We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical, serene oasis that always brings joy and fun ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I always stay there when I visit San Diego. It's a short few blocks down to Windansea Beach, where you can watch the surfers and stroll amid the fresh sea air, or swim during the summer months. The rich, creamy guacamole at the Su Casa restaurant a few yards away is hand made at your table with delicious lime and spices! The friendly sandwich shop right next door is operated by a first-rate chef - a super guy! -- who creates an albacore tuna sandwich with avocado that is tasty and made with care and precision.

I am at the Travelodge La Jolla Beach at least four times per year and can assure you that Danny carefully maintains a clean, friendly establishment. The front desk is always helpful and polite, and everyone looks after the guests' interest with alacrity and good cheer! Nestor is a first-rate manager of the grounds who adds a lot of value to the property! The pool and hot tub are consistently warm and never disappoint.

Overall, a very special place that is always a centerpiece of my trip and deserves the highest rating.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 74djetronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, General Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

What can I add to that? This is what we strive for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

Rooms impecably clean ! Desk service very friendly.Located in a quaint setting near beach! Maybe supply better quality Soaps n lotions!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lajollaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We started coming to this motel when our children were young and able to enjoy the
pool ( to the exclusion of the ocean , only a block away) But we loved the Windansea beach,
unexcelled for watching the best surfing in So.Cal. with unsurpassed beauty as a bonus.
You wouldn't even really need a car, bus line is at front door, to downtown LaJolla in five
minutes. So perhaps the main advantage is an ideal location, for walks on the beach,
and in downtown LaJolla. Room has always been very clean, and with all the extra's.
If you want to enjoy the class that LaJolla offers, at an affordable price, this is the place
We still come back years later since the first stay with our children.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The Travelodge La Jolla Beach was a wonderful 3 night experience for us. Very clean, and the location was walking distance to the beach, about 2-3 blocks down a quiet street, and across the street from a good restaurant. For walkers, could also walk to downtown La Jolla and the city's main park at a cove. When we had a problem with the tv remote, the staff in the office was very attentive and got a replacement as quickly as possible. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit86326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Pleasant hotel close to Windansea beach and in o nice area with a great management and staff. At this beach you can enjoy the sun and the waves as sell as the surfers and sunset at this place is wonderful!
We spend 3 weeks here every winter - for business and pleisure.
They serve a lovely breakfast at this Travelodge with newly baked tasty bagels with cream cheese and jelly, cereals, juice and good coffee. The motel is equipped with a heated swimmingpool and spa and washing-machine.
Walking distance to central La Jolla with many great restaurants. Opposite the motel is the Mandarin House, where they serve very good chine food; a great lunch with tea costs less than 8 dollars. Beside the motel is a mexican restaurant Su Casa where they serve tasty margueritas för 3.50 at happy hour.
Nine-ten on Prospect St is highly recommended. In the bar on weekdays you may at happy hour taste their lovely food at a good price as well as great wines. Crab Catcher further away on Prospect St serve very good seafood in their oyster bar at happy hour (every day) as well as good wines (for 3 dollars). They also have sushi nights.
Clays on top of hotel La Jolla have wonderful food and beer at great prices every day at happy hour. Their tenderloin skewers are wonderful as well as pancettawrapped tiger prawns. Another favourite this year is the Marine Room, highly recommended! Their chef has wone several international awards for his wonderful cooking. You sit on the beach and when high tide the waves touch the windows. In the bar you can taste great food at a remarkable price. For 7 dollars you can have o wonderful crab cake or a scallop-prawn dish, both with marvellous sauces.
The Museum of Contemporary Art on Prospect, the former house of Mrs Scripps is a great place to visit. The building itself is wondeful as well as the location close to the La Jolla Cove area. The comig months they have an interesting exhibition of modern Mecixan art. In the UCSD ampus area you can also find interesting pieces of art right now. There you also find the La Jolla Playhouse founded in 1947 by Gregory Peck and Mel Ferrer. We enjoyed Little Miss Sunshine, a lovely musical based on the film with this name.) If you are a student or a senior you have a chance to get tickets on hour before the show start at the price of 20 dollars.
Downtown San Diego is not far and there you have an abundant amount of museums and other interesting places to visit.: the Midway, the Air and Space museum, the Zoo etc

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank birgittawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This place was exactly what we were looking for:
-a location by the beach : it is a block and a half away from an area where there are alot of surfers
-affordable: Much cheaper than the other places that I researched. Bare bones accomodations, but the rooms are clean and serve their purpose well.
-extras: free parking, free continental breakfast, hot tub and swimming pool
-friendly staff: all of the people that we dealed with while there were very nice.

the biggest issue that I had while we were there is that the internet went out a couple of times. It took a while to be reset, but since we were there for leisure, not business, it wasn't to much of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbredh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Room was very clean and had a microwave & refridgerator. Bed was comfortable and Bath towels were very nice for a room at this price. Had coffee & tea provided in the room plus a nice breakfast was provided in the morning. The motel was located close to the beach and to town I enjoyed my stay and would definately come back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.8 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,405 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
5.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach Travelodge

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £55 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Jolla Beach Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Beach Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travel Lodge
La Jolla Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing