We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than your average hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More than your average hotel room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Large flat screen TV, full kitchen with stove and fridge at that. Plenty of cabinetry. Bathrooms a bit on the small side, but overall the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahhhhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    273
    102
    38
    28
See reviews for
298
121
20
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans, la
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stay here twice each year to visit family in the area, but we are re-thinking our choice. Renovations will be needed in the near future, especially for the closets and bathrooms. Its excellent location close to UCSD, shopping and beaches means the land will continue to be scarce and expensive for any expansions - and means that parking (used to be free; now $12/nt) will continue to be at a premium, and often unavailable with spaces barely big enough for a compact car. Breakfast (still free) is packed with people unless you get there well before 7AM. Its one pro (which is why it is largely populated by families with kids and teens) is the large apartment-style rooms typical of a Residence Inn. Nice to have a good size stocked kitchen with a Whole Foods nearby. A mixed bag at best unless you are traveling with kids or really want a larger room with a kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisianamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just love this hotel, it's 10 min ride from San Diego airport and other attractions in San Diego. We stay here for 5 nights for our San Diego/ Palm Spring Vacation. All in all it's clean and roomy hotel, looks like it just been renovated in the new Residence Inn layout and with lots of space if you are coming with family. The location is in a nice residential area outside San Diego. I loved San Diego and La Jolla Residence, I will definitly come back to both.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RR_Aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here over July 4th. In many ways this is a typical Residence Inn. Rooms were fine. They seemed to have a problem with hot water in the rooms -- you had to run the shower quite a while to get any. Not sure if it is typical -- but the place was packed with children. This did not bother us -- but may be a negative for some. The pool, spa and breakfast was very crowded. Decent breakfast is provided. Folks that worked there did not seem to know the area very well. Maid service was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The amount of space for us was perfect. The beds were fantastic. Would love to know where they get their linens from. Loved to see popcorn available in the kitchen. The breakfast was just right.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulcote, Notts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I regularly stay at this specific Residence Inn for business; this was my first stay as part of a family holiday. We decided to use it as the base for our holiday in the San Diego area.

The studio apartment was very spacious, split over 2 levels and extremely quiet despite being located right next to one of the busy hot spas.

Best things:
Location:- 5 minutes drive from La Jolla beach; 10 minutes from Sea World, 15 mins from downtown San Diego. And easy access to 2 different ramps on the I-5.
Pool/Spa:- heated pool is good, hot spas are better.
Breakfast:- typical fare but with plenty of nice outdoor seating too.

Note: The hotel has just introduced an overnight car parking charge, which seems unnecessary given the location and occupancy rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckaroo_Infinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

The family suite was adequately spacious, with comfortable beds, and clean (I do not inspect, for those more exacting), though the downstairs beds really need a privacy wall. There was room for suitcases in the loft bedroom and at the foot of the downstairs beds (admittedly where the privacy wall would be). It was quiet except for one late night when some yelling and car horns were outside. Front desk help was friendly & helpful, and buffet assistance was very prompt & polite. Breakfast was very crowded no matter what time we showed up, but we were always able to find a table within a few minutes. We enjoyed their blueberry muffins & bananas.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing