We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
eliot, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great business stay”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

An interesting cluster of separate buildings make up this location. It was well maintained and staff was really nice. The direct TV had a habit of coming on with no sound but if you cycled it a few times it would work. Things were clean but could use an update. The hot water was really slow and with the water shortages out there I hate to think about how much is being wasted. It sometimes took a few minutes to get hot water to the shower. Once there it was nice and hot. The location is very nice in terms of getting to the beach or for shopping for groceries. The staff really are helpful and gave lots of help over my 2 week stay. I would stay here again and would bring my wife to this location for a vacation since the full kitchen avoids having to eat out every night. They have several grills outside and that allows you to make a great steak for much less money than local steakhouses. Also a great way to meet the neighbors if you get extra to go around.

Room Tip: Some units have fireplaces if you want the allure. second floor units avoid the walk by traffic and...
See more room tips
Green Features: Allowed you to opt out of daily room service but did not give a voucher for gift shop like other area motels. Water usage was biggest concern trying to get hot water to sink and shower.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    274
    103
    39
    28
See reviews for
298
122
22
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We liked this hotel very much. It was not far from the highway and easy to get to. When we arrived the front desk staff asked where we wanted our room....by the pool was what my daughter asked for and we got it. The pool was nice and there were lots of other kids to play with. The room furniture was a little scuffed up, but it was reasonable given the likely wear and tear of any hotel. Nothing to complain about. The room was large and the pull out couch was comfy although it looked like it wouldn't give a good nights sleep. The kitchen was good sized for a couple. Daughter wished the tub was bigger but really had nothing to complain about with the pool and the hot tub next to our unit. The staff was nice. The pool area ran out of towels and I stopped in at reception and they gave me 2 more no hassle. The breakfast was great with lots of choices: waffles, mini pancakes, eggs, bacon, cereal, oatmeal, potatoes, fruit, yogurt, bagel, toast etc. It does get crowded and I had to wait 5 minutes for more waffle batter to be brought out...but there were tons of people.

All in all a GREAT stay, at a GREAT hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briansconover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is right down the street from SanDiego Univ. The location is pretty close to some good restaurants. The hotel itself is blended right into the community so if you are not paying attention, you could drive right past it. Overall, my stay was pretty good. The hotel staff that checked me in was very professional and courteous even though I checked in at 11:45pm. I had a studio room which was still pretty spacious. The one concern that I had was that the work desk is located in the kitchen area. This was a little different but not a deal-breaker unless you are working and someone else is cooking. The breakfast was good and they had plenty to choose from. I will stay again when I am back in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RollingAlong2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have stayed here last year and thought it was ok, but this time it was very disappointing. the unit we had (1413) is in desperate need of some renovation. It was not very clean. Upon arrival the toilet was cloaked, the second day the room didn't get cleaned at all. After asking, we got some clean towels, but no one offered either to clean the room or an apology!! Used coffee cups and coffee machine did not get cleaned up the entire stay. The worst was the pull out bed, that we needed for our daughter, the mattress was so thin and worn out, she could feel every spring from underneath, there was only one thin blanket for her, which wasn't sufficient for the cool nights. Nobody should have to sleep in such an uncomfortable place. In addition they charged for parking this year, although nobody checked the parking sticker, and most of the cars didn't even have one. Over all the residence inn is in need of some updates. Until then we will not stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for one that was recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello I hope this message finds you and your family well. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience and feedback about your recent stay with us. We are saddened to hear that you have a less than satisfactory stay and it was due to many disappointments. I apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel, our goal and expectations are to meet and exceed the needs of our guests – and our own. The cleanliness and overall condition of the suite was understandably unacceptable and we have taken immediate actions to investigate this oversight. This is a training opportunity so we can prevent it from happening again in the future. Again we are sorry for the inconveniences you had and hope that you accept our apologizes.

Sincerely,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn with my 89 year old mother who has fairly advanced arthritis. Our suite was not one of the handicapped accessible rooms because we needed a two bedroom unit. The bathroom on the first level had a standard low height toilet, and the staff at the hotel went out of their way to obtain and install a riser so that she should could use it more comfortably. The breakfast buffet included in the cost was a step up from almost any other hotel's breakfast. The only concerns I would raise is that the two bedroom suites are all on the second floor with no elevator, so it was a problem for us that we did not anticipate, and that the parking lot needed more parking spaces plus was fairly tight for maneuvering our mid-size SUV.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites are on the second floor with no elevator so if there is someone with limited mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hello Minnesota421, I hope this message finds you and your family well back in Minnesota! After reading your review, "Outstanding service", I was very proud of how well our team worked to make you and your family comfortable. I am sorry to hear that because of the second floor location of the Penthouse suite you experienced some obstacles with your mother. Due to the configuration of that room type, that has bi-level loft floor plan, they are only upstairs and none are ADA accessible. If a guest needs a low/first floor the studio suites would be the best option. I hope you didn't experience too many difficulties during your stay because of this. On the other hand you also mentioned how you liked our breakfast and said it was a "step up from almost any other hotel's breakfast", we are very happy to hear those sentiments. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to have you all again should you come back to La Jolla.

Warm Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Honestly I wish trip advisor had half stars, as I would have given this property 2 1/2 stars instead of 2.
First the good.....the property offers a terrific breakfast. The property is also very conveniently located. It appears that lots of families stay here. Each room has a small kitchen. Staff is friendly and attentive.

The bad...as stated in numerous reviews, the property is old and in need of an update. The carpet and room furnishings are old and cannot be properly cleaned. Bathroom fixtures and tub look worn. There is no view except for other rooms.

Not the worst property, but not the best either.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Majgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you Majgen for taking the time to share you experience and feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience during your recent stay, but you mentioned some brighter points. You said that the breakfast we serve is “terrific” which we are so glad to hear. Also you commented on how “friendly and attentive” our staff is, we are very fortunate to have a great team that really strives to deliver a consistently high level of service.

On the other hand you had some disappointments with the condition of the property and cleanliness of the suite. We are an older hotel and have not had a renovation since late 2009. Our housekeeping and maintenance team works very hard and proactively when it comes to the upkeep of the guest suites and property grounds. I am sorry for the issues you experienced and observed while staying with us. We appreciate the effort you took to write this review and we will develop corrective action plans to improve.

Sincerely,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for a week in March 2014. Only myself and wife but spent a bit more and had a duplex. Excellent roomy suite, nicely furnished. Two bathrooms, large king bed in master bedroom, queen upstairs which we used as a dump room, full kitchen, comfortable seating in lounge area. Suite was at back of hotel and very quiet. Rooms kept very clean. Pleasant friendly and efficient staff went out of their way to help. Decent breakfast and free buffet in evening on three days. Never had a problem finding parking.

Excellent location - walk to shops and restaurants, 10 mins drive to beach.

Downsides - nowhere to sit outside the suite to enjoy the sunshine, small pool area, breakfast room too small for busy period, hotel rather spread out, free Internet very slow.

Room Tip: Worth asking to see your room as some get noise from road and air con units, others are rather dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Good day to you oxfordmike, I hope this message is finding you and your wife well back in Oxford, England. Thank you so much for sharing your positive and informative review of our hotel. Like you said, “A good place for an extended stay”, we are the perfect choice when guests are planning an extended trip whether it be for business or pleasure. We are pleased that you found your suite very spacious and nicely appointed, also that is was “kept very clean”. I am also pleased to hear that you found our staff to be “pleasant friendly and efficient”, we pride ourselves in having such a great staff that takes true interest in making a guests stay perfect.

You did mention a couple downsides one being nowhere to sit outside the suite to enjoy the sunshine. We don’t have places right outside the rooms but we do have a great lawn area on the west side of the property which has picnic tables and a great sand volley ball court. You also commented that the pool area, which I think is a great place to soak up the Southern California sun, as being small. It is a decent size pool yet when we are in full spring/summer mode it can get a little crowded on the weekends. I am sorry that you experienced some slow internet connectivity and we apologize for any inconveniences that posed on you.

Again we all want to thank you for the overall great review and we are so glad you liked your stay. We look forward to you next trip to La Jolla. Have a great and wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing