We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was our first visit and liked it even more than anticipated. We had a room with view of golf course, which was great. The staff is so friendly and helpful with any questions. It is elegant but not stuffy in any way. We definitely would like to return.
We really enjoyed the hiking and my husband enjoyed the golf. We enjoyed breakfast in the main dining room on Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of golf course and a porch which was great. I did not see any of the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed at the Lodge at Torrey Pines for two nights during a 7-day trek from San Diego to Sacramento. The best thing about this hotel is the setting. The golf course is world-class and the Torrey Pines state park with hiking trails to the Pacific is fabulous. Our room was very dark - basic 2-queen room - with an east view of the trees. The bathroom accessories were very nice, the aromatherapy spray for the pillows an extra treat, and the room was spotless. The front desk staff was professional and extremely polite. We ate dinner there one night and it was among the best meals we had in California during our 7 day trip. The waiter at the restaurant was professional and very helpful with selections. The pool is heated and the surrounding deck is spacious with an overlook of the lovely golf course and Pacific (can't see the ocean from the pool). The hotel is a very short drive from central La Jolla but set apart in a private and serene setting. I would most definitely stay at the Lodge again! We didn't play golf, but if you plan to play golf while in the San Diego area, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I booked rooms here at very short notice because the Hilton torrey Pines was booked. It is like walking into an arts and crafts paradise. Beautiful facility with billion dollar views. We had a courtyard room but found our balcony to be a tranquil retreat. Our room was very comfortable and I especially enjoyed the sage and rosemary bath products. The service from housekeeping to the restaurants to the concierge to golf services was excellent. We will definitely return

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our courtyard rooms. The ocean front rooms are spectacular but since we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

If you are willing to pay higher room rates for a 5 Star Hotel stay, once in a while or just even once, this is the place. In a quiet sort of way, most all parts of the Hotel are understated elegance. The original greeting from the "front", car guys, bellman, etc., was absolutely first class. You always felt like you were getting your money's worth. Nothing in the stay was disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenixphil16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great hotel, great design. Helpful concierge. Loved the location. Very tranquil setting. Restaurants were great also. Particularly enjoyed breakfast - consistent preparation. Service was outstanding. Would book again next time in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njw_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I've stayed here four times... Can't wait to go back. Gorgeous grounds right on one of the world's most spectacular golf courses. The food is to die for! Even the breakfast room service was first class. Of all of the 5 star resorts in San Diego, this is by far the best. Service is outstanding and the hikes on the Torrey Pines state reserve are literally right next door. Ocean views from the cliffs are GORGEOUS! One of California's best kept secrets! I live in Coronado but when we want a stay-cation we go directly to the Lodge at Torrey Pines!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yougobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Maybe it's because I'm an arts and crafts lover, but from the minute I drove up, I knew I was going to love the experience. And The Lodge did not disappoint. I was joining a grope of about 250, so not intimate and I was not a "special guest". But you would never know it. The staff could not have been more gracious always looking out to make sure you knew where you were going. The room was spacious and very thoughtfully designed and appointed. The public spaces, ground and views were knock out gorgeous. I spent time looking at the beautiful antique furniture, pottery, glass and paintings. All worthy of a museum.
Only wish I could have shared this with my wife.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £292 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 15 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazinein 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the golf course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing