We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I were impressed with every aspect of our stay at the La Jolla Travel Lodge. From the first call to make reservations to the last question involving driving and dining in the greater San Diego area, we were given excellent service. Another plus was meeting people from all over the world and getting to know them. We enjoyed both the continental breakfasts and the Cafe Vahik next door on our extended stay. San Diego is heaven for families from the Pacific Northwest..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    426
    105
    40
    20
See reviews for
348
398
91
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
detroit, michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I had always read about the Travelodge in La Jolla that had been updated, but basically preserved as a hotel you would recognize from the 60's. I finally had the privilege to stay there a couple of weeks ago and I wasn't disappointed! I loved it. It looked like I had stepped back into my childhood in La Jolla. The rooms in the hotel have been redone and are very clean and comfy. There is a nice swimming pool and good sized jacuzzi also. There is a microwave, frig and coffeepot in the room and the location is excellent! One block from the beach and conveniently located on the main road. This hotel lists for as low as $68 (before taxes) on some nights and the next closest hotel for the same night lists at $119 up to $430! It truly is a refreshing opportunity to be able to spend time in La Jolla, by the beach, and not pay a fortune plus have the opportunity to experience nostalgia from the past.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from March 7th to 12th.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with a light over one of the beds, and that was fixed immediately after we told the front desk. Impressing!
The hotel has a very good location with a few min. walk down to the beach.
The atmosphere around the hotel was exciting, with small houses in different styles and colors and surfers of every age on their way down to the beach.
It was fun watching the activities going on in the water and the sunsets were spectacular.
We had a room with a kitchenette that worked very well, but we are tall people and we would like the beds to be a little longer.
We were very pleased with the cleaning.
Next time in La Jolla, we will stay at La Jolla Beach Travelodge with its atmosphere and friendly people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per Chr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you here again.
It is great that we were able to fix the light in your room immediately. We have an amazing maintenance team at La Jolla Beach Travelodge. They are very skillful and knowledgeable. They know every little detail about the building.
La Jolla Beach Travelodge is located at one of the most amazing spots along the coastline of San Diego. Windansea beach is a little hidden gem that is visited mostly by the locals.
When you come back next time I would recommend you look at a few rooms before checking in and see which beds would be more suitable for you. We would love to have you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Good to very good property and location. Professional, friendly staff. Although a bit dated and nothing fancy, it was clean and well kept. The continental breakfast was very good with bakery pastries and fruit, in addition to the usual bagels & such. Good hot breakfast place next door. Nice, warm pool. Located on a semi-busy street, but quiet at night. The beach is one block away. We had a second floor room and sat on the balcony at night. Had a suite with small kitchen & small bedroom, the living room area was spacious enough & had dining table. 2 flat screen tvs! Holiday Inn Express across the street which is likely lots more expensive, but couldn't have been that much nicer. Most reasonable place we could find in La Jolla and we were not disappointed. Heard prices go up in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidWestActiveAdult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. The room that you have described is called a Two Double Bed Suite. It is a spacious suite on the second floor that has a living room with a sofa-bed that opens into a full size bed and a bedroom with two double beds. There is a kitchenette with a fridge, a microwave, a coffee maker, a toaster, a kitchen sink and a counter with some drawers and cabinets. It is true that summer time rates are higher, but we always have the most competitive rates. We give a range of discounts, for AAA, military, student, senior, hospital rate and our best return guest rate. Please call us directly when you are planning to make your reservation and we’ll be able to offer you our best deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nothing fancy, a little dated, but it's clean, comfortable, and the price is right. Walking distance to great restaurants (try Su Casa!) and beaches, a little farther from the seals and tonier parts of La Jolla.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. La Jolla Beach Travelodge is not a newly built hotel, but for years it has been very well maintained and taken care of. It is located in a very beautiful spot, just 300 yards from the gorgeous Windansea Beach. We are a mile away from La Jolla Village. It’s exactly 1.5 miles to La Jolla Cove. According to Google Maps it takes 25 minutes to walk to The Children’s Pool (the beach where the seals are).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is the best kept secret in La Jolla. I have stayed at very expensive hotels at the cove. The staff is so friendly and gracious. There is a coffee shop next door with the best coffee and several restaurants in walking distance. The beach is a few blocks and it's gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
3 Thank Cuccimano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at La Jolla Beach Travelodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you chose to stay with us. We have had the same staff working at La Jolla Beach Travelodge for many years now, so when you come back you will see the same friendly faces checking you in, cleaning your rooms or making repairs around the hotel.
We offer complimentary continental breakfast in the morning: variety of Danishes and muffins, bagels, cereals and oatmeal, hot beverages (tea, coffee and hot chocolate) apples and oranges. There’s a very nice coffee shop next door called Café Vahik. They have breakfast options such as omelettes and breakfast bagels and for lunch they have a variety of sandwiches and salads. Within a block we also have Su Casa for Mexican food Mandarin House for Chinese and Barleya&figs for Greek food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,350 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach Travelodge

Property: La Jolla Beach Travelodge
Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — La Jolla Beach Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Beach Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travel Lodge
La Jolla Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing