We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel suite like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed at this residence in many times over the last three years. It is one of the older Residence Inns, but I love this style hotel. The staff here is as good as any I've met in extended stay hotels. The kitchens are well appointed. The breakfasts are very good. There have been some difficulties with our rooms that have been addressed quickly. The location is fabulous. There are two shopping centers within walking distance, movie theaters, and UC San Diego. I go back every time I am in La Jolla and it feels like home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sfwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Good afternoon sfwendy I hope you are doing well. Thank you for sharing the positive experiences you’ve had at our hotel. It is always great to see that we are doing a great job taking care of our guests and providing a satisfactory product that continues to bring repeat customers like yourself. We are looking forward to serve you again, thank you and have an awesome day!

Warm Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

This residence Inn is one of the older ones I have been to. The location is great, it is close to shopping restaurants and a highway. The staff is also very good and helpful. The hotel does needs some renovation to the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConstantTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the positive sentiments about our “great” location and our “very good and helpful” staff. You did mention that you felt we are in need of a renovation and we appeared to be an older Residence Inn. We were one of the first hotels in the Residence Inn brand to be built, so in comparison to others we are very different. Our team works very hard to keep up with preventative maintenance and meeting and exceeding brand standards in our guests’ suites. We are anxiously waiting for a full renovation later this year or early 2015. I hope that you might have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Again thank you for your review and we hope you have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff were pleasant enough BUT the furniture in the room was very outdated. It looked like it was from Salvation Army so not the usual Residence Inn standard! The breakfast was good but
because of full capacity the room was so noisy one couldnt have a conversation. The parking fee
was high I thought but it is La Jolla! I would not return to this property.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the Main Lobby if you dont mind a few minutes walk for a quieter room. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audreyr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hello Audreyr0se I hope this message finds you well. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experience at our property. I see that you had some positive points during your stay, our staff being pleasant and that the buffet breakfast was good. We are pleased about those points yet you did mention some disappointments.

One of those issues was pointed out in your title of the review “…monitoring of Smokers”. Although you didn’t go into detail or elaborate on the subject I am sorry to see that this may have been an issue. We are a smoke free hotel like all Marriott properties and we enforce that policy firmly. Unfortunately we can miss the occasional guest that smokes outside their room instead of going to the smoking area/lawn along the side of the hotel. I don’t know the specifics regarding your issue but we do have strict guidelines and penalties in place to ensure guests don’t smoke in our suites, one of which is a $250 smoking recovery fee. The fee does deter guests from smoking and with our housekeeping staff servicing rooms on a daily basis we can monitor and report the policy being violated quickly. Again I am sorry for any inconveniences this may have posed during your stay.

You also talked about the condition that the suite furniture was in. I am saddened to hear that you may have found them in need of replacing or felt they were outdated. We were last renovated in late 2009 with the standard Residence Inn décor at that time. Unless you were to stay at a Residence Inn that was renovated in the last couple years or a new hotel that opened, our furniture would be the same as the other Residence Inns across the brand. Our goal is to keep up with what is “in” and modern, something we look forward to is a much anticipated renovation later this year or early 2015.

I hope me addressing these key points in your review gives you some insight and shows that we do take great pride in providing our guests with the best experience possible. We are very sorry to hear that you had any dissatisfaction during your stay, we accept your comments and feedback to learn and improve. Thank you for your review and I hope you have a great day.

Kind Regards,

Guest Care Supervisor
Morgan Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

La Jolla is just a great location and this hotel is fairly close to most of the attractions. We visited during July 4th and it was BUSY. The rooms at this location felt a little worn and there were a few minor issues with our suite. The hotel was a little pricy for a residence inn but it was during July 4th and the location demands top dollar. Overall it was a pleasant stay, I just didn't feel we got our monies worth when compared to similar hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hello NLtrout I hope this message finds you well in St. John's, Canada. We appreciate the time you took to share you experience here on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see that you liked our great location as you gave it a high rating and including our staff service. However we are saddened to see that you didn't feel that you got the value for what you paid. It is true that the La Jolla area and San Diego market in general during the summer time commands a high rate for those traveling to us. Additionally being a high demand weekend such as 4th of July only added to that, yet we still stay very competitive with our competitors offering a lot more for our guests. We are an older property so we do take preventative measures to ensure our suites are up to and above standards, I apologize if we missed anything in your particular suite. Some great news is that we are slated to have a full renovation at the end of 2014 or early 2015, we anxiously are awaiting more information on that. Thank you again for the review and we hope you get to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for two days after Christmas. The location was central to what we were doing and now that CA-52 goes through, the location is even better! The breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good.

Our studio was large and our toddler was able to run around in it without us feeling too cramped. A full size kitchen was a plus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you Walter W for the great review of your stay with us. We very much appreciate the time you took to share your experience and we are pleased it was a good one. Our location is very convenient to anything you might visit while in San Diego, whether it’s downtown La Jolla/Cove, San Diego Zoo, Sea World, or beautiful Balboa Park. It's also great to hear that your family, especially your toddler, enjoyed the large spacious suite. Again thank you for the great review and we look forward to your next trip out here with your family.

Warm Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel is close to UCSD as well as other attractions in an Diego. Close to the airport, the 5 and is decently priced. Good for families, short or long term stays. Friendly staff, would recommend for sure!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you Brandi P for taking a moment to share this great review of our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. You are very correct in your comments about our property being so convenient to guests visiting UCSD and also all of the attractions San Diego has to offer. Our staff appreciates your nod to the great friendly service we provide and that you would "recommend for sure" our hotel. Again thank you for your positive feedback!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Inn was welcoming, the front desk and the entire staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The room warm and homey, even a fireplace. We used the free shuttle everyday, driven by a courteous young man who was familiar with the area. We had a delicious fresh cooked breakfast and enjoyable social time/ dinner with wine and beer in the evening. The hotel has many extras provided by the staff..which made our stay comfortable and we will definitely stay there again!
We needed to be near Scripps Hospital and the Inn is about 3 miles away....
The grounds are well kept as well

Room Tip: Short stay or extended this is like home away from home...we were first floor in front and found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you Elaine C for the excellent 5 star review! We all are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all the different amenities we provided. I hope we get to have you stay with us again and be your "... home away from home". Warm wishes to you and your family, we hope you have a great and wonderful holiday!

Warm wishes,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
2.7 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £101 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of CA San Diego campus and less than 2 miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing