We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to stay there again”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My daughter wanted to stay near the Torrey Pines golf course as a special excursion when visiting in July as she is a golf enthusiast. We stayed 1 night and were so charmed, we never left the property until it was time to check out. The Craftsman decor, service, location on the edge of the Pacific left no perfect detail undone. I have never encountered such service. We had delicious meals at the restaurants, the scenery was beautiful, but most charming to me was the beautiful Craftsman room, large, full of Tiffany style lamps (as was the rest of the Lodge) the bathroom was sumptuous Willliam Morris design. In a word, I was in heaven and I'm not that interested in golf.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humbleprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    180
    65
    19
    9
See reviews for
232
435
27
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just spent the weekend at The Lodge at Torrey Pines with my family and our dear friends to celebrate my birthday and their sons birthday. The trip was expertly organized by the birthday boy's mom who we lovingly refer to as "the cruise director". She (with the help of our travel agent) had the weekend set up to be a lovely, delicious, relaxing and fun trip! Here's a quick list of what was great, and what was not.

PROS:
- beautiful front entry
- great view from the jacuzzi
- cozy bar
- free cabanas for a fun day at the pool
- at least one nice pool attendant
- pretty good message therapists

CONS:
- rooms in the "annex" look like a souped up Best Western (room 533 specifically)
- no separate tub and shower and only one sink
- tiny balcony with no space to enjoy a room service breakfast
- uncomfortable beds with only 3 lumpy pillows
- completely incompetent concierge
- complimentary car service will take you to dinner and then cancel your return trip while you are eating
- "complementary shuttle service" is one car that seats up to four (if you cram it in) and reservations have to be made well in advance
- at least one pool attendant acts like you are asking for the moon if you come to the pool at 10:30 in the morning to find no towels and ask if there are any.
- $18 for a mediocre mimosa
- ants crawling on the outdoor tables at The Grill (and wait staff who don't really care)
- beach IS NOT easily accessible because the shortest hike is 1.5 miles and the shuttle service is not really meant to take you down to the beach.

Fortunately, we managed to have a great time anyway because the company couldn't have been more perfect and really, we can have fun just about anywhere.

Unfortunately, all of our "cruise director's" advanced planning was wasted because of the incompetent concierge service. The complimentary shuttle service that they advertise, is just one car shared by all hotel guests for which you must make a reservation. They did not tell her that. The easily accessible beach is a a mile down the road and then a half mile hike down a cliff, or a 2.5 mile walk down the road - and then back, because the "shuttle service" is probably booked.

Another disappointing aspect of the trip was the uneven service at the grill and poolside. The outdoor tables at the Grill were covered in ants. When we pointed this out to our server, she stood their dumbly and said "oh, really" with a surprised look on her face. Did she move us? No. Since we had already moved once to escape the ants, we decided to stick it out and hope that the food in the crevices of the table would keep them happy enough to stay off of our plates.

At the pool on Sunday morning at 10:35, there were no towels. When we asked the pool attendant he looked at us like we were asking him to throw rose petals at our feet and said (and I quote) "I'll see if we have any". He then proceeded to treat us like irritating children for the rest of our visit at the pool.

However, we had a lovely experience with one pool attendant with short blond hair. She went OUT of her way to make sure we were comfortable, was genuinely kind and really, exactly what one would expect from a hotel advertised as 5 star. Definitely management material. I wish I knew her name so that I could send her a great review directly.

The food was fine, but nothing special. We paid $395 a night for a double (two queens room 533) in the annex - the part of the hotel where you have to leave the main building and head out to the parking. Fortunately, they have loaded the courtyard with large pine trees so you don't see the cars too much. Unfortunately, you kind of feel like you're at a souped up Best Western by the time you get out there. Tub and shower are combined. Only one sink. Tiny TV. No place to have room service in the room and definitely not on the tiny balcony.

All in all I'd say there are much better for the money in the near vicinity.

Room Tip: make sure you are in the main building! The rooms above 529 were outside of the main building and fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kendy_and_Kariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, NY
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at Torrey Pines. The location worked well for us. The rooms were comfortable and exceptionally clean. A bit dark decor but that seems to be the theme of the lodge. I could not get reservations at the spa as it was a busy week but it looked amazing. Should have booked it ahead of time. I would give the staff 5 ++++ stars as everyone was amazing, and friendly to us. (Valet, restaurants, concierge, and desk staff were exceptional) Liked the Grill best for breakfast (loved the granola, blueberry pancakes). I am taking off the 5th star rating because I think the pool area could be better. The cushions were stained with bird droppings and sap. Got sap all over my arm and hands from the lounge chair, IMPOSSIBLE to get off!!) The service at the pool was slow and the girls couldn't even figure out how to make a simple ice coffee. Took over 30 mins to get anything and we only had an hour at the pool to spend as our days were busy. The pool area was not busy, only a few people there when we were. The grounds are beautiful but the ocean view is blocked by the golf course. They wouldn't let us walk thru the golf course paths to take a walk by the ocean, had to go over to the torrey pines state park area. Overall, nice experience. Probably better if you play golf but am glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just returned from a four night stay. The service at the Lodge is outstanding. Every member of the staff we talked to was courteous and extremely helpful.

The hotel is conveniently located and perfect if you are playing golf at Torrey Pines as we did. It also was a quick trip north to play courses in Carlsbad, or south to San Diego for dinning or other activities.

The food at the lodge was exceptional. Dinner at A.R. Valentien was excellent and a great value. The breakfast on the outdoor deck was fantastic, with some very unique items. (lemon chiffon pancakes, and short-ribs on grits) For a very casual meal The Grill by the putting green of the golf course was also good.

The only negative and it was not a big deal is the room we had was a little dark even with the curtains open and all the lights on. Also could have used a little more furniture as it was a large room. They were delivering new Keurig single cup coffee makers to the rooms on our last day, which was a nice addition to the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredbvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the lodge for four (4) nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff was absolutely fantastic, they were very friendly and receptive to all of our needs and concerns. Being right next to the golf course was also a big plus. All our meals were very good and priced comparable to area restaurants. Service was excellent. It was a great trip given to me from my wife for my 60th birthday.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of either the ocean or their gardens, We didn't spend much time in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights. Every single employee you come in contact with is extremely upbeat and knowledgable. They meet you once and know your name and use it throughout your stay. The rooms are well appointed. We has a room that did not face the ocean. If I had to do it again, I would pay the extra for the ocean view.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Delmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is the epitome of the Arts & Crafts style and is well decorated in the common areas. The grounds are beautiful with the surrounding Torrey Pines Golf Course and the ocean in the distance.

The lobby is very small, so when we walked in I was unsure as to whether or not I was in the right place. We got a room upgrade to a Reserve Room thanks to American Express, but it only turned out to be a slightly larger version of the Signature King room. The décor is Arts and Crafts style in the rooms, but less luxurious than the lobby.

The balcony in room 328 overlooked the courtyard with its lovely trees. Unfortunately it was also adjacent to the walkway the bell staff use and they are loud. When we first went out onto the balcony we thought it would be nice and private, but then we saw the "divider" between the rooms' balconies is only about 5 feet tall with a large area that dips down to about 3 feet near the railing. This we do not understand at all. There is plenty of room to take these dividers much higher affording excellent privacy to each guest room. The guy next to us somehow locked himself out onto the balcony and kept shouting for his wife to open the door. Because of the low barrier we were able to see onto that balcony next to us so relaxing in our robes with coffee on the balcony is not so private.

Since we were located at the end of the hall we thought we'd enjoy maximum quiet. Not so lucky. The stairwell was right next door so we heard the clippidy clop of everyone going up and down the stairs at all hours from the parking area and other guest rooms. And the military jets taking off nearby were extremely loud.

The bed was completely awful and overly firm. We asked for an extra comforter to be wrapped over the mattress and the staff was very accommodating on that. It unfortunately did not alleviate the back ache resulting from the hard mattress.

The bath toiletries were of good quality, but the thick lotion and conditioner are impossible to get out of the hard plastic containers they are in. The bathtub was an excellent soaking size rather than the typical small tub and shower combo you see elsewhere. There are two makeup mirrors in the bathroom, one freestanding and one mounted to the wall. Not sure why there are two. The hair dryer is in the clothes closet for some reason, so look there when you can't find it.

Room service was decent, but they add a 21% service charge which they state is not a gratuity. What?! If you read the fine print you will see that this 21% is split between the room service staff and the hotel. Keep this in mind when adding your gratuity. You cannot get ice on your own, and must call for it to be brought to you. Strange. The mini bar area is hidden behind cabinets, so open the door and kneel all the way down to get the coffee maker and lug it up onto the counter. And once you do this they will put it away again with each maid service. Seems like they could just leave it out on the counter since there's plenty of room there for it.

Although there is Wi-Fi there you must enter a code each time you want to access the Internet. This is very annoying since you must dig out the little card with the access code they give you at check-in.

A.R. Valentien was absolutely delicious at breakfast. They offer a nice selection and price range. The service was spotty. One day we had to ask for water three times and still never got it. The server also asked if we wanted a certain part of our order before the main course and we said we did. It never came. After the main course we had to ask if it was still coming or if we needed to cancel it. The subsequent two days the service was very good and would have been excellent if we were ever offered a refill on our water and tea. They were cleaning off a table right in front of us while we dined there (with nobody else in that particular wing at the time) and we saw that the tables are really old and in need of replacing when the linens are off. The gentleman tried to put the tablecloth on while only taking the old one off half way, and this is obviously so that customers won't see the apparently moldy surface they are eating on. Ick!

Overall this is a moderate hotel in our opinion. Although beautiful grounds and a lovely lobby await you, the service and balconies are not up to snuff.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from early morning military jet noise, stairwells, and elevators. Look for the haird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
918 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 15 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazinein 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the golf course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing