We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Month Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife, 1 year old and I just got back to Maine from a 4 month stay at the Residence La Jolla.

The 2 things that stuck out the most were the consistency and the staff:

The consistency of everything being solid was very nice, for 4 months we never once parked either of our cars in the street or at the overflow lot- I like that. The breakfast was ready and ample for about 70 of my coworkers and me every morning. The dinners and (free!) beer were always solid, I like wednesday nights for grill night the most. The room was always cleaned by our perfectionist housekeeper who was as sweet as the day is long (Miraya, sorry for the spelling!) and the coffee was always hot.

The staff was really what this place is all about, the front desk staff was patient, helpful and very welcoming for the whole 4 months. They each took the time to learn the names and families of everyone there, no small feat when you travel with 70 shipyard workers that dress the same and all have the same accent. The kitchen staff was endlessly helpful and friendly, always stopping to say hi to our baby, ask how things were, and just be around in case we needed anything. The housekeeping I mentioned about, Patty and Miraya are really allstars. And the maintenance guys would be at our door in under 5 minutes (literally) for anything we came across living in a studio for 4 months.

The bad: The facility is a little dated (realistically though I'd rather have a clean older place with a great staff than a brand new place without).

Room Tip: Perimeter rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I am a fan of Residence Inns because I appreciate all the space the suites have. However, there are too many negatives to this property and it ruined our stay in the San Diego area. The hotel desperately needs an update. I am hoping that the company gets to this one soon because I know most Marriotts have been remodeled in the past 5 years. (We stay exclusively in Marriott properties when traveling). The room greeted us with an old, musty smell. There was not enough parking so we had to park on the street each night which was at least a 10 minute walk each time. The hotel offered a free breakfast buffet but there was not enough seating and not enough food out to meet the demand so we could never enjoy this perk. I wouldn't say the stay was horrible, there was just nothing that made it even above average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monchichi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hello Monchichi80 I hope this message finds you well. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience and review of your recent stay with us. We are saddened to hear that you had a less than satisfactory stay and we apologize for that.

Our goal is to provide our guests with high quality accommodations and the first class Marriott service one would expect from any one of our hotels. From your comments the appearance and upkeep of the property is the major concern of yours. Our hotel is an older property, one of the first Residence Inns built, so it is far different from the newer, updated, and more modern high rise properties. We take every opportunity to improve and take a proactive approach in the upkeep and maintenance of our facility. For the greater part we feel we do a good job with this and it resonates in the reviews of guests here on TripAdvisor. Still we understand that we are older and hard to compare to newer Residence Inns especially since we are very unique in our property layout; separate buildings that look more reminiscent of an apartment/condo complex. Some love the "home" like feel which is essentially our motto, "A home away from home".

You also mentioned that you had some disappointments with the buffet breakfast we provide in the morning. I am very sorry to hear that it was a busy morning when you came in and found little room to sit and also a shortage of food at the moment you tried to eat. Again our sincere apologizes, we want all our guests to fully enjoy that complimentary buffet which Residence Inn is known for. We will use your comments and observations to train and coach our team on our standards during breakfast, ensuring we are producing at or above guests-including our own- expectations.

Please accept our humble apologizes for the less than perfect stay at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to share you feedback and for being loyal to Marriott and the Residence Inn brand. We hope you have a great day.

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times and would definitely stay here again.
The suites are comfortable and contain all you need. Breakfast is basic but there is a good selection. Get there early to avoid the rush. Plastic utensils are hopeless. They do have metal utensils but normally these have all gone.
Very close to UCSD which was perfect for me. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
There are a few places to eat close by, my favourite being RockBottom Brewery. Easy walking distance.
Point to note: for a quiet evening in your room avoid any of the rooms near the breakfast area. There is an outside seating area with small fires where people gather to chat.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Zedbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We've have been staying in Marriott Residence Inn for almost 7 years each time my husband attends a conference in San Diego and we really enjoyed our stay especially the hotel is well-located ( La Jolla Village Square is only 10-15 minutes walk). For a couple of years though, I noticed that the carpets has a particular smell, so with the curtain, hence, it's quite disappointing. The only consolation is the nice kitchen with marbled countertop, and fully furnished like an apartment. Breakfast buffet is very limited so opted to buy some breakfast items and just have breakfast in the room. However, Marriott Lobby staff are very helpful and friendly and this year, we were upgraded to a Junior Suite - a cheering prospect as hoping that it will be a stylish room. It turned out, the suite has the same style as a standard room. The only striking element is that there are 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms - a blessing in disguise as my husband was feverish accompanied by constant coughs a day after we arrived, consequently chose to sleep upstairs. Missing element in the bedroom on the first floor is the big mirror like on the second floor. Hoping the Marriott Management will someday renovate the rooms, upgrade the furnishings and perhaps just install wooden blinds in lieu of the curtains.

Room Tip: High floor, avoid rooms close to main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aida656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I arrived in the night by using rewards stay, and enjoyed the short stay. My family were upgraded to a king size and queen size bed room, enjoying good sleeping after 12 hours flight. The staff was friendly and everything was well prepared.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joway80935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This Marriott property needs refurbishing. We had stayed there a few years ago and enjoyed that stay thoroughly. This time, however, we were quite disappointed. The room that we were assigned was an interior one on the first floor (we requested a first floor room because there is no elevator). It was quite dark. Marriott could do better, particularly for its "gold elite" members. The concrete walkway area outside the room was dirty and stained. Trash in plastic bags was left outside the room for several hours before being removed. The furnishings of the room were OK and the room was clean and well maintained although the furnishings were "dated". The breakfast area was very crowded and the food choices very limited. It was not a pleasant place to have breakfast. Our overall observation was that the staff really tried hard to make our stay pleasant but the hotel management needs to consider making significant improvements of the areas outside of the rooms (e.g., the walkways), consider updating the room furnishings and increase the food selections and seating capacity of the breakfast area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the perimeter of the complex. The interior rooms get almost no sunlight and, as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EDC310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Hello I hope this message finds you well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about you recent experience at our hotel. We are sad to hear that we didn't meet your expectations, nor our own, but your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated. We have taken necessary steps to train our staff to ensure these cleanliness issues are taken care of immediately and more promptly in the future. I am happy to hear that you observed our staff making efforts to make your stay more comfortable and pleasant. Again thank you for your review, it's through guest feedback like yours that will help us get to the highest level of satisfaction which is our ultimate goal.

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay and the personnel went above and beyond to make us comfortable and mail our clothes to our home that we had left in the room.

Our only concern was that when the unit next to us flushed the toilet it made the most unusual noise. Request a building in the back where it is super quiet.

Can't beat the free breakfast and good coffee, not to mention full kitchen. Perfect for families with small children.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HonuGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £119 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of CA San Diego campus and less than 2 miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing