We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff at this facility is fabulous. The front desk went out of there way to make out stay pleasant. They were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is so clean and we'll maintained. The pool and gym are great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaruth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    292
    99
    35
    29
See reviews for
231
150
38
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent four nights at Marriott La Jolla. We were in town for the wedding of a family friend. The hotel is very nice. Rooms are big enough and clean. Bathroom was spacious. Terrific fitness room. Location is convenient. Not much to do or see right around the hotel, but parking is convenient. Staff was exceptional-very helpful. I inadvertently left an item behind in the hotel room that might easily have been either discarded or kept by hotel staff for their own use-instead, they fedexed it back to me within two days! Now that's service! There is also a really nice hotel bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at San Diego Marriott La Jolla for business trip in May. My colleague and I were so impressed by the amazing staff and how accommodating everyone was, especially Amelia an Bilal, who tended to us at the Concierge Floor. They were so friendly and helpful. Highly recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirahoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Had a few days of relaxing fun in the San Diego area. This was a nice location for heading into downtown SD and for going north for golf outings and shopping. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful; room was spacious and quiet. Bed was firm ; hot water in shower was plentiful. Mall area across the street with a Cozymel's--good spot for happy hour margaritas. We laid out by the pool, which is a bit small. Also, someone had thrown a bratwurst into the pool, which looked like it had been there for a while. Husband jumped in to confirm the identity (and consistency) of the object and removed the visually offensive item.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aspendancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had to stay here last minute and we are lucky to have found such a great place in a pinch. The staff was very friendly and helpful with requests from needing a pack-n-play and extending our stay on a busy weekend. Also, the maintenance guy, Vince, went out of his way to help us with an issue. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. They also have a wonderful indoor/outdoor open-air bar and cafe to enjoy the beautiful San Diego area weather. If you are ever in the area and need a nice place to stay you should definitely consider the San Diego Marriott La Jolla.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveT00Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I arrived very late (still on east coast time). Had a quick bite at the hotel bar and rolled into bed.
Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Check in was a snap. Beds and pillows very comfortable.
I was a little disappointed at the cleanliness of the shower, some leftover hair. :-/. Was going to complain had it not been cleaned by regular service, but it was.

Overall, nice stay and good property.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in mid-May; he was in town for a conference. The hotel was in a good location and clean but the staff, especially the concierge staff (Amelia, Bilal and Amanda), were the best! From the warm greetings every time we went into the concierge lounge, the wonderful conversations and great service, I would go back to stay at the hotel just for them. Great job!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing