We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good location and great value”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick trip to San Diego. Very nice modern hotel with big rooms and great views. Pool was nice and welcome great due to being on the road so long. Breakfast came with room rate and was very well done both from menus and buffet, Very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    293
    101
    35
    30
See reviews for
232
152
39
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

To me the valet are the face of the hotel, they are the first and last person you see during your stay. The valet went above and beyond to assist me during my stay. My husband is a disabled veteran, and we were traveling with our 17 month old son which left most of the heavy letting to me. The valet continuously offered to help me with my bags, stroller even diaper bag. They had my car outside waiting for me every morning promptly at 8.

Myles Dalton Streinhardt, Kevin Brady, Matt and Zack truly made our stay easier and more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a lovely lunch at the Marriott yesterday! The grilled fish tacos were fabulous, fresh, and tasty, and the service was awesome! Our waitress, Elisha, was very friendly, professional and attentive and made sure that we felt welcome and had a wonderful meal. Go, and make sure you ask for Elisha's section!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jblue74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I use this hotel for business trips to San Diego, very close to businesses and restaurants. Special kudos to Bilal and Amelia in the concierge lounge! They always come through when in a hurry with prompt service, and are always helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 4 days in the Presidential suite. It was not very presidential. There was a tiny refrigerator, no glasses for the bar, no utensils and the ice maker on the floor did not work. When we requested glasses and ice, we were charged for them.

The room itself was nice and the attached patio was great. the people were all friendly and helpful, especially at the front desk. The ladies in the concierge lounge - Amelia, Bilal and Amanda- were great. The hotel is good, just don't waste your money on the presidential suite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear gawcc,
Thank you for your honest and constructive comments following your recent stay with us. I apologize that the presidential suite did not meet your expectations. I will immediately look into the points you have raised to see if it is something we can correct. On a positive note, I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our property. Our team takes great pride in ensuring our guests have an exceptional stay so I can't wait to share your flattering compliments with Amanda, Bilal, and Amelia! We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here last year when there was construction work going on. I stayed here a couple of weeks ago with my family and we were impressed. The staff was amazing and the rooms were very nice. This is one of my favorite hotels, I highly recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obrend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Were there late June with a family wedding rate, very good value. Hotel booked so for first night wife and I shared two queen beds with 2 sons in 20s, then moved to our own king room. Restaurant breakfast offers menu and buffet options, and there is a delightful Starbucks in the restaurant itself with burrito and cereal breakfast options as well. Can order food and coffee from either part. Staff friendly and accommodating. Beautiful out to her area for a bar or breakfast eating. Parking costs $20 per night, $25 for valet parking. Only complaint is that Wi-Fi is not free in the room, although available in the lobby, breakfast, and bar area. Would very definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing