We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Escape !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Escape !”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Lodge at Torrey Pines in early October, 2013, on a recommendation from a friend, on our way to a wedding in San Diego.. What a great escape ! From the beautiful ocean views, the option to play Torrey Pines golf course, the dining experience at both the main restaurant and "The Grill", to the incredible service from everyone, especially the sommelier, was an experience that should not be missed. My wife loved the spa, while I was playing golf. A well deserved 5 star rating !
Gary D

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    175
    61
    19
    8
See reviews for
223
421
26
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Spent the weekend at this beautiful hotel for a quick get-away. Chose the hotel because of its proximity to Torrey Pines State Beach - I love staying places where I can walk out the door and wander for miles, be it in nature or around a city. I was pretty much gobsmacked when we walked in because the beautiful pictures don't do justice to this place. Fine craftsmanship throughout the property. Exquisite and friendly service. Relaxing and rejuvenating.

I splurged on a palisades king ocean view and it was fabulous. However when I looked at the garden that the less-expensive garden view rooms offered, it would be a fine choice as well: the landscape reflects numerous native species of grasses and trees, it would be a lovely thing to have outside one's window.

I chose The Lodge (rather than the much less expensive adjacent Hilton) because of stunning design of the hotel and because the restaurant A.R. Valentien (i.e., not The Grill, which serves conventionally grown food) offers farm-to-table organic food: including breakfast - that is hard to find! The food at A.R. Valentien was wonderful and worth the extra money compared to The Grill. And the breakfast was divine - there is nothing a Hilton could do to even touch the quality of the food here.

I am glad I chose to stay at the Lodge, I would return here in a heartbeat.

P.S. The hotel is under the flight path of the morning air maneuvers from the nearby AFB: occasionally we were treated to F-19s flying overhead on their way out. Even though I cherish peace and quiet I was THRILLED to see these incredible planes! It was not constant, it was in-frequent enough to remain an exciting novelty.

The hike to the beach was great: beautiful wind-carved sandstone and lovely native plants. I read a review complaining about "having to drive to the beach", but people without mobility issues can easily walk there and back.

Room Tip: I splurged on a palisades king ocean view and it was fabulous. However when I looked at the garden t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulaori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Lodge at Torrey Pine in La Jolla is a beautiful hotel located almost on the cliffs over looking the Pacific Ocean. From the ocean facing rooms or the bar or restaurant you can see the famous Torrey Pines golf course and the ocean. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The food is great and the staff could not be nicer.

Room Tip: Based on price we get a garden facing room on the 5th floor. It is great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We (my family of three) attended a meeting held at the Lodge at Torrey Pines in late September of 2013. The property is stunningly beautiful. The rooms are large with all the comforts of home. The only complaint about the rooms was that they were very dark even during the day. Maybe this was because our rooms were on the backside of the Lodge. We also had no cellular service for our iPhones in our rooms. This was a bit of an issue but not a real serious problem. Any time I needed to make a call I just went to the pool or bar area. The food was very good. I actually think it was better for the events connected with the meeting than it was in the main restaurant. The service at the resort was awesome. Everyone was very professional. We did not golf but some of the people attending the meeting did and had an enjoyable experience. We had an opportunity to take in the near State Nature Reserve where we watched the surfers early one morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeirdreWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Got married here and come back every year for our anniversary. Its an amazing place and you won't be disappointed. Also, the drug store burger from the snack bar is the best burger you'll ever have! Also check out the main bar with the fireplace, a great way to spend a fall afternoon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We were recommended the Lodge by AMEX and they were correct. Excellent lodge, food, rooms and service. Rooms were very comfortable as well as the bed. A really class act! This is a great place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Talon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I have stayed at a number of very nice hotel properties globally, both for business and pleasure, and have to say this is right up there with the best. From the large rooms, to the architecture, to the fireplaces, the hotel was extremely comfortable and inviting. The food (at both The Grill and A.R. Valentien) and service were also top notch. The Lodge is located next door to the Torrey Pines State Reserve - which offers numerous hiking trails with terrific views of the Pacific - and is close to the the towns of Del Mar and La Jolla with their shops and restaurants. This is a great place for couples, small business groups, and of course golfers! But even if you don't play (which we don't), you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a balcony overlooking the golf course - grab it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dapMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing