We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Jolla Village Lodge
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Can't beat the price in La Jolla - this is a great value considering the location - one block to great shopping and restaurants. Never used our car while there, except for trips up or down the coast.

The rooms are tiny, tiny tiny! However, they are clean, the beds very comfy with down comforters and plenty of nice (not flat!) pillows. The staff are friendly, helpful. There is a patio on the 3rd floor that is open with plenty of chairs, tables and a grill. Great for coffee in the AM and watching the sun set on the ocean. Continental breakfast and free coffee every morning. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    34
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
31
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bay area, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan 2007 and had a wonderful experience. The rates are very very low for La Jolla (under $100), ample free parking, and the location is 1 block from the main drag in La Jolla (Girard St.) and about 4 blocks from the Cove.

The hotel is not meant to be a 4-star experience, so reviews from folks expecting that shouldn't be given any consideration. This hotel is well kept, clean, and the staff is very friendly. If you are staying during a less-crowded season or reserving well ahead of time, ask for a room on the third floor. The view is unspectacular, but still offers some ocean and access to a fun outdoor patio for hanging out.

If you are looking for a clean, convenient, cheap place to lay your heads, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racheysplad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2006

At first sight we thought this was going to be a terrible experience. The exterior is run down and shows its age. The room, too, at first seemed poorly equipped. But it has been upgraded with useful, if not luxurious, appointments. The TV, fridge, microwave, etc all worked fine. The three piece bath was fine. Within a one block walk to the upscale shopping and dining district, and a short drive or easy walk to the beach - with ample parking and a suprisingly nice breakfast served in the lobby that can be taken back to the room or eaten at the second floor table and chairs overlooking the town. The staff was helpful and worked at pleasing the guests. Good value in a very expensive town.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheNewsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2005

My husband & I spent two nights at The La Jolla Village Lodge in September. we were very pleased with our stay there. I was looking for an affordable place in La Jolla that was clean & convenient. Our room was very basic & the bathroom small, but the bed very comfy, the continental breakfast included juice, Pastries, coffee, fruit. The owners were helpful with directions to restaurants $ galleries. We felt safe walking at night, left our car in the motel's free parking lot. I was concerned at first with the traffic noise, but that calmed down after 10:00 P.M. If your looking for an budget motel that is clean & convenient with pleasant help, I can recommend The La Jolla Village Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank plantladytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2004

Other TripAdvisor users directed me to this place, and it was a great experience. It may look a little older on the outside, but the room we had was clean and comfortable. The rooms were individually decorated, and had great touches like actual cotton sheets and bedspreads rather than the scratchy polyester found in most hotels. Also, I highly recommend room 131, a third floor corner king room with large windows and views of palm trees and (obstructed but nice) views of the ocean a few blocks away. For the price you can get rooms here for, this is great for anyone watching their budget but looking for a nice place to stay.

And be sure to take a dog treat for Yeller the dog who hangs out in the parking lot!

Helpful?
10 Thank VeganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 November 2004

My mother and I stayed at La Jolla Village Lodge for 1 week in October 2004. The place is convenient to everything and easy on the wallet. Included in the $100 per night price is a great continental breakfast served every morning that includes fruit, coffee/tea, juice, milk, bagels w/cream cheese and pasteries!

Plus, the hotel is pet friendly and even has a resident cat and dog.

La Jolla is so beautiful- and affordable if you stay with these folks.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 October 2003

Very convenient to almost everything in La Jolla, this is an afforadable and pleasant hotel. I've stayed at it one weekend a year in the past 5 years when visiting family in the area.

It's a pleasant walk to the La Jolla Cove from the hotel. It's especially pleasant to come here in the off season.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#14 of 24 in La Jolla
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Village Lodge

Property: La Jolla Village Lodge
Address: 1141 Silverado St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your La Jolla Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Village Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing