We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the deck, we could see the fancy hotels at which we could find no lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Jolla Village Lodge
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“From the deck, we could see the fancy hotels at which we could find no lodging”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The missus and I, never ones to be quick on the draw, were among the last to book lodging for a wedding for which we were singing in San Diego. Yeah, sure, the other attendees were able to stay at the fancy-schmancy hotels, but they missed the hidden pearl of the La Jolla Village Lodge.

Maureen, the owner, took over the property, one that has been in her family for decades (did she say the 1940s?), and runs a friendly, tidy, and conveniently located option in La Jolla. She serves a simple but delicious continental breakfast which can be enjoyed on one of two outside decks. The higher deck offers a view of La Jolla and, out in the distance, the beautiful Pacific Ocean.

If you'd like something more indulgent, walk down to the Brick & Bell Cafe for a latte and freshly baked croissant. Bring it back to Maureen's place, walk up to the deck, and watch the morning sun play off of the water. You could pay more for a hotel, but, sitting there with your morning repast and staring out to sea, you will fill like the "king of the world" (take that Leonard DiCaprio).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reyditutto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    34
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
31
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was a last minute trip and I was lucky to find a place to stay. The owner and her assistant, I guess that's what he is, are very friendly. However, when I got to my room there was a different story. The room didn't feel clean and when I got out of the shower I found the the carpet was filthy. My feet were black. In the bathroom there was old soap and the slimy residue in the soap dish and the shower. The floor of the shower was grimy so I felt the need to we're my flip flops when I took a shower. The coffee maker had not been cleaned. Okay, not a huge deal. The next day when I came back after the room should have been cleaned I found the trash was not emptied, the coffee maker had not been cleaned, they didn't refill coffee supplies and the empty Kleenex box had not been replaced, only had two pieces in the first place. As I said in my title, it was mostly lack of attention to detail. The place has a super location and if things like the carpet cleaned, the shower really scrubbed down and the other details it would definitely be worth staying there again. Just sayin'.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marblclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

An old fashioned only slightly run down independent hotel/motel. Clean. Friendly. Easy walk to all kinds of great things that are in La Jolla--beaches (with sea lions), luxury shopping, terrific restaurants. Good place, great value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyp906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Tired of long traffic lines and no parkin? Then make a plan next year to enjoy the 4th of July. We live in San Diego and just wanted a better way to see the fireworks. We stayed one night for $200 (including tax). They will let you park there free before check in , provided there is room (which there was). Close to everything! On a holiday in La Jolla traffic is a HUGE drag, you do not want to leave your parking spot. The only goodnews is that as long as you are parked legally, you can stay there all day (no time limits on a holiday). But that also means that spaces become fewer and fewer as the day wears on. So park at the hotel and walk to lunch, dinner and the beach. Rooms have a fridge, microwave, blow dryer, and a small coffee maker.

On the 4th they have a BBQ up on the roof starting at 7pm. La Jolla Country Club has fireworks that start at 8:15 while the Cove fireworks start closer to 9. You can see both from the roof of the hotel. We wanted to be closer to the fireworks so we opted for the Cove. Now people start setting up their spots on the grass at 2am! The entire area around the cove gets PACKED with people. I don't like crowds and with two small kids I didn't want to get too close and hurt their ears. We went next to the cave store and it was PERFECT!

After a great show we simply walked back to the hotel and went to sleep. Traffic was still bumper to bumper an hour later! The hotel was quiet and with the air conditioner on you couldn't hear anything outside. Don't have the air set on "energy saver" because it will then turn on an off during the night waking you up. La Jolla is typically humid (compared to inland) and it was nice to have the air on.

Overall a great mini-vacation! This is our second year doing this and we will be back next year :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mermom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We loved it here. We felt very safe here and the staff was awesome. No need to drive around when everything is in walking distance, major bonus. It's not a fancy place but it is clean and well kept. It was cool seeing their golden retriever lay out every evening enjoying the sunset.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TrinaMarie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here based on other reviews from trip advisor. The La Jolla Village Lodge is an older Motel right in the heart of La Jolla Village close in many restaurants. We stayed in a family suite where we had a large room with and an added kitchen and were very pleased. Staff is friendly. They had a complimentary continental breakfast which consisted of coffee and danishes and toast. It's not the Hilton but based on the other reviews from trip advisor it met our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopoBogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We were here in September and were pleasantly surprised by the friendly owners. Very helpful with tips and were to go. We got to lend two foldable chairs when we went to a park concert. One evening we came home from a fun night out and met the owners on the roof top to share a nice glass of wine. We had a lot of fun in La Jolla thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#14 of 24 in La Jolla
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Village Lodge

Property: La Jolla Village Lodge
Address: 1141 Silverado St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your La Jolla Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Village Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing