We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed for one night in Jan. 2013. I was a late check in (like... midnight), and the front desk was very helpful in accommodating this. I also asked for a non-ground floor room, and this request was honored by the staff without any difficulty. I had previously stayed in this hotel last year in a ground floor room, and highly recommend a second floor or above room (far less noisy and has a safer feel). I was able to print out my boarding pass for the next day in the lobby area. My room was spacious and modern. The only drawback was one tiny little bug in the shower, which I squished without much fuss (who says female solo travelers need to be squeamish about these things?!). Definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to aim for second or third floor rooms.They seem to be somewhat larger and quieter, and have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_backroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and staff, disappointed that we missed the bug, and looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    121
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
107
91
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterdown, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Overall it was a pleasant experience. We spent three days in La Jolla and this was our resting place. Just a few minutes from the beach made it's location perfect for the family. Other comments about this hotel are pretty accurate. Very pleasant staff, lots of parking, but rooms in the front were noisy and not ideal to the average family (I'm lucky to have travel friendly kids) as the traffic was constant and the old time air conditioning unit was quite loud. The bathroom was a shower and tiny sink, so if you are looking for extreme room comfort for a vacation stay this might not work. To counter the experience, the complementary breakfast was very, very good. The pool was warm and the atmosphere of the pool/great room were very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room. Very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunnarinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla. We appreciate and value your comments and work hard to try to meet and exceed guest expectations. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This Holiday Inn is really nice, its well located near la jolla beach. The rooms are big, clean and with lcd 32" . The breakfast is nice, hot and cold stuff. The staff is nice too. If you are not for business and don't feel like to wake up early, try to ask for the rooms in the back, the front ones you will listen to the cars passing in the morning to work starting 7am.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back, they are more quite in the mornig, so you wont wake up early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PtkFerraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate your business and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in La Jolla for the weekend. Our plane arrived early in the morning so I stopped by the hotel to see if we could get an early checkin. The woman running the front desk was great. She told us she would get us a clean room as soon as possible and she did! The rooms are large, very comfortable and quiet. All employees we spoke to were helpful and friendly. The free breakfast is excellent for both adults and kids. There is a pancake making machine the kids will enjoy and lots of other choices from scrambled eggs (or the second day omelettes), sausage, bacon, cereal, bagels, rolls, biscuits in gravy, coffee, milk, and yogurt.
The location is great, a short walk to the beach and lots of restaurants nearby. A Von's supermarket is close too, and your room has a small fridge and microwave. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We're happy you were pleased with your stay. Our front desk and housekeeping staff does amazing work. Accommodating guest requests is one of our top priorities and we get a lot of positive feedback about that. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

LOCATION LOCATIONLOCATION, Best part of this hotel is 1. Location 2. Continental Breakfast 3. Crew. The TV remote control doesn't work. The Bed was too soft, gave me neck pain. No bath tub, thin towels. No fitness room

Room Tip: Room is dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovevegas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Hotel during your recent visit.

We are happy you enjoyed our Staff, Breakfast and wonderful Location. I am very sorry that the remote did not work and that you felt the bed and towels were inadequate and that we failed to notice them before you arrived. I hope there was no delay in getting them fixed or replaced for you.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

It's hard to believe that we stayed at the same Holiday Inn Express mentioned in the previous review. We stayed 6 nights in 2 double bedded rooms, August 8-14, 2012. This very quaint and quiet hotel is very reminiscent of Southern California resort stays of an eariler time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were along the pool area (132 and 133). The rooms are large and each has a refrigerator and micro wave. They provide the opportunity, and savings, to not have to find a restaurant for every meal. Plenty of room to keep sandwiches, soda, beer, or whatever right in the room and enjoy the relaxation to eat right around the pool, where there are plenty of tables. The free breakfast selections are more than adequate for both adults and children. We never had trouble finding parking (free) in the lot or along the street behind the hotel.

But if you are looking for a modern big box hotel with amenities such as large pools, bars, full service restaurants, fitness room, well this is not the place for you. However it is for anyone looking to stay in La Jolla, very close to the ocean, and a great beach, provide free parking, free breakfast every morning, in a setting from another more simple time, and all for under $200 a night, this hotel will do just fine. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and for taking the time to share your experience.

Your review portrays exactly what we attempt to provide every day. We are happy that it all came together and you were able to relax, be yourself, and enjoy your 6 nights with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weimar, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Pleasantly surprised. As my wife said, "it's such a cute and quaint hotel", which in-fact it was. Great location, not far from beaches and just across the street from a fabulous Mexican Restaurant. The staff could not do enough for us if we needed anything. Breakfast was ok, what you would normally expect from a Holiday Express but the coffee was exceptional. For us it was a perfect location, close to everything and anything we wanted to do and a great retreat to come back to at the end of the day with several restaurant choices all within walking distance. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 131 gives an exceptional view of the pool area or ask for a 2nd or 3rd story room above the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiveMeSunNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words about your experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,082 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing