We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, Excellent personal service, Nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
453 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, Excellent personal service, Nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Was last here about a decade ago, and it's just as nice.

You are greeted by your name, and everyone is helpful. The rooms with the fireplaces and ocean views are nicer, but all are pretty roomy.

The lounge is quite nice, as is the sitting area by the fireplace in the lobby.

And the South Course is legendary. Very reminiscent of Pebble Beach.

The morning and afternoon fog can get quite dense. Keep this in mind when making plans.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzzzdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    174
    61
    19
    7
See reviews for
222
416
26
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We enjoyed our conference at the Lodge. It is beautiful and inviting. We were welcomed by attentive staff and a cozy fire in the lobby. The rooms are large and have nice touches like Tiffany lamps. Each evening we had turn down service with a nice added treat like chocolate or tea. When leaving the property we were always asked if we needed directions. When we returned we were welcomed by name and offered bottled water. The sunsets are an added bonus!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianawrdh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed 4 days at The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The golf, weather, staff and food were great. I had room 429 looking out at the ocean. The golf courses are on the ocean with beautiful views. I even liked the Navy jets flying overhead.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaPug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very close to the golf course. If you are into golfing, very nice and convenient facility to stay at. Has really a lodge feeling into it. In my humble opinion this place is best for a mountain resort type of place with wooden ceilings and fireplaces all over. Room was very nice, clean and well maintained. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moitravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spent a relaxing four days here. Rooms are large and comfortable, although the decor is a little too "lodge-y" for my taste. We had to go outside through a covered walkway to reach our room, the smell of the trees and plants is wonderful! Grounds are beautiful; sure wish there was a way to wander around the golf course as a non-golfer!! We walked to the state park and down to the beach which was lovely. Spent a little time in the spa and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband I stayed here on a recent visit to San Diego. The hotel is comfortable and much attention was paid to detail. The craftsmanship is exquisite and it has been adorned with Stickley furniture and art nouveau pieces on the wall. Our guest room was large and comfortable and we had a nice balcony overlooking a natural looking garden area. The property was beautiful, but unfortunately they were setting up for a golf tournament so much of the property was not accessible to walk around and the views of the ocean were obstructed. However, for the amount of construction happening, it was rather quiet. This was a quiet respite but still very accessible to shopping and dining in both La Jolla and San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

i've stayed at the lodge twice now, and the last time was even better than the first. had a room with a view of the 18th hole and the ocean. the food (at the "less formal") restaurant was superb - and they even stayed open and waited for me, because my flight was late due to fog! when i arrived, my friend was waiting for me (alone in the restaurant!), and as i was seated, our meals appeared - well-prepared, fresh, hot. we never felt rushed - it was almost like a scene out of a novella! i had driven to the lodge in scads of fog (this after the plane circled the airport for 45 minutes waiting to land), and every bit of stress melted away with the luxurious setting, food, and service. from the valets to the waitstaff to the front desk, everyone was nice (without being obsequious). cocktails were on-the-mark, and i didn't feel out of place even when i was solo. oh - and we walked to a great hiking spot from the lodge, which was also fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing