We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, cozy room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, cozy room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

I had to travel to La Jolla on business and my husband tagged along. We really enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn in La Jolla and highly recommend it. The location is ideal. No water view or beach access - but close to major roads (but in a quiet area) and easy to get everywhere from here. Our room was spacious - full kitchen! - and very comfortable. Even though we have family in the area we could stay with, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 480Momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    268
    101
    37
    26
See reviews for
295
120
20
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aussie in usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Had four nights here in January and loved it! We wanted somewhere to relax after 5 weeks of travel in the UK and the USA, and this was it. Our 'apartment' was modern and clean ahd the grounds were clean and neat. We were able to eat in for a change as we were sick of eating out as the room had a kitchen. It could have done with a few more utensils and certainly could do with an electric jug. Not everyone drinks coffe and having to use a saucepan to boil water is not ideal. It was great to have a laundry to do some washing! The breakfasts in the dining area were terrific. BUT the one biggest gripe for me is that in from the late afternoon there was NO hot water! So if you wanted to have a hot shower or wash a dish or two int he sink, it was cold. The apartment had 3 TV's and we kept accidently turning off the other TV"s. Perhaps 3 TV's in a room that size, is a bit too much. We had a wonderful break here and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We're here for a 6 night stay and have felt very comfortable with the accommodations. The room has a new appearance with a king size bed, large desk, sitting area with big screen TV and a kitchen with all the necessities for eating in. We've enjoyed breakfast in our room with the coffee and a few items from the hotel breakfast, along with food purchased at Whole Foods which is .3 mile away. The location is great for exploring a lot of beautiful beaches and little beach towns as well as close to all that San Diego has to offer. Many restaurants, stores and theaters within a 5 minute drive. All the staff have been helpful and ready to go beyond what's normally expected.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Arrived late in the end of December, 2010 with a 2 and 4 year old into a Penthouse suite.

Room is great size, but upper floor loft bed rests against a half-wall overlooking the lower level. This creates a serious hazard for children because if a child is playing on the upper floor bed they only have about a 1 foot wall that keeps them from falling 10 feet onto the lower level and seriously injuring themselves.

When we arrived the heater was not working.... and we had to call maintenance to fix it.... which they did.

A major issue that caused us to leave the hotel was the room had a fireplace that had not been cleaned in weeks..... the the entire room smelled like soot..... or a wet old campfire..... and the awful smell penetrated into our clean clothes.

I really tried to like this hotel. they have a lot of things going for it in that they have huge rooms, full kitchens, great location, great value and a solid breakfast. I just could not get over the poor layout and the soot smell

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geigerdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

I always appreciate TripAdvisor postings, so I wanted others to know the pluses and minuses of this hotel. The location is perfect for a trip to San Diego / La Jolla. We walked to the nearby shopping center with grocery stores, restaurants and retail shops. The hotel falls short on the inside layout of the 2 bedroom unit. With 2 adults and 2 teens, we needed space for moving around and luggage storage. There was literally no place for luggage except on the floor. The closets were too narrow - like broom closets. The bed comfort was average and the bath towels were worn thin/poor quality. On the plus side, there were 3 tvs, but two of them were so close that if you used the remote control for one, it would change the channel on another too. The breakfast buffet was extensive but the food was average. For the nightly rate, I could have just gotten two adjoining rooms in a standard hotel and likely been more satisfied. We didn't use the kitchen (too small) and the breakfast buffet wasn't of any value to offset the nightly rate. I'd recommend for location, but that's all.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atltravelergw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

The complex is huge. It is like a condo complex. Make sure you get a map from the front desk to find your room. We stayed in a standard room. It was large and modern with a kitchen and sitting area. We had a hottub right outside our door and it was nice and hot on a cool evening. Regular pool looked nice and clean. Too cold for me to swim, but there were a few people in there enjoying the 60-degree weather.

The bed was comfortable, but the walls were super thin. I was awakened by snoring I thought was coming from the person sleeping next to me and after nudging him a few times, realized it was coming from the room next door. Glad I packed some earplugs!

They offer free breakfast in the morning, which we tried to access, but gave up as it was waaaaay too crowded (even early) and did not look all that appetizing or worth fighting the masses to get to.

I got this room on Priceline for a decent rate and if I got it again, would not be disappointed as I know what to expect and would not even attempt the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

This was our second stay at this hotel. We spent 8 nights in a penthouse suite. We were pleased with the renovation that added a wall with french doors and a king size bed to the lower level of the suite. The family suites don't have the wall and doors but do have 2 queen beds on the lower level and 1 on the upper level. Our room was very clean and we had lots of room to spread out and privacy for the teenager (having 2 bathrooms and 3 TVs was a major plus). The renovation was nicely done but they did keep some of the old furniture (tables and desk) which were a little worn. You need to buy firelogs ($7 each) for the indoor fireplaces and they did run out on our last night so we couldn't have a fire that night. This is not intended to be a high class resort but a functional long term stay hotel and it certainly is that with a well equiped kitchen (we were happy to find wine glasses at both the Residence Inns we stayed at on this trip) and lots of room.

We had asked for an early check in as we were just moving from the Gaslamp Residence Inn downtown, however it was a Sunday so people checked out later and we had asked for a feather free room which wasn't available until around 4 pm. While we waited we spent the afternoon at Torrey Pines State Park beach which is just up the road. We felt safe leaving our luggage in the car as the park attendant booth is right at the car park.

We didn't use the pool but went to the area beaches a lot, there are several that are easily accessable from here. (Solana Beach has a great little beach with good waves, really clean bathrooms and lots of free parking). The hotel has easy access to the intersate so getting around was quick and easy, just try to avoid rush hour. You definately need a car to stay here, other than a couple of restaruants, and a shopping mall, there is nothing within walking distance.

The new outdoor firepit didn't work at all during our stay which was disappointing, also the patio area is almost always in the shade. We walked over to El Torito and enjoyed happy hour by the fire on their outdoor patio on several evenings. El Torito has good food and drinks and really friendly service. Rock Bottom Brewery is also an easy walk and a good spot for supper and a beer.

The breakfast was standard Residence Inn fare with ample choices of hot and cold items. The attendants were efficient and friendly. We were once again amazed at the lack of courtesy some people display in the breakfast area (not just here but at all the places we've stayed with breakfasts). There would be plenty of room if people would just come, eat their breakfast and return to their suites to read the newspaper, chat or work on their laptops. We saw several cases of a single individual at a table for four leisurely enjoying their newspaper or laptops while families searched for a place to sit down. The suites are very nice with lots of room for relaxing in a peaceful atmosphere. The in-room Wi Fi was occasionally slow so we just connected the computer and all was good.

Overall we had a great stay and will return if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGangAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Property: Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Address: 8901 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of California San Diego campus and less than two miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing