We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I booked our stay here after reading many glowing reviews, and we were not disappointed. The entire staff is friendly, courteous, and eager to please. The room was comfortable and included a table and two chairs, a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. It had everything we could need, as there were several electrical outlets in the room and plenty of lighting in both the sleeping room and the bathroom. The continental breakfast, with bagels/cream cheese, pastries, cereal, and fruit, was generous. The property itself is well maintained and lovingly cared for. The location is terrific, too. The beach is just a short walk away. Plenty of interesting shops and restaurants, as well as a supermarket, are nearby. Downtown San Diego is less than 30 minutes away. This motel has it all, and we wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueskies125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for the glowing review! Everyone who works here: the housekeepers, the maintenance, front desk personnel and the management sincerely love La Jolla Beach Travelodge. The hotel is close to the beach, to La Jolla Village, UCSD, Torrey Pines, La Jolla Shores, and many other popular places. The hotel has everything a person needs at a home away from home: Free Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, laundry facilities, heated pool, Jacuzzi, Cable TV and a clean comfortable bed and bathroom. We do everything we can so that all of our guests feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible. For these reasons we have many loyal guests who will only stay at La Jolla Beach Travelodge when they visit San Diego. We are grateful for the exposure we get on Tripadvisor because it brings us new many new guests that will quickly become new friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,060 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
SOLDOTNA
1
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Very clean and staff is friendly...I really enjoyed the oranges on the breakfast every morning. Pool is warm and hot tub even better. The Wind an Sea beach a block away has really white sand but we went to La Jolla Shores Drive to play in the water, anyways, since thats where the rental places are. Very good value. Older motel but kept up as well as anyone could.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at La Jolla Beach Travelodge. We get a lot of compliments on the fresh fruit we serve during our complimentary continental breakfast. We offer fresh apples and oranges, a variety of pastries that are delivered daily from the local bakery, assorted bagels with the choice of cream cheese and jelly, oatmeal, cereal with milk, freshly brewed coffee, black and herbal teas, orange juice and hot chocolate.

La Jolla Beach Travelodge is a perfect place to stay if you are here to enjoy the ocean. We are really close to many beautiful local beaches. It’s less than 300 yards to the WindanSea Beach. The Children’s pool, where the seals are, is a mile north. La Jolla Cove, one of the most photographed beaches in Southern California is about one and a half miles. We are about 3 miles from La Jolla Shores and Pacific Beach. The front desk staff is always happy to help with recommendations, directions, local information and any other assistance that a guest might need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank SUSAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank SuziQVictorville
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank ALEXANDER K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Owner at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay!

It was close to the beach and there are a number of good restaurants close by. The staff was very friendly and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate and the coffee was good.

The Travelodge in La Jolla was recommended to us by a friend and we would not hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawsonjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Owner at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Great Review of La Jolla Beach Travelodge. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. We do get a substantial amount of our guests from word of mouth for which we are very grateful

We are just 300 yards from beautiful Wind an Sea Beach. It is an amazing beach for swimming, surfing, sunbathing or walking.

We are surrounded by many wonderful restaurants of all types. Downtown La Jolla is just a mile from us and is a great place for dining and shopping. This area is the original part of La Jolla also referred to as The Village. The La Jolla Cove and Children's pool where the seals can be found is just a block from there.

We would love to have a more full breakfast. However, as a smaller motel our space is limited. We do have a continental breakfast which includes: Apples, Oranges, Milk, 3 types of cereal, Tea, Folgers coffee, orange juice, as well as fresh bagels, muffins and danish.

Thank you again for writing the review and a welcome to all of our future guests,

Sincerely,
Daniel Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank NANCY S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Owner at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach Travelodge

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £75 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Jolla Beach Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Beach Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travel Lodge
La Jolla Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing