We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our stay was comfortable/ Little overcrowded, but understandably so as it is close to UCSD. Rooms are well mainatined, fantastic breakfast, nice coffee all the time and a reasonably equipped gym. Flip Side: Finding a parking slot close to the room is impossible and also the parking is $15/day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello Suresh M I hope this message finds you well in Naperville, Illinois. Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Guest feedback and comments are how we learn and grow. In this case it reconfirms that we are meeting our guests -and our own- expectations. It is very important that our guests feel comfortable and enjoy what our property has to offer. Thank you for the great rating here on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next stay with us, hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Warm Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The place was extraordinarily spacious. 3 queens, 2 bath, kitchen, dining, living room with fireplace. In addition it had a very good complimentary breakfast. The location is ok, though nothing special. Far away from the water, close to UCSD. Everything is clean and was renovated recently.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you flying_dutchman_US for the review of our hotel and for naming us a "Great place." We were glad to hear that you found our accommodations "extraordinarily spacious". It's true that our Family suite which you described is very large with 847 square feet of living space perfect for families. You also mentioned our very hearty complimentary breakfast as being very good. Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review, we appreciate the positive feedback and hope to have you again. Have a great and wonderful rest of the day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Really good location to visit Zoo, old town, Westfield shopping Center, Torrey Pines and Cove beach.

Really nice hotel staff, Great facilities and breakfast.

Most important thing was that Elite member was highly recognized in the hotel. We were upgraded to the suites with penthouse. And 1100 bonus points by lucky draw! Fabulous!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wenhui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hello Wenhui I hope this message finds you well in China. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you visited San Diego and sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Like you said we are a great location, easily accessible to so many of the world famous attractions and beautiful landscapes the city is known for. We appreciate the kind sentiments about our great staff. We take every opportunity to show our Elite members that we truly appreciate their loyalty and business. Thank you for being an Elite member and we are glad you liked that specialized recognition at check in. Again we thank you for the “Fabulous” review, have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

There is no escalator or elevator for 2nd fl. If you have big baggage or you are with a physically handicapped person, 2nd floor room is inconvenient. Fitness is not open 24 hours and may be congested early in the morning. Otherwise, very good facility.

Room Tip: Ask a concierge to assign a 1st fl room because no escalator or elevator for 2nd fl.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A_DC_Traveler_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad to see that you rated us very well and said we were a “very good facility”. I am sorry to see that you found some “drawbacks” and would like to take a moment to discuss them. It is true that we don’t have elevators, we are a 2 level property with 36 individual buildings so having elevators wouldn’t really work for our property layout. We are happy to take luggage up the stairs should a guest request our assistance. Depending on the room type booked we do have rooms on the ground floor, Studio suites, that would work great for those with accessibility needs. Informing the front desk is strongly encouraged when accessibility is an issue, we will go out of way to make you as comfortable as possible. You mentioned that the fitness room was not open 24 hours, I apologize if you were misinformed but it is always available for your use; a sign is posted outside the fitness room door stating 24 hours. Thank you again for the feedback and comments, I hope you enjoy the rest of your day.

Sincerely,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great location and staff, but facilities certainly dated.

First the positives:

The people working at the Residence Inn La Jolla were all very nice and concerned with the guest's well being. They handled each request quickly and efficiently.

The breakfast (every day) and dinner (Mon-Tues-Wed) food was very good for a moderate hotel property. Although sometimes very busy, a seat was always available and the food was plentiful.

The location was ideal for access to UCSD and close to La Jolla and Torrey Pines.

Now, the limitations. The room and the furnishings were quite dated. The couch and most everything else looked 25 years old (or more) and would seem like something from Goodwill. Yet, the room was relatively clean and the housekeeping was excellent during our 6 night stay.

The internet was slow and sometimes not available and the tv had issues with the sound. Again, a few annoyances that give the impression of dated facilities.

Room Tip: It would make sense to ask if your room has been updated recently. My wife had previously stayed at...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello Joe F I hope this message finds you well. Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, we very much appreciate the time you took to do so. I was very happy to read that you found our staff to be very nice and that we handled your requests “quickly and efficiently”. We are very fortunate to have a great team here and we truly appreciate your kind acknowledgments. You also mentioned that you were able to enjoy our breakfast and evening social hour/dinners. They both give great value to our traveling business guests that are on the move and it helps them to stay on track and productive.

With those being great positives during your stay, you did experience/observed some “limitations”. You said that the room and furnishings were dated. I am sorry to hear that this brought down your view of our hotel. All our rooms were fully renovated in late 2009, so please know that everything in the room is only about 5 years old or less; we replace items that are worn and damaged when necessary. As you may have read in previous reviews I’ve responded to, I mentioned that we are slated for another full renovation late this year or early 2015. Again I apologize if you felt it was more dated than what it truly is, we are featuring the same décor as other Residence Inn’s except for the new builds/renovated hotels in the last few years. Another item that you had issue with was connectivity to the internet. Again I apologize for this inconvenience and I hope that you contacted us during your stay to help trouble shoot your problem. We do feature complimentary internet that is great for staying connected to email, social media, and general web surfing. We also have an “upgraded” connection available at a nominal fee for those guests wanting faster downloading; great for streaming videos, downloading large attachments/files, and gaming.

We again thank you for your time and the review. We would have hoped that you had had a better experience but your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated and valued. Have a great and wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I've stayed here many times, and always a great trip.Accommodating front desk staff- Austin and Lemec. Lots of food and options, room was great, with well appointed kitchen. Will be back! excellent location, central to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: get an upgrade to a 2 level suite
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you CaliGail18 for taking the time to share the great experiences you've had while staying at our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our “accommodating” staff and specifically you mentioned Austin and Lemec. We will definitely take a moment to recognize their high level of service. Looking forward to your next trip to the area, have a wonderful rest of the day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A basic dinner available during weekdays. This was best to stay when I travelled on business in the late 1990's. A bit of a mixed review when I stayed recently with my wife, a little too busy and noisy. I echo that it is a bit older, almost all Residence Inns I stay at in North America are more luxurious.

Room Tip: stay in an upstairs, we were woken up on two different nights by people packing or checking out at 4...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hello sam W I hope you had safe and easy travels back to Toronto. Thank you for the good review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise issues during your stay and if it caused you any inconveniences we sincerely apologize. Our goal is to provide great accommodations that allow our guests to relax in comfort. We do encourage our guests to contact us during their stay to inform us of situations like this, we'll do everything possible to fix them. Thank you for the time you took to write this review, have a great and wonderful day.

Sincerely,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
2.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £127 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of CA San Diego campus and less than 2 miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing