We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistenly great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Consistenly great service”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the cleanliness of the rooms, the hospitality of the front desk staff, and the friendliness and accommodating attitudes of the concierge staff, the Marriott La Jolla is definitely my top choice hotel in San Diego. Amanda in the concierge lounge remembers your family member's names and welcomes everyone with a warm smile. She is exceptionally pleasant and is able to manage the concierge lounge with ease by herself, even when crowded with guests. We all feel that we're attended to personally. What a gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    293
    101
    35
    30
See reviews for
232
152
39
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The location and quality of the rooms at the Marriott are fine. I was also very impressed with the helpfulness of the reception staff. Unfortunately, because we had such a nice lunch at the Marriott with the soccer team we were traveling with, we decided to go back for dinner. Big Mistake!!! It took us over two hours to get our food, and when we did finally get it, some of the orders were cold and some were missing. We were all starving and asked for bread to tie us over, but it never came. Finally, we gave up and asked for the manager. The service at dinner was unbelievably bad. I might stay here again, but never again for dinner!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fieldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Fieldtravels,
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us! It was our pleasure to be hosting you and your whole soccer team so I regret to hear about your experience in our restaurant. I am happy to hear that you had such a nice lunch and that our front desk was able to be so helpful but I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at dinner. I can assure you this is not a typical and that we have taken the necessary action to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. I would love to invite you back to enjoy our restaurant on your next stay to regain your trust! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed over the 4th of July weekend with family.

OK hotel: small lobby, small lobby bar, tiny swimming pool. Rooms were OK, gym was very good. Breakfast room was windowless and quite dull and had to wait to be seated not because it was full but because the staff could not set tables quick enough. I wonder if Marriott decided on purpose to make this hotel a limited version of its other properties. Staff is helpful. Slightly surprised that other reviewers are sooo complementary of this or that other staff member

Will probably stay elsewhere next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseLuisContreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear JoseLuisContreras,
Thank you so much for staying with us over the holiday weekend and posting a response about your experience. I sincerely regret to hear that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Marriott hotels have provided for you. I can assure you that we have addressed your valued feedback with our Food and Beverage team who will look to provide a much higher level of service in the future. On a more positive note, we are glad to know that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick trip to San Diego. Very nice modern hotel with big rooms and great views. Pool was nice and welcome great due to being on the road so long. Breakfast came with room rate and was very well done both from menus and buffet, Very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

To me the valet are the face of the hotel, they are the first and last person you see during your stay. The valet went above and beyond to assist me during my stay. My husband is a disabled veteran, and we were traveling with our 17 month old son which left most of the heavy letting to me. The valet continuously offered to help me with my bags, stroller even diaper bag. They had my car outside waiting for me every morning promptly at 8.

Myles Dalton Streinhardt, Kevin Brady, Matt and Zack truly made our stay easier and more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a lovely lunch at the Marriott yesterday! The grilled fish tacos were fabulous, fresh, and tasty, and the service was awesome! Our waitress, Elisha, was very friendly, professional and attentive and made sure that we felt welcome and had a wonderful meal. Go, and make sure you ask for Elisha's section!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jblue74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I use this hotel for business trips to San Diego, very close to businesses and restaurants. Special kudos to Bilal and Amelia in the concierge lounge! They always come through when in a hurry with prompt service, and are always helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing