We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful staff ALFREDO!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
1 review
“Very Helpful staff ALFREDO!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My bathroom toilet bowl got clogged & water everywhere. I was expecting that we will move to another room because of the non stop water flowing in the floors but a staff came right away named ALFREDO. He cleaned & sanitized my whole bathroom. It took awhile but we became so patient. He is a very helpful & friendly staff here at Marriot.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    301
    108
    38
    35
See reviews for
246
160
39
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This lovely property is our go to place near UC San Diego. Kind check in staff, well-appointed rooms and best Concierge Lounge in San Diego. As other reviewers have said, praise for Amanda, Bilal and Amelia in the new 15th Floor Lounge is completely justified; they all went above and beyond the usual lounge staffing, even preparing a to-go plate for a guest who could not leave his room. Thank you so much, Amanda!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srir8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Marriott is in a great location. Close to the highway and nice dining options. Check in was fast and efficient. I have priority with Marriott so, I also had access to the concierge room. The room was very clean and comfortable with a small patio to walk onto. The parking, although $20/night was underground and convenient. The concierge was very service orientated and a nice place to do some work. The only disappointing thing is it had no hot tub. The gym is large and clean. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Becky K,
I'm so happy to hear that our location was so convenient for your travels! We really are in a great spot for shopping and restaurants or it is just a quick hop onto the highway to visit anywhere in San Diego! I'm also glad to hear you enjoyed working in concierge lounge and our gym! Thank you for your loyalty with Marriott and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
The Marriott La Jolla Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Of all the Marriott Hotels I stay at, the La Jolla Marriott is my favorite. The staff is always attentive to your needs and makes every guest feel welcome. The initial impression makes or breaks your stay. When I walk into the hotel and see Miriam's smiling face (at the front desk), you know your stay will be pleasant. The Concierge Lounge staff (Amelia, Amanda and Bilal) always make you feel welcome. The rooms are always clean and pleasant, once in a while you get bumped up to a suite and that is "sweet."

I have stated this in my previous posts that the only reason I cannot give the hotel "5" Stars is because they no longer have a hot tub. This was a "huge" mistake by management when they remodeled the hotel and I will always remind them of that mistake. Maybe they will read my posts and other guests and rectify that mistake. Other than that, the property and staff are awesome. See you soon.

Room Tip: No spa (hot tub)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Dan G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel again and for your loyalty over the years! We most greatly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our Brilliant Hosts: Miriam, Amelia, Amanda and Bilal! They are truly passionate in providing our guests with Brilliant Service and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologize that we disappointed you by removing the hot tub during the renovation but we appreciate your honest feedback! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
The Marriott La Jolla Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had a very good visit at this property, excellent staff, very nice lobby, great concierge lounge with very nice breakfast, not just bread and coffee. Room was great, guessed it helped to get a Gold upgrade and with it came a huge balcony, but overall the room was well appointed and as usual with Marriott's, great bed. Great for business or pleasure....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVConsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here on a business trip and really enjoyed the hotel. The lobby is very nicely laid out with a great bar/restaurant with multiple screens showing sport events. The staff is very nice and helpful. The gym is first rate. I had breakfast in the concierge lounge and it was pretty good.
The hotel is in a nice location close to quite a few restaurants and there is a StarBucks a 5 minute walk away. Plenty of parking in the attached garage. This was a business trip but I could see myself staying here again on a visit to the San Diego area. I really enjoyed and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear bccrab,

We truly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you really enjoyed our restaurant and bar area. Last year we went through a full hotel renovation and we were the new open concept at our lobby area has definitely been embraced by our guests.We would love to host you again on any of your future business or leisure trips.

Travel Brilliantly!
The Marriott La Jolla Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The rooms were organized and the food was served at the lounge. Overall, the experience was good. The staff was professional and homely, especially Amelia and Bilal. The hotel does not provide complementary wifi in rooms, but this was a minor issue. The staff really made the hotel experience come to life.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0ingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear g0ingaway,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Amelia, Bilal and our entire staff work very hard to provide every guest with a brilliant experience at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to the San Diego Marriott La Jolla.

Travel Brilliantly!
The Marriott La Jolla Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,090 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,352 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.7 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing