We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to UCSD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Walking distance to UCSD”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Booked this hotel because of a colleague and was hesitant due to the relatively high price and 12$ per night parking charge. However this was very convenient for a meeting at UCSD, we actually walked to the campus. The upstairs suite was clean, well equipped full kitchen, bed was VERY comfortable pillowtop mattress, modern interior throughout with warm color scheme. Breakfast was included and available either on styrofoam or real plates. Waffles had various toppings (blue berries!) and there were scrambled eggs, various cereals, as well as yoghurt, raisins and walnuts.The pool looked very nice, and there were several hut tubs scattered through the property. This place is in easy walking distance to WholeFoods, Ralph's, Trader Joes, there is a walk- and drivable "short cut" through the rear gate of the parking lot (that no GPS seems is aware of). A surprising bonus was the Tuesday and Wednesday dinner/manager's reception: free beer and wine, baked potatoes, chili, salad, the first day & salsa, grilled chicken, hamburger, dogs the second. Concerning the internet: the room had its own router, which can be turned on and off, and best reception may require an ethernet cable. There were no issues, but it did take a minute to connect. Overall a highly recommendable place.

Room Tip: Room upstairs are quieter and better views with morning and evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    277
    103
    39
    28
See reviews for
302
122
22
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Room was pleasant. Grounds were lovely with nice pool and many barbeques. Breakfast buffet was very abundant. Lobby atmosphere was good. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator, and we had a lot of luggage, so we requested a room on the ground floor - and right ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I booked this hotel after a VERY last minute change due to the illness of my travel companion. I was attending a wedding in La Jolla alone and did not have a car. I was able to reserve the Super-shuttle in advance online, so when I arrived at San Diego airport, I just stepped to the pickup area with my two rather large suitcases and was whisked away to the Residence Inn. The check-in was easy and the staff very friendly and accommodating. I was given a one bedroom suite with a very comfortable kingsized bed, kitchenette with a full-size fridge, dishwasher and all the utensils that are needed. Also a couch and table situated right in front of the tv for relaxing with a snack. The bathroom had plenty of counter space for a lady to spread out her accessories and a separate area for the commode and bathtub. The accommodations are two-story clusters of units with no elevators needed. It is located a few minutes walk from a Rockbottom restaurant and about a five minute walk to a small mall with a CVS and many other stores, one of which is a nail salon that I used for a polish change. For someone without a car and that enjoys walking it was a perfect fit. They also offer a very good breakfast buffet with eggs, bagels, english muffins and good coffee. The staff was extremely nice and were eager to please. They directed me to the mall and replaced my lost room key on the spot. I can not think of any negatives to this hotel and would certainly stay there if I were in the La Jolla area again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I had two two-bedroom suite for a family outing in San Diego. The rooms were nicely decorated and staff so kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, too!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach,CA
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Staff is very pleasant; location is perfect to UCSD (helped our student move into dorms), and initial look at our room (executive room with loft) was very nice impression. The Wi-Fi worked just fine for us. We tend to stay at Marriott's whenever we travel and husband and I agree this is a RI that could use some general sprucing up.

1. Parking at $12/day too pricey. Especially given the fact that the parking spots are difficult to come by and most importantly the spaces are TINY!

2. Our room was in front of the fire pit. While this initially seemed like a nice place to be the night we were there some 10 partying people who converged with their drinks and loud voices until 1AM. We probably should have called the front desk as the walls in these rooms tend to be rather thin but we did not. (Our mistake) Certainly we heard quite a bit of loud noise at the fire pit including the couple who brought their dog who liked to bark. That said, perhaps staff could walk by fire pit area anytime randomly after 10PM to remind the guests about keeping voices down and perhaps keeping pets somewhere else while socializing in the fire pit area.

3. Our room was very nice but every 20 minutes or so the toilet did a "ghost" flush. The door to the bathroom needed maintenance as it had a rather loud creak when opening or closing it. Left a note for hotel as to fixing these items.

4.Beds were not as comfortable as other Marriott's - very hard.

If just a couple of these things were fixed this RI would be better. I know the noise issue outside was purely a guest issue but perhaps some occassional monitoring might help.

Lastly recommend reservations way in advance (2 weeks) if you want sunset dinner during the weekend at any of the waterfront restaurants on Prospect. We had dinner at Azul and it was delicious. We did walk into Nine-Ten, George's and Eddie V's, the latter two having awesome waterfront views and dinner menus looked very good.

Room Tip: Rooms away from fire pit better choice as should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonnaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

the rooms were great it was nice having several jacuzzis on the property between room the breakfast was normal .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horrorpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at this property last weekend and had a positve experience. I was greeted with a smile as soon as I entered the lobby. The entire front desk went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We stayed in a studio suite, which was spotless, quite large and had a fully stocked kitchen. We were impressed with the choices at the breakfast buffet, there were healthy options and naturally, some not so healthy too. Other than the parking spots being almost to narrow too squeeze into with our Subaru, I liked the hotel, the location and would defenitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing