We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for ten days in April (short Holiday in SD). Although the Hotel is a little outside the city, it's Close to everything (3mins to I5). The staff was really friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean. The Hotel was also very quiet, which we appreciated a lot. I do really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bijoux83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

At the hotel on business. Catering, front desk, and reception staff all very good. The facilities are first rate but I'll give a gold star to Elisha, one of the lunch time servers in the lounge area. She was absolutely terrific and brought us back, in preference to going anywhere else for several days in a row. She's a great credit to the hotel and absolutely terrific - thanks, Elisha!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank PTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed this week for business and pleasure. We usually stay in Marriott hotels because the quality is fairly consistent. We have been members for al long time. The Marriott in La Jolla did not disappoint us. From the time we checked in with Fabiola to the end of the evening when we visited the concierge lounge, service was wonderful. Fabiola gave us a great room on the 15th floor with easy access to the lounge. The food was great and the room lovely with an expansive view of La Jolla. Amanda was staffing the lounge and was personally making sure all the guests were well taken care of. She even stayed open a little later when a couple of guests came in at the time it was about to close. She made them feel very welcomed. I know hotel work is not always easy but everyone we came in contact with was cheerful, making sure all we needed was taken care of. One of the guests was on crutches and was trying to manage a plate and Fabiola, who was ever watching, quickly went over and quietly offered assistance with his plate and beverage. She had come up from the lobby where we met her while checking in and then later up to the lounge to give Amanda a break. There was a feeling of camaraderie between the two which always speaks well of the hotel and staff. Thank you, La Jolla Marriott. After 10 hours of driving we were grateful to be there! Almost forgot. Fabiola sent two glasses of wine over when she found out were down here not only for business but to await the birth of our grand daughter and our first grandchild! Very nice. Frank and Susan Kelly

Room Tip: Beautiful area. Great staff and good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good location to La Jolla UCSD if you can't be on the beach. Very handy to I-5 and malls. Concierge lounge (available to Marriott rewards members) is outstanding, especially for breakfast. The fruit available here is the best I've had at a Marriott. Concierge Lounge staffers Amelia and Sonia were extremely welcoming, made a point of knowing our names, and couldn't have been nicer. Really made for a great stay.

PS...Only reason for the 'very good', not 'excellent' rating, was uneven housekeeping on the first day. Towels, coffee and laundry bags not re-supplied, had to write them a note.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackP8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I am in love with the La Jolla area, I have had to work in this area for 25 years. I will only go to the Marriott. Over the past year, the difference maker for me is Megan and Doah at the bar. These two bartenders make you feel very special and remember me everytime I come back. They are very attentive and helpful. They understand how to make the customer happy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good things first...Very friendly staff! The property is nicely maintained. However, the rooms are tiny, bed is very hard, towels threadbare, ac is either on and blowing an attic storm or off. Stay at the Hyatt across the street...way nicer (not staying there now because of renovations..no rooms). If there wasn't a cancellation fee off leave and find a better place.

Room Tip: 15 is noisy, 11 was ok. Get a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmt4wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear cmt4wa,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your invaluable feedback and for recognizing our friendly staff! We also recognize that we had some opportunities during your stay and it is feedback such as this which allows us to learn and grow to provide our guests with exceptional service and amenities.

Thank you again for your feedback!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My bathroom toilet bowl got clogged & water everywhere. I was expecting that we will move to another room because of the non stop water flowing in the floors but a staff came right away named ALFREDO. He cleaned & sanitized my whole bathroom. It took awhile but we became so patient. He is a very helpful & friendly staff here at Marriot.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,428 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1407
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £134 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing