We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I use this hotel for business trips to San Diego, very close to businesses and restaurants. Special kudos to Bilal and Amelia in the concierge lounge! They always come through when in a hurry with prompt service, and are always helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 4 days in the Presidential suite. It was not very presidential. There was a tiny refrigerator, no glasses for the bar, no utensils and the ice maker on the floor did not work. When we requested glasses and ice, we were charged for them.

The room itself was nice and the attached patio was great. the people were all friendly and helpful, especially at the front desk. The ladies in the concierge lounge - Amelia, Bilal and Amanda- were great. The hotel is good, just don't waste your money on the presidential suite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gawcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear gawcc,
Thank you for your honest and constructive comments following your recent stay with us. I apologize that the presidential suite did not meet your expectations. I will immediately look into the points you have raised to see if it is something we can correct. On a positive note, I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our property. Our team takes great pride in ensuring our guests have an exceptional stay so I can't wait to share your flattering compliments with Amanda, Bilal, and Amelia! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here last year when there was construction work going on. I stayed here a couple of weeks ago with my family and we were impressed. The staff was amazing and the rooms were very nice. This is one of my favorite hotels, I highly recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obrend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Were there late June with a family wedding rate, very good value. Hotel booked so for first night wife and I shared two queen beds with 2 sons in 20s, then moved to our own king room. Restaurant breakfast offers menu and buffet options, and there is a delightful Starbucks in the restaurant itself with burrito and cereal breakfast options as well. Can order food and coffee from either part. Staff friendly and accommodating. Beautiful out to her area for a bar or breakfast eating. Parking costs $20 per night, $25 for valet parking. Only complaint is that Wi-Fi is not free in the room, although available in the lobby, breakfast, and bar area. Would very definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank richardl168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for work and it's an excellent hotel to stay. Construction work is complete and there no more noise. Upon check-in I had to wait 5 mins as the folks at the counter were helping guests with local sites/restaurants to go to. Please get another concierge booth for that. I want to check in and go to my room, not wait. Rooms were clean and Marriott Standard. As a Gold Member I had access to the lounge area. Food was good, but gets crowded mornings and evenings. Staff need to enforce policy where folks bring in their kids/uncle/aunt etc. There is a policy that allows ONE other person to enter with the eligible member who has access. Start limiting or charging folks that check in with more than one person in their party. Trying to work up there in the lounge area is impossible with noise. Staff at lounge area, gym, pool were all great. Parking is a costly, but park on the main street for free. Local restaurant walkable is minimal. It is a 10 min drive to La Jolla Beach area which is super nice and convenient.

Room Tip: High Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NiteSurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my wife were here last year and we came back this year because of the nice hotel, close our daughter's house and the nicest staffs at the premises. We were so pleased for being given all the amenities we requested considering there was a lot going on (conventions, weddings, etc.)
What impress us most is some of their employees even recognized us from last year and made us feel very special (Amelia, Bilal and Amanda). Were treated like VIPs and can't wait to come again next year.

Room Tip: High floors and enjoy the views of La Jolla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgbalcit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited the La Jolla Marriott again, this time it was for the Memorial Day weekend. Check in was easy, I was there early at 11am or so, but I told them I knew i was early and would be back after visiting the beach but wanted to request a double bed, which they did.
Rooms were nice, fairly standard. My wife liked the toiletries. Views were nice.

The location is a bit away from the beach, but actually we like the location, it is right across from the mall that has Corner Bakery, which we like, and a PF Changs is just down the street. We also ate at the hotel by the firepit, and the food was tasty.

Everything was nice with the hotel. The only negatives were the noise by the pool late, as we were on the pool side, and the fools next door were making a bunch of noise past midnight that woke me up. We have two young girls, we are asleep well before midnight, so that was irritating. Luckily, they weren't noisy for long after waking me up. This happened one night, but not the other thankfully. I can't really mark the hotel off for things like that which are out of their control, and i am glad the noise stopped fairly quickly.

I would recommend this place, it is very convenient and the service has been good.

Room Tip: Away from the pool is quieter, if that is what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew91101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £105 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing