We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good stay! Three good things and three not as good things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank dawho2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were on our way from Monterey to La Jolla. As we knew that we would be arriving late around 2 am, we called the hotel to inform the staff our estimated arrival time. We appreciate him to waiting and receiving us once we rang the door bell at 2 am. He came to greet us with a smile and in fact thanked us for letting him know that we would be checking in at that time. Great service. Breakfast was adequate. Rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel is not too far from the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francisfoo_ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your nice review. We are very happy that you've enjoyed your stay at La Jolla Beach Travelodge. You can check in to the hotel at any time after 1 pm. We close the office at 11 pm, but if you arrive later just ring the bell. There is a night manager that will open the door for you and check you in. We will always hold your room for you if you have a reservation and we always appreciate if the guests call and confirm their booking and the time of arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My three star overall review is due to the fact that the property looks a bit old and dated on the outside, has very little landscaping, and has older rooms which have a drab appearance. But if one can get by this, the overall stay at this place is very good(four stars). There is a continental breakfast daily(fruit, bagels, cereal, coffee). The location is only a few hundred yards away from an absolutely brilliant beach, there is a very nice Mexican restaurant across the street, the rooms are spacious and adequate, and it is a quiet place, within a mile of the heart of La Jolla. It is a poorman's paradise and we would return again here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baybee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and we’ll be happy to have you stay here again.
We sincerely appreciate your honest opinion about the way our property looks from the outside. The hotel was built a while ago, but we make every effort to maintain it and to have it looking good. Less than 3 weeks ago we had a very talented local artist, Hanna Daly, paint a new mural on the swimming pool wall. Perhaps you came in when the work was in progress and the pool wall was unfinished. At the moment the mural looks gorgeous. It fully shows the spirit and the beauty of Windansea beach and its centerpiece – the Shack.
We have 3 highly skilled maintenance people working full time at the hotel. Landscaping is one of their daily duties. We have geraniums on every level of the hotel, palm trees, bogenvias, and other beautiful decorative plants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Let me say straight off that this hotel is not everybody's cup of tea. My partners reaction when we arrived was "why have we gone downmarket?" It certainly wasn't smart, but I am not repentant: the room was clean, quiet and comfortable - I slept very well. It was also very well equipped: It had a coffee maker, a microwave, a fridge, a room safe, ironing equipment etc. and everything that we tried worked. It wasn't really walkable into town, but the beach was a short stroll away. The staff were pleasant and everything seemed well-organized. A basic continental breakfast was provided.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V3971RTjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your comments and we are happy that you have had a good time. We just wanted to add that we also provide free high-speed WiFi, cable TV (every room has a brand new flat screen), there is a very nice heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, large parking lot that is free for the guests. Every room has an A/C that also works as a heater. We are not a fancy resort, but “practical and very good value” describes La Jolla Beach Travelodge exactly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is not a luxury resort but it has everything you need in La Jolla. Clean and nice. We loved being able to walk to Windansea Beach. We could have paid more for an oceanfront resort and walked further to get to the beach.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are located in the most perfect spot in La Jolla. It takes just 2-3 minutes to walk to the Windansea Beach. In November there are almost no people on the beach, except the most dedicated surfers and you have the whole beach to yourself. We do have everything you need at the hotel. There is free breakfast, free parking, a nice heated swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a guest laundry room. We provide free high-speed Wi-Fi, cable and all our rooms have brand new flat screen TVs. There is a fridge, a coffee maker and a microwave in every room. Our prices are very reasonable. Our goal is to offer the best value accommodations in La Jolla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I travelled with a group of 8 including myself. This was our second hotel we stayed at, after spending 8 nights in Anaheim. When we entered our room I was sharing with 3 others is smelt of old and musky carpet and after putting on the air conditioner it smelt even worse. In our shower there was hair in the drain. When going to the front desk to ask about the area and where the best place to eat would be, Danny the guy at the front desk informed us of a few places. But when we asked about Sea world, Legoland and San Diego Zoo he had absolutely no idea. He didn't know opening hours, prices, how far away from the travel lodge it was. When we decided we all going to sleep we were absolutely DISGUSTED when we found stains on our sheets. White crispy stains (what we believed was semen), blood stains and pubic hairs on our sheets. When we went down to inform him and asked for new CLEAN sheets his reply was 'Oh ok then'. No apology or anything. As it was late at night and we have 2 children travelling with us we decided to stick it out for one night but as soon as the sun came up we left.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kstarr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Owner at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

I read this review and was for the first time in many years of running the Travelodge was truly surprised. Usually when talking with guests I have a good feel for how things are going and whether they are having a good time. In this case the review in no way reflects my interaction with the guests who by all appearances were having a good time.

I checked the 8 guests in to two rooms. They seemed like a like nice happy family and I must have spoken with them are parts of their group during the evening on no less than 6 occasions for at least 45 minutes total. I spent the time telling them where to eat, and where to go. I gave them maps and booked transportation for them to Seaworld and Legoland. I also know quite a bit about all of the local attractions in San Diego having grown up here and running the Travelodge for the last 20 years. I have helped thousands of guests with this type of information very successfully in the past.

One of the guests did ask for more sheets and it was my impression they needed them because they had 4 people in a room with t beds they just wanted more linen.

There is almost nothing we wouldn't do to help make a guest's stay more comfortable. However, in order to do that I think it is understood that if there is something wrong the guest would bring it to our attention while at the hotel when we can do something about it.

We want our guests to have a great time and a comfortable stay. With a few exceptions that is the case. We are not perfect but we are always working to be the best we can be. This can be seen by looking at the majority opinion in our TripAdvisor reviews.

In the last year and a half we have put new carpet, air conditioners and large flat screen Televisions in all of our rooms. We have replaced all of the bedding, drapes and most of the furniture and we have more planned for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Owner at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach Travelodge

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £67 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Jolla Beach Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Beach Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travel Lodge
La Jolla Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing