We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at The Lodge at Torrey Pines to celebrate my husband's birthday. We're San Diego locals who had previously dined at the resort's signature restaurant, A.R. Valentien, and this time wanted to be able to enjoy the wonderful wine pairings and not have to drive home.
The first sign this was going to be great stay was the friendly bellman who obviously and sincerely loved the resort and was proud of his job. The staff were all friendly, helpful and caring.

We opted for a top floor, ocean view room and it is worth the upgrade. The room was large and well appointed with a balcony and ocean view. Of note, this is not a "beach resort", it is not on the sand, nor does it have a "beach resort" vibe. We did not make it into the spa, but the pool is large. The building is Craftsman style (it is relatively new, but looks like it could have been built in 1910). We don't golf, but enjoyed playing croquet, and exploring the grounds. The inner courtyard, which some reviewers consider a weed patch contains a naturalistic garden with many native plants. Just a short walk North of the resort is Torrey Pines State Park with hiking trails that you can hike down to the beach. The resort offered a complementary sunset nature hike, but we did not take it and instead explored on our own.

When I made our reservation I was asked if we were celebrating a special occasion, and 1/2 bottle was chilled champagne greeted us as we opened the door to our room. What a nice surprise. My husband was so impressed! That's one the features I noticed about this resort, except for the extra charge for parking ($22/day self-park) they don't nickel-and-dime guests with lots of extra charges like some hotels: no resort fee, no charge in-room bottled water and even a choice of newspapers.

Overall, a high quality, luxury resort with a management and staff who obviously care.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    170
    61
    19
    7
See reviews for
219
410
25
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Very warm and inviting golf resort. The staff really make this hotel special. They're very attentive and extremely helpful. The food is good, not great, and I'd characterize it as solid American fare. Good wine list.

The spa is excellent and hotel is conveniently located near many SD sites (zoo, SeaWorld). Although I would not call it a family resort it is fairly kid friendly. A modest pool close to the main building discourages rambunctious kids.

The ocean is fantastic and easily in view from many rooms. Make sure you have an ocean-facing room on a top floor.

The mission-style, Arts & Crafts decor with many Stickley pieces is warm and a feast for the eyes. One can live in this decor and never tire of it.

My complaints are two. First, as I write this review I am gazing at the course from my room. A crew of workers are operating noisy machinery as they set up the grandstands for the Farmers Insurance Open. The noise and yelling has really spoiled paradise. This has been going on all day for 4 days and shows no sign of stopping. Lots of yelling in Spanish. See picture.

A smaller point: their internet policy is frustrating. There is a free low speed service that must be renewed daily. The high speed costs around ten dollars a day. In the business center, you must pay 7.95 per 15 minutes. This is really passé, and reminds me of a mid-tier European hotel.

All in all a beautiful property, but with some opportunities for improvement.



Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
239 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I'm not a big fan of golf resorts because of all the focus on golf-related activities and we're not golfers. However, we chose this hotel because it does have an ocean view over the Torrey Pines golf course, provided you have a course-facing room. Some reasons for not rating this hotel as excellent:

1. Room wasn't ready at the time of our arrival, had to wait almost an hour to get into the room.
2. The hotel doesn't have breakfast service in the main building of the hotel. We had to walk outside to the Grill, adjacent to the pro shop and full of golfers. Fairly small restaurant for the size of the hotel.
3. That same Grill charged me $2.90 for a San Diego Union Tribune newspaper after the hotel failed to honor my request of having one delivered to my room. Considering the prices in the Grill, this seemed a little chintzy.

On the plus side, they acknowledged that it was a special occasion and did give us a split of champagne.

Room Tip: Ask for a full course view, high floor, you get the ocean as an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohtobeinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you were still able to have a tranquil and enjoyable stay at The Lodge at Torrey Pines. We apologize your room wasn't ready at the time of your arrival. Your arrival did not live up to our standards. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams work expeditiously to have all rooms ready by 4:00 p.m. and we apologize that we came up short in this case. We are looking into why you encountered a delay.

Our signature restaurant, A.R. Valentien, does indeed only serve breakfast on weekends. The Grill, meanwhile, serves breakfast seven days a week or another choice that many guest choose is to enjoy room service on their balcony for a special treat.

We are surprised to hear about you not being able to acquire a San Diego Union-Tribune. That newspaper, as well as The Los Angeles Times and USA Today, is always complimentary for our guests through the concierge. We apologize for the breakdown in communication and have already remedied the situation so it never happens again. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention and we hope you'll visit us again so we can give you a much better experience than you had from this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for a short vacation while house hunting. The property is unparalleled, just stunning. Very good service, the staff is very attentive and accommodating. The valet guys were awesome, made our mornings being greeted by cheerfulness. The rooms were very stately and elegant. Our air conditioner didn't work in our first room so we were promptly moved to another room that had one that worked. Our first room was larger and I liked the location better because it was much quieter but we needed the air since it was extremely humid while we were visiting. Oh well.... But I would stay here again definitely.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gayle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at TLaTP over Christmas. The Lodge was quite busy but it mostly didn't show, as the facility is large and rambling. Service was good -- very attentive. The rooms were excellent -- large, with fantastic herbal bath products. The location is beautiful, and very close to the amazing Torrey Pines State Park, although most people at the Lodge seemed to be there for golf. The only negative was that, upon showing up at the only restaurant open for breakfast were made to feel foolish for not having a reservation. The restaurant was full, "with a long waiting list", which was highly disappointing for a place of this caliber. At the front desk the manager informed us that "reservations are recommended", which would have been important information to share at check in. Overall, a great lodge, but breakfast is mismanaged.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 99protraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your comments and we're happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location, your room, and the overall service. Because our signature restaurant A.R. Valentien is only open for breakfast on weekends, The Grill is indeed the only option - aside from room service - Monday through Friday. The holiday season has been a busy time of year for us and the world-renown Torrey Pines Golf Course, but that isn't an excuse for The Grill being unavailable to our valued guests. You're right, communication should have been better at check-in and we always want to give dining priorities to our guests. We have met with our guest service team members to make sure this never falls through the cracks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Lodge proved to be the perfect venue for an extended Thanksgiving weekend for my wife and me. The setting of the place right on the golf course is alone fantastic. But the interior also is lovely and romantic, especially when enhanced by an aromatic floor-to-ceiling Christmas tree and poinsetta plants generously scattered throughout the property.

The service here is at the far right-hand end of the bell curve. From the servers at the Lodge's two restaurants to the reception desk to the bellman, the entire staff was extraordinarily friendly and professional, engaging with us at a personal level and making us feel like houseguests.

The prix-fixe Thanksgiving menu offers several options for each course. We traditionalists opted for the turkey, and it was the best we've ever had in a restaurant - magically flavorful and moist. In fact, with the exception of a couple of entrees (swordfish and sable) our first night whose preparation was overblown for our taste, we thought the food at both restaurants was excellent. Portable heat lamps on the terrace of A. R. Valentien permit outdoor dining, complete with a great view - once we discovered this we never ate inside again.

Our Reserve room was a bit on the dark side and I thought the carpeting was drab (my wife disagreed on the latter point), but it had an attractive terrace which we took ample advantage of. A minor suggestion to the hotel would be to make "Please Make Up My Room" signs available so that housekeeping could be scheduled at convenient times - on three of our four days at the hotel our room was being made up at the very time we wanted to access it after breakfast so that we could get started on the day's adventures, so we had to figure out a way to kill 10 or 15 minutes until they were done. (On our third day we thought we could outfox housekeeping by leaving the morning newspaper hanging from our doorknob so they would think we were still sleeping, but they somehow (an NSA tie-in...?) saw right through the ruse and came in anyway, neatly depositing the paper on our coffee table.)

A number of trails through the Torrey Pines State Reserve are within easy walking distance of the hotel. We hiked on one of them (Broken Hill), which ultimately leads to a black beach, with spectacular views en route. We look forward to trying the other trails when we return to the Lodge (which will be soon!).

Note: You don't have to be a golfer (neither my wife nor I are) to love this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank villagesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Lodge. What a beautiful resort, just an outstanding property. There really wasn't a single thing we were unhappy with. The staff was very friendly an accommodating, from the front desk, to the gift shop. The concierge was helpful in finding us a place to eat on Thanksgiving day. A gentleman by the pool noticed my son was cold and went out of his way to get a towel to wrap him up in, then offered us waters after our hike to the beach. The bellman offered us waters after I asked directions to the entrance to the beach hike. The Grill was amazing and affordable. Everything truly was above and beyond, we've stayed in many nice hotels, but this one was comparable to the service we've gotten on the SilverSea cruises we've been on. Top notch! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing