We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for a Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and it was in a nice location. I attended UC San Diego so it was fun to get up in the morning and hike around the campus. Near the hotel there are several shopping centers and malls and it's about 10-15 minutes from downtown La Jolla or Pacific Beach. We stayed in a studio room and it was a good size and included a kitchen, living area, and clean room. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone that has work, business, or family in the area. It's nice to have a full-sized refrigerator and sitting area along with pools, BBQ's, and volleyball courts. The free breakfast in the morning was plentiful and offered a lot of options for meat eaters and vegetarians.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road (Gilman). Also we chose not to pay for parking and we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hello Cynthia_TravelGirl I hope this message finds you and your husband well. Thank you so much for being a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor and sharing this great review of our hotel. It means a lot to know a reviewer like you, who's been to many locations and reviewed some many businesses, appreciated our hotel and rated us so well. We look forward to you next stay with us and hope it might be soon. Thank you and have an awesome day!

Warm Regards,

Morgan Sandy
Guest Care Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    273
    102
    38
    28
See reviews for
298
121
20
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

we stay this property last weekend , the location is very convenience near by 5 freeway easy move around couple blocks you will find grocery stores and coffee shops restaurants , the residence inn will charge $15 for over night parking , but they do provide breakfast can make you saving some plus coffee and tea all day which really give you some extra saving. the apartment unit is very clean , spacious . our unit had problem with both phones , i report the problem to front desk its already late at night they insist to send engineer came to the room and try to fix but somehow couldn't find out the problem . we didn't mind it anyway we use our cell phone only . over all I would love to come back if we go back to San Diego again . the front desk staff were helpful when you in need .

Room Tip: take the up stair room more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janestark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Valley, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a large Residence Inn and although it is older, the property has been well maintained, renovated and provides a good solid value.

A special thanks to the staff who worked to find a great room at a reduced rate even though they were close to full due to a track meet at UC San Diego. Another tip of the hat to the breakfast and dinner staffs. They handle large crowds with some of the hardest work I've ever seen. The breakfast area on the weekends was mobbed and the staff kept the hot food coming.

What I liked:

1) Renovated Rooms
2) Very Quiet
3) Lots of activities on property (Pool, Jacuzzi, Volleyball, Pet Areas). I was able to watch TV in the "common area" and spread out my electronics.
4) Breakfast - Lots of good, hot food.
5) Close to lots of good stuff in La Jolla.

What I wasn't keen about:

1) $15/day for parking - really?
2) Maps? if you aren't at the front desk, finding where you are can be an adventure.
3) Speed Bumps - this isn't that big a property to need speed bumps is it?

All in all, I'd come back here again. The things I like about this property far outweigh the negatives. I'd recommend to my friends as well.

Room Tip: The north end of the property is very quiet. It's my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadCorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrive at night and the instruction from the staff at check-in wasn't quite enough for us to find our apartment in the dark, so that caused a bit of hassle. The penthouse apartment was spacious and clean though for a good night's sleep. If you plan on cooking, beware the kitchen wasn't that well-equipped; cooking utensils and tableware were very limited and we had to ask for detergent. Breakfast was basic, in a setting quite like a school camp. Overall still a good accom option for the room itself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrav_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spring Break 2014 - I brought a high school boys swim team to La Jolla for a training trip and we stayed at the Residence Inn. The staff and Morgan, the manager, in particular went the extra mile to be sure we had everything we needed to make the stay go smoothly. The housekeeping staff helped me on several occasions haul groceries up to my room or haul away recycling or trash. We enjoyed the breakfasts before training and the hospitality hour (as well as the BBQ on Wednesday) after practice. I highly recommend the Residence Inn for group travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikkimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was surprised by how big and clean the room was. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast so you do not have to worry driving out to look for a place for breakfast. Look at the attached pictures for an idea of how the room looks like.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We came across the Residence Inn of La Jolla due to its proximity to Scripps Hospital. We were traveling with children and wanted someplace with a kitchenette. This place was awesome!
The first night they had smores, popcorn and wine and beer. There was a nice big outdoor fireplace where all the residents gathered.
There was a full breakfast each morning. They had the typical waffle machine but what makes this place special is the added touches, like whipped cream and strawberries. Saturday they had biscuits and gravy along with the other breakfast fare. I must add, the gravy was GOOD!
We missed our holiday traditions due to a family illness so we asked if we could dye eggs and they pointed us to their picnic area. The kids had fun with their eggs and then played some volleyball.
There are barbeques located near the rooms for those that are lucky enough to get to Q.
The room was clean and comfortable. If I could find anything to complain about it would be that there were no pillows and blanket in the room for the sofa bed. Fortunately the kids like to travel with their blanket and pillow so we didn't need to ask.
The staff were all very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyKathy805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing