We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Scenery!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The lodge is situated along the golf course with the Pacific Ocean in the background. Even though the rooms are far from the ocean it is still beautiful. The rooms and balconies are very spacious. Started out with a courtyard view and upgraded to a mostly ocean view room (not directly facing the Pacific), totally worth it! The ocean view room had a fireplace which was so nice! The staff are wonderful there. We only ate breakfast there and it was very good...the waffle with pecan butter was awesome! The spa was great as well!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view or partial ocean view...you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripNAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    174
    61
    19
    7
See reviews for
222
416
26
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was expecting a large hotel, but The Lodge at Torrey Pines is a smaller craftsman lodge that makes you feel comfortable and quaint. Everything is close by: restaurant, pool, large grass area for parties and a gorgeous golf course. The golf course front the ocean and the Lodge is situated behind the golf course so rooms Re not ON the beach. The restaurant serves excellent food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The Lodge at Torrey Pines is beautifully constructed in the early 20th century craftsman style, the rooms are well furnished with stylish, comfortable beds and chairs. Facilities for our business meetings were convenient and group meals were well prepared and tasty. It's a moderately sized facility with beautiful views of the sea and everything conveniently within reach. We loved it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MartySFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights as part of our Wedding Anniversary trip taking in the Californian coast, although as my husband is a very very keen golfer it was also on his wish list to play the course at Torrey Pines! It was initially quite difficult to find the hotel as it is not well sign posted off the main road, but that is also part of its charm as it is tucked away from any noise. The Lodge has a very interesting Arts & Crafts style to it, although this does make for dark bedrooms. We had a lovely large room with a balcony overlooking the pine courtyard which was very peaceful. The service everywhere at The Lodge was excellent, the staff are friendly & very helpful. We ate at the Grill & had an excellent dinner, great burgers! The courtesy car was a great bonus in the hotel & we used this facility a couple of times to venture in to La Jolla itself. We enjoyed a lovely trail walk through the pines to the ocean, that the hotel provide twice a day, with Rachel, one of the spa staff who was knowledgeable on the area. La Jolla is easy to drive to from Torrey Pines for the beach,restaurants & shops. The only negative to the hotel is the ludicrous cost of valet parking! It was expensive even parking the car yourself...I'm not sure where guests are supposed to park without incurring a large fee? We would love to return here as we enjoyed our stay enormously even with the parking costs!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a peaceful aspect to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

As it happens, the Torrey pine is the perfect tree for the Arts & Crafts style, all interesting curls and stylized pine cones. Staying at The Lodge was a high aesthetic experience. My husband and I spent 2 nights there in March and enjoyed every minute enormously. After reading 30 reviews on Trip Advisor saying "ocean/golf course view is expensive but worth it" we sprang for a sea-side room. Totally worth it! Being able to sit on the balcony and watch the sunset--fabulous. Appointments--fabulous. Total bill--most we've ever paid for two nights lodging (and golf for my husband). But worth it. Totally worth it.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AAScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at The Lodge at Torrey Pines for 6 nights late April 2014 and had an excellent experience.

Our party was only our immediate family, 2 adults and 3 kids (ages 8, 6, and 4).

We chose the hotel based on positive Trip Advisor feedback (we had never heard of this hotel before) and its location in the middle of several attractions we planned to visit in greater San Diego (San Diego Zoo [20 mins south], Legoland [25 mins north], USS Midway [20 mins south], and Disneyland [1.5 hours north].

The service was very strong and personable. The front desk staff were eager to please and courteous. The uniformed bellman was a nice touch and gave this Craftsman-style hotel a hint of yesteryear (and gave us a great tip to self-park our car based on where our room location was; cheaper and faster than the valet!). The housekeeping staff were helpful when our 4-year old daughter wet the bed; they brought a rollaway cot straight away and seemed genuinely happy to help. The sundry shop off the lobby is reasonably stocked with newspapers and treats and the clerk was very pleasant and helpful the several times we visited. The Grill waitstaff (the Grill is the more casual of the 2 hotel restaurants) were mostly efficient, although things seemed disorganized at times with 2-3 waiters co-covering our table during the 5 or 6 meals we ate there (usually breakfast). While the food was good for a hotel casual restaurant, it was expensive. Unless you need a huge breakfast or are about to tee off, go off-site and go to Starbucks instead. The hosts at The Grill seemed inexperienced. The Grill is a long-ish walk for the rooms that are on the south end of the hotel. We did not dine at the nicer of the 2 restaurants so have no comment.

The pool was large and clean. During the week we were visiting there was a business group taking up much of the hotel; we were the only ones in the pool the 3 times we swam.

The physical plant of the hotel is very nice. Craftmans style. Well maintained. The hotel seemed very new and fresh even though it's been there ~10 years (according to one employee).

There is a pleasant fire/smoky aroma within much of the hotel from the fireplaces. There are 2 fireplaces in the lobby area and we were told 2/3 of the rooms have fireplaces (although neither of our 2 connecting rooms did). We enjoyed the smoky scent when walking down the corridors to and from activities. It was not overpowering, so it should not be a concern for most unless you have an extreme sensitivity.

We did not golf at either Torrey Pines course during our stay, but the clubhouse is steps away (literally opposite the Grill), so it's a phenomenal location for those looking to golf at TP. Many of the other guests seems to be golfers. (We did see a few families at the Grill at mealtime, although did not have a chance to socialize.)

The hotel is located a 6-minute drive from one of La Jolla's busier commercial districts with restaurants, grocery stores, Starbucks, and shops. It was not walk-able, but very easy with a car.

Overall, we would stay here again for an identical itinerary trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking west, towards the pacific. If you don't care about the view, ask to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDad789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
634 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was lucky enough to stay here for a works conference - wow!

The hotel is large with extensive grounds containing 2 world leading golf courses (the South Course held the 2008 US Open I believe)

The hotel is luxurious although I found the rooms quite dark with so much dark wood furniture in the rooms. My room was large but enjoyed no view at all.

Service was impeccable. Food options plentiful and all I tried were good if a little expensive.

Expensive but a lovely treat for someone special in your life!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing