipate what our family needed needed. Thanks for making Christmas and the New Year a joy while we stayed with you.

The family of Jetskiing Santas!

Jack O.

Room Tip: Get the South view of the hotel. I do wish the hotel had not taken out the Jaccuzzi. I hope they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Jack O. and the family of Jetskiing Santas,

We were delighted to help you celebrate the 2013 holiday season. Our staff at the Marriott La Jolla takes joy in making the guests feels accomadated and like family. Your family was so much fun and left a lasting impression on us as well. We look forward to seeing you soon and making new memories!

From your La Jolla Marriott family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Wow! This hotel has undergone a revision from top to bottom. Everything is visually very attractive and appealing--especially the outdoor patio/bar with the awesome glass-nugget fire pit. We have found the service to be very warm, helpful, and consistently positive--not the institutional indifference that is often the scene at mega hotel operations. Our room is large and well-lit with an extensive balcony that goes around two sides of the room...requested for the benefit of additional lighting. All of our requests have been graciously honored and it's obvious that the staff is bending over backwards to be of service. The food that we've ordered at AMUSE has been consistently well prepared in spite of a shortage of servers. The location is appealing--near the mall yet within several miles of La Jolla's spectacular Cove and marine sights. The next time we re-visit La Jolla for several days of R & R, this will be our "go to" destination.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 12th, 14th, and 15th floors are preferred for size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2lovetogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear 2love2go,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your fabulous review of your recent stay with us! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the recent upgrades to our property! The patio bar, Amuse, is the perfect spot to grab a drink to enjoy by our beautiful fire-pit and I’m glad you were able to find comfort in our spacious rooms! We are always striving to provide service that goes above and beyond for our guests so it pleases me to hear that this was your experience! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing