We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
New Jerzy, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Hotel to stay in”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for work and it's an excellent hotel to stay. Construction work is complete and there no more noise. Upon check-in I had to wait 5 mins as the folks at the counter were helping guests with local sites/restaurants to go to. Please get another concierge booth for that. I want to check in and go to my room, not wait. Rooms were clean and Marriott Standard. As a Gold Member I had access to the lounge area. Food was good, but gets crowded mornings and evenings. Staff need to enforce policy where folks bring in their kids/uncle/aunt etc. There is a policy that allows ONE other person to enter with the eligible member who has access. Start limiting or charging folks that check in with more than one person in their party. Trying to work up there in the lounge area is impossible with noise. Staff at lounge area, gym, pool were all great. Parking is a costly, but park on the main street for free. Local restaurant walkable is minimal. It is a 10 min drive to La Jolla Beach area which is super nice and convenient.

Room Tip: High Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NiteSurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    296
    103
    35
    31
See reviews for
235
154
39
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deptford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my wife were here last year and we came back this year because of the nice hotel, close our daughter's house and the nicest staffs at the premises. We were so pleased for being given all the amenities we requested considering there was a lot going on (conventions, weddings, etc.)
What impress us most is some of their employees even recognized us from last year and made us feel very special (Amelia, Bilal and Amanda). Were treated like VIPs and can't wait to come again next year.

Room Tip: High floors and enjoy the views of La Jolla.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good thought if this does not cut the maids wages.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgbalcit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited the La Jolla Marriott again, this time it was for the Memorial Day weekend. Check in was easy, I was there early at 11am or so, but I told them I knew i was early and would be back after visiting the beach but wanted to request a double bed, which they did.
Rooms were nice, fairly standard. My wife liked the toiletries. Views were nice.

The location is a bit away from the beach, but actually we like the location, it is right across from the mall that has Corner Bakery, which we like, and a PF Changs is just down the street. We also ate at the hotel by the firepit, and the food was tasty.

Everything was nice with the hotel. The only negatives were the noise by the pool late, as we were on the pool side, and the fools next door were making a bunch of noise past midnight that woke me up. We have two young girls, we are asleep well before midnight, so that was irritating. Luckily, they weren't noisy for long after waking me up. This happened one night, but not the other thankfully. I can't really mark the hotel off for things like that which are out of their control, and i am glad the noise stopped fairly quickly.

I would recommend this place, it is very convenient and the service has been good.

Room Tip: Away from the pool is quieter, if that is what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew91101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night with a good deal from hotels.com. Location was good, and staff were friendly. We did not get to use the pool. Room was ok, but I don't think I'd pay any more than what I did ($108) for it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahlan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been here for several

days, and all aspects of the staff and property have been excellent. But.... Have to do a special shout out to Amanda in the Lounge on the Conceirage floor-- exceptional service and attention to detail. Also to Zack in valet for doing wind sprints to get our car, faster than the speed of light! We will be back!!! The Rubin's

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLJrubyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent four-night stay at this hotel. The location is great. 15 minutes from zoo and just 10 minutes to the gorgeous coast. The property seems to have been recently remodeled and they did a superb job. We had a corner king with very nice balcony. The lobby bar opens out onto a very inviting patio and fire pit and has very good food. Concierge lounge was very good and had excellent service. Everyone was very friendly and we would most definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mujd96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location is great for the coming and going business person in the La Jolla/San Diego area. Also the hotel offers a large conference hall with all up to date amenities for more technical meetings. Talking about Presentaions and Tv showing. Definetly a good spot for business.

Room Tip: Book months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
1,296 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
1.9 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing